We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”
Review of Underberg House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Underberg House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 3, 2014

One of the best places, it not the best, in South Africa! Clean, neat, great breakfast and lovely and very caring hosts! True Zimbabwean hospitality in the middle of the Mother City! Walking distance to a lot of restaurants and town and still quiet at night, a hidden gem! I had a business breakfast and my colleague had breakfast free of charge! Very good free wifi!

Room Tip: I stayed in the smallest room (7) which was still big and very good value for money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tichaona11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (644)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

341 - 347 of 645 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2014

We stayed a total of 8 nights in the guest house of Anne and Bruce. From the guest house is walking distance to downtown, and it is a short distance by taxi to hiking on Table Mountain and Lions Head. Brilliant host who was helpful with most things, and we were served a delicious breakfast every day. Large, clean and nice rooms, nice bar and lounge.
If we go back to Cape Town, we will for sure come back to Underberg!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steinar F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Underberg Guest House was the perfect place to spend our last two nights in Cape Town! On arrival we were greeted by Anne who very kindly sat down with us and gave us so much useful information on the surrounding area and things to do in Cape Town. Our room was one of the smaller rooms but very comfortable and suited us just fine. Nothing was too much trouble during our stay and Anne even booked a table for us at a great nearby restaurant called Millers Thumb.
When we next return to Cape town this will be the place we stay, a little gem in the city.

Room Tip: We stayed in the smaller double room which was very good value for money. The bathroom was just a sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aimee_k1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Just perfect in all things a good accomodation has to have.
+ spacious rooms
+ clean
+ very friendly and helpful hosts
+ nice view to table mountain
+ very quiet
+ fantastic breakfast buffet
Ideal for staying in Cape Town. Short walk to good restaurants nearby. If we would be back to Cape Town it would be definetly our first choice.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Robert N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

Underberg is a small very charming boutique hotel 10 minutes walk from the central city area in Cape Town.The hotel is owned and run by two very service minded people Bruce and Anne.They are running it with a very gentle touch.You feel like a guest in their private home.We lived there two nights in room number six.Very high standard in a value for money perspective.The breakfast had a very high standard level.Wifi is available .We can strongly recommend the hotel.This was our third visit to Cape Town and the area were this hotel is situated is much more genuine then the Waterfront.

Stayed: February 2014
Thank Stefan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

I was there with my daughter. We were impressed by the great welcome from Bruce, It was like arriving by old friends.! The room was nicely decorated and immaculate with a superb bathroom. Downstair you have a friendly living room and a bar., and the free use of a laptop with Internet.The decoration of the house is superb - especillay beautiful pictures -and everything is made to feel you at home. Anne has a lot of suggestions and will help you with booking and everything.
Surely if we go back to Capetown, we'll go back To Underberg. Warmly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqueline v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

This is our third stay at Underberg - and I hope it won't be the last.
We are always welcomed by Anne and Bruce who always have some good sugestions want to do. The rooms are very nice, clean and big, and if you lucky you have a beautiful view to Table Mountains. ( If not, you just go to the terrasse upstairs - take some cheese and a glass of wine with you and enjoy the view) Very nice and delicate bathrooms.
This time we walked in the neighborhood and found several good restaurants.
We took the Hop on/off buss and took both the red and the blue routes. We were stunned by the beaches and restaurants at Camps Bay and had a lovely lunch there our last day.
Hope to come back!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bmpaulsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,423 reviews
An African Villa
#8 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,009 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Grace
#7 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,076 reviews
Parker Cottage
#1 of 156 in Cape Town Central
1,029 reviews
La Grenadine
#5 of 156 in Cape Town Central
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Underberg House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Underberg House

Address: 6 Tamboerskloof Road | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa (Formerly Underberg Guest House)
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl , Tamboerskloof
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $92 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Underberg House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Underberg provides warm and hospitably service. All our colonial rooms are super comfortable with modern en-suite bathrooms. For further comfort, each room is equipped with a flat screen TV with satelite chanels, Air conditioning and heating , overhead ceiling fan, American plantation shutters, tea/coffee facility, hairdryer, free toiletries, fitted carpet, safe, white cotton percale sheets, down duvets in winter and cotton blankets inthe summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Underberg House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Underberg House Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing