We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect home from home!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Underberg House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Underberg House
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A perfect home from home!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

I was so pleased we chose to start our discovery of Cape Town here. You get a great welcome from Anne who gives you maps and suggestions of where to go/what to visit, and will help make bookings for trips.
The room was like a luxury hotel, immaculately decorated and spotless! There are some great local eateries, and it's just a short distance to everything. I'd recommend this place to anyone.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    564
    49
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
72
339
50
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

We were amazed at the setting with beautiful views of Cape Town and Table Mountain but even more impressed by the warm staff that made us feel like family. Anne and Bruce, we look forward to our next visit. From the 12 members of Connell Mining

Room Tip: Perfect location next to many restaurants: (Portuguese, Sea Food, Indian, Japanese)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Connell M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

I was referred to the Underberg by a friend and it was a really good suggestion. Now I will recommend it to anyone who will be visiting that part of the world.

The location is good with some good restaurants and shops close. The hosts Anne and Bruce are wonderful and provide a personal touch.

Will definitely stay there again whenever I visit SA again!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zeba A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

We were very fortunate to get the only room available when we booked for the night of January 30. Beautiful guest house. Our bedroom was large and airy and quiet. There is a balcony (available to all guests) with a couple of tables and chairs from which one can have a magnificent view of Table Mountain. There is also an "honour bar" from which wine and beer, etc. may be purchased. If you have your own wine, then the glasses are there for your use.
The whole place was spotlessly clean, and Anne was most friendly and helpful. Breakfast was delicious with a choice of fruits, cereals, yogurts, cold meats and cheese, as well as a hot breakfast with the usual bacon, eggs, grilled tomato and mushrooms. We met other travellers from abroad, some of whom had stayed on numerous occasions through the years, they liked the place so much. We would definitely stay there again

Room Tip: Our room was next to the balcony and because of the high ceilings and large window in the bedroom an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lazeybones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
97 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

We were referred to the Underberg by friends which is always the best. Now we will recommend it to others and indeed my brother will be staying there shortly.
The location is so very good with some good restaurants and shops close by in the safe and attractive neighbourhood. Beleza resto was very good and reasonable. The hosts Anne and Bruce are wonderful and provide that personal touch that sets apart the special from the mundane accommodations.
I had asked for a balcony and was given room 6 with a delightful view to Signal Hill and even a bit of Table Mountain. We were welcomed to use the fridge in the kitchen and help ourselves to the honesty bar. Laundry was done for us, very neatly and reasonable.
Of note is the close relationship they have with an excellent driver/guide Christopher Hannival whose services we used for transfers and excellent day trips to the Winelands and Cape Tour, highly recommended !

Our only regret. - we didn't stay longer!

Room Tip: Room 6 has it's own balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christo60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caumont-sur-Durance
Level Contributor
222 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

We stayed 9 nights at Underberg. It will remain in our memory as a gorgeous place to stay in Cape Town. The owners, Anne & Bruce, welcome us extremely well. Anne spent time to explain to us what to see, what to watch in Cape Town area, and Bruce, with a so cute spirit, was taking care of our wellbeing. Mtombe and her co-workers prepared scrumptious breakfasts. We had the room N°1, a large room with a large bathroom, with view of the Table Mountain. All was perfectly clean with comfortable beds and large wardrobe. Definitely a very nice place to stay in Cape Town! It’s a pity that we are living so far away!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlainPieL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

Normaly we prefer small hotel stay, but this guest house was a pleasant surprise,
1. Bright, Spacious and clean. Perfect walk-about location.
2. Warm, Friendly and Charming Hosts Bruce and Ann providing a careing service.
3. Guest House staff extremely competent .
4. Travelers Best friend..laundry at extremely moderate prices.
5. Fantastic Breakfast (Hot and Cold Items).
6. Overall extremely comfortable and non-intrusive.

Room Tip: If you lot of space as we did..choose Room # 9
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeattleShanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
An African Villa
#6 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,355 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#3 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,201 reviews
Parker Cottage
#1 of 156 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 998 reviews
La Grenadine
#4 of 156 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Underberg House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Underberg House

Property: Underberg House
Address: 6 Tamboerskloof Road | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa (Formerly Underberg Guest House)
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl , Tamboerskloof
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Underberg House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Underberg provides warm and hospitably service. All our colonial rooms are super comfortable with modern en-suite bathrooms. For further comfort, each room is equipped with a flat screen TV with satelite chanels, Air conditioning and heating , overhead ceiling fan, American plantation shutters, tea/coffee facility, hairdryer, free toiletries, fitted carpet, safe, white cotton percale sheets, down duvets in winter and cotton blankets inthe summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Underberg House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Underberg House Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing