We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully comfortable guest house with a colonial feel”
Review of Underberg House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Underberg House
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautifully comfortable guest house with a colonial feel”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We quickly had to find two nights accommodation during a busy holiday period and luckily Underberg had room for us. We were very impressed with the accommodation and the feel of the guest house. Very warm welcome by Bruce and Anne who gave us tips of where to go and were lovely to chat with. There is a very calm and peaceful feeling in the guest house, enhanced with a 'honesty bar' which was great fun! Beautifully appointed bedrooms with great facilities. Great location, good pricing and made our last few days in Cape Town very happy. Although this was a last minute find for us, we'd definitely come back to stay as our first choice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    576
    49
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
73
348
50
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 9, 2013

The inn is clean, quiet, and comfortable. The proprietors, Anne and Bruce, were pleasant and very helpful in setting up a tour of the city and of Cape Point. The breakfasts were first class. The location is very convenient to the waterfront and within walking distance to fine restaurants. I look forward to returning some day.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MemoFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

From the start we were welcomed with warmth by Anne and Bruce, made to feel at home, and settled in right away. Our rooms were extremely comfortable, with the balcony looking out towards Signal Hill a particular highlight. Everything worked as it should; we slumbered peacefully at night in our comfortable double bed, washed and brushed in the morning, and went down for a splendid breakfast. Help and advice always readily given. The area of Tamboerskloof is a quiet one, with only occasional rowdy passers-by in the wee small hours. The mounted police must have a stable nearby; we saw a number of police horses being ridden past. City centre just about within walking distance, although probably not back up after dark ( which is uphill all the way anyway). Order Excite Taxis instead. There are a number of good and friendly local restaurants; we especially liked Beleza.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hector M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, England
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Beautiful colonial style building, stylish inside, great breakfast, the suite was gorgeous, and our host was excellent - lot's of advice on where to go and what to see, and even helped us book online for things like the cable car to Table Mountain and the open-top bus tours (as we were advised, cheaper if you do them online). The area is quiet and safe, and near some nice restaurants (we'd recommend trying out Saigon for an evening meal - Peter's House was a nice little spot for a light lunch). And within walking distance of the main sites too - 5-10 mins to Company Gardens/South African Museum, 10-15 mins to Long Street, even the V&A Waterfront was reachable (30-40 mins on foot for us). All in all a great stay, and good value too compared to UK standards (and considering the high quality of the accommodation).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dugmug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottburgh, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Lovely place to stay, a treat to find. Everything you need and great value for money. Stayed their with a friend in a spacious room. Soft, warm, clean and comfortable. Central to everything with some close surprises.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennyPage316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maputo, Mozambique
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

great value for money. close to everything. spacious, comfortable, safe. nice breakfast and very friendly owners and staff. rooms are quite large with nice porch. although 80% of our time was spent outdoors or touring, the only area that could be improved is the in-room TV offerings.
would definitely be a return guest.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdK541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim
1 review
Reviewed April 9, 2013

A great accomodation, with comfortable rooms and a tasty breakfast. The house i beautiful. Very helpful and friendly owners. The Guesthouse is located in a safe and quiet area close to the city center, and not too far away from the beach and within a walking distance to good restaurants. I highly recommand this accomodation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vkr500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,404 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,833 reviews
An African Villa
#8 of 109 in Cape Town Central
999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,263 reviews
Parker Cottage
#1 of 156 in Cape Town Central
1,024 reviews
Bluegum Hill Guest House and Apa...
#6 of 156 in Cape Town Central
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Underberg House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Underberg House

Property: Underberg House
Address: 6 Tamboerskloof Road | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa (Formerly Underberg Guest House)
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl , Tamboerskloof
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Underberg House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Underberg provides warm and hospitably service. All our colonial rooms are super comfortable with modern en-suite bathrooms. For further comfort, each room is equipped with a flat screen TV with satelite chanels, Air conditioning and heating , overhead ceiling fan, American plantation shutters, tea/coffee facility, hairdryer, free toiletries, fitted carpet, safe, white cotton percale sheets, down duvets in winter and cotton blankets inthe summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Underberg House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Underberg House Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing