We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, clean and modern, reasonable price”
Review of Underberg House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Underberg House
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Good location, clean and modern, reasonable price”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Booked 4 nights during the peak December season. This was not my first choice but it was a good one. We had room no. 6 which has a balcony looking out to Signal Hill, and a large bathroom/ dressing room. Downside is it faces the street so can be a bit noisy if neighbors get rowdy but not unbearable as its not a main road. The bathrooms are very very good, modern showers, all the amenities and ours was large with a beautiful Persian carpet even! Do note the bathroom does not have a door (may be a South African thing as i had the same expierence at another B&B in Jo-burg). Tea and coffee, in-room safe and free wi-fi. Honesty bar downstairs. Lots of maps and number for reliable taxi company. Anne and Bruce are lovely hosts, although they are around only in the mornings and early afternoons so be sure to ask your questions then. Good location near Kloof and Long St. Does not have a swimming pool.

Room Tip: Room 6 has a nice big bathroom and balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BornVivant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    576
    49
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
73
348
50
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed at Underberg for 4 nights and loved it!

The Guest House organized a pickup from the airport (as we landed around 11:30 pm) and we had a smooth transfer and checkin. The guest house was built in the mid 1800s and is extremely well maintained. If you appreciate old Victorian architecture Underberg is a visual delight. Rooms are squeaky clean and modern in all the right places (loo, shower, mattresses, cupboards etc).

Anne and Bruce are wonderful hosts and we grew very fond of them. They would spend time with each guest every morning to help them plan their day better and ensure that they had the right maps/brochures/guides/information required to make the most of their day. A very small example of this is when they helped us book our tickets for the table mountain cable car online as it would save us time and money.

Breakfasts were good, the rooms were comfortable (had lovely balcony's that overlooked Signal Hill) and the location was very convenient. They also have secure parking. Tamboerskloof is a nice locality to live in. Kloof & Long are a few minutes walking distance and the V&A waterfront was a short drive away.

Strongly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NehaVMaedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We absolutely loved our time at Underbergh Guest House, comfortable, very friendly service the owners made us feel very welcomed and were always a great help in planning our day to day activities, great location, great value for money. The room was amazing. If we were ever to go back to Cape Town we would not look at any other accommodation. Highly recommended honestly don't bother looking any where else.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BexnJoshShirley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

My family and I recently spent five days at the Underberg guest house. We found our hosts, Anne and Bruce to be helpful, warm and very accommodating. They helped arrange transportation for us to visit nearby sights and gave us great recommendations for restaurants nearby. The rooms at the guest house were clean and comfortable. We also had a tasty breakfast each morning of our stay served by our hosts. I highly recommend it to those looking for comfortable and well-situated accommodations in Cape Town.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mkariisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

We absolutely loved our time at the Underberg Guest House and will definitely visit again.

The building has been around for quite some time and has an interesting history but the owners have fully restored and furnished it taking no shortcuts and it is stunning. The rooms are a good size with lovely bathrooms, nice white shutters on your windows and a super comfy bed.

Anne and Bruce were incredibly welcoming and so helpful throughout our entire stay. They gave us brochures and pointers here and there, helping us with reservations and giving advice on how to get around the city. They were fantastic hosts.

We had a lovely cooked breakfast and coffee in the dining room before we started each day, and a cool drink on the balcony in the afternoon where we could overlook table mountain and recaping the days events before heading out to dinner.

The location was great for us, we didn't hear any noise from the street and we were only a short cab ride to Long Street and a few other lovely restaurants. We had a hire car and parked on the street without any issues.

We had such a lovely time and found ourselves wishing we could stay longer.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Visited late November, asked for and received a quiet room. Wonderful breakfasts, slept really well, hosts are very helpful and knowledgable. A perfect place from which to enjoy all that Cape Town has to offer.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dandmprice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Visited Cape Town for a week in early December, and chose the Underberg based on tripadvisor reviews. All in all, it was an excellent stay. Anne and Bruce are very good hosts, offering really useful and helpful information, often recommending things for us to do which we hadn't thought of. The rooms were a good size, the bathroom was awesome, the beds were extremely comfortable, and the breakfast was faultless. Everything was spotless and looked well maintained.

The Underberg is in a really good location with table mountain about 10 mins away, and Kloof and Long street also just a 5 minute walk away. There's some top class restaurants just round the corner, but also some good budget eats, so you won't struggle to find something you like. You can also walk to the V&A waterfront, however, it is a bit of a slog, especially in the heat, and you do have to pass some dodgy looking people as you get nearer the waterfront.

In a word, brilliant.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benjimbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,404 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,833 reviews
An African Villa
#8 of 109 in Cape Town Central
999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,263 reviews
Parker Cottage
#1 of 156 in Cape Town Central
1,024 reviews
Bluegum Hill Guest House and Apa...
#6 of 156 in Cape Town Central
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Underberg House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Underberg House

Property: Underberg House
Address: 6 Tamboerskloof Road | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa (Formerly Underberg Guest House)
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl , Tamboerskloof
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Underberg House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Underberg provides warm and hospitably service. All our colonial rooms are super comfortable with modern en-suite bathrooms. For further comfort, each room is equipped with a flat screen TV with satelite chanels, Air conditioning and heating , overhead ceiling fan, American plantation shutters, tea/coffee facility, hairdryer, free toiletries, fitted carpet, safe, white cotton percale sheets, down duvets in winter and cotton blankets inthe summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Underberg House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Underberg House Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing