We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great first taste of Capetown”
Review of Underberg House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Underberg House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We booked The Underberg based exclusively on the reviews on Tripadvisor. When we arrived Ann greeted us at the door and we knew that we had made a great choice! The room was neat as a pin. The bed and linen fresh and crisp. The bathrooms were modern and beautiful. Ann and Bruce are very friendly and helpful.
We will be back!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skrumbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (644)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

446 - 452 of 644 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

I spent 3 months travelling through Africa, camping and staying in hostels. I chose the Underberg to decompress before heading home, and it was the best decision I could have made!
The owners were very welcoming, and the room was spotless and modern and comfortable. I definitely recommend a suite with a balcony!
Breakfast included muesli, toast, yogurt, fruit, eggs, bacon and the list goes on!
If and when I return to Cape Town, I hope to stay again at the Underberg. Highly recommended!
Thanks for the wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chantale8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We spent 2 great nights at Underberg after arriving in SA. It's well located with easy walking access to long street, the hop on hop off bus and the cities hills. The rooms are stylish, spacious and modern, however what makes this place stand out is the welcome from the owners! They are superbly hospitable and ensure that you have a plan for the day fully armed with local knowledge/maps/tickets, all that you would need. A lovely place to stay with charming hosts, we hope to be back!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Inverhenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Underberg is as neat and clean on the inside as it looks on the outside. We had a very comfortable stay in this beautiful, perfect;y restored, secure building. It is in a very convenient location to access central Cape Town. Friendly owners and staff. Would suit people who don't like the clutter, idiosyncracies and very homely feel that some b&bs or guest houses have- Underberg has more of the feel of a small hotel with modern hotel style rooms, although the big bath, balconies and cheerful breakfast make it better than a hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Megan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

The Underberg is located in the quiet residential neighbourhood of Tamboerskloof, close to many good restaurants and the Long Street and is a good starting point for the Lower Cable Station to the Table Mountain.

The house itself has been lovingly renovated and the rooms are very modern and well equipped. 3 parking spaces are attached to the premises, otherwise cars can be parked in the nearby streets. The rooms each have DsTV connection and a flatscreen TV. All rooms have en-suite bathrooms with fresh towels every day.

The very nice breakfast is done in buffet-style with fruit salad, a great muesli, cheese, cold cuts and toast. You can get a cooked meal on top of that consisting of the usual suspects of eggs in various forms and shapes, bacon, tomato and mushrooms.

The hosts Anne and Bruce are very friendly and accommodating and will supply you with maps and advice on what to do in and around the city if you require it.

If you're looking for a quiet, up-market yet friendly B'n'B in Cape Town, the Underberg Guesthouse is your place.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DadaSuzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Susan and I spent three nights here as a base to explore Cape Town. It was an easy walk to the "hop on - hop off" bus which also took us to table mountain. The owners Ann and Bruce could not have been more helpful with advice, maps and directions. And good practical advice (stuff to avoid etc).. The WIFI was the best of any of the stops we made on our Cape Town/Garden route tour, and the breakfast - cooked to order - was superb.. The room was large and well appointed - could not ask for more.. Our only mistake was to hire a car at CT airport and drive there at night, navigating in the dark. Instead of taking advantage of Ann and Bruce's excellent airport transfer and check in service. Also the car was of little use for the first two days in CT.
Recommend also making sure the rental car has a nav system for travellers. Ate out at night at some amazing nearby restaurants including "Mama Africa" with a GREAT African live band and a very reasonable menu. Huge fun.. A music extravaganza.. Highly recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

+ clean rooms
+ comfy bed
+ tasty breakfast : cereals, fruits, yogurts, tea/coffee, cheeses, toasts with cooked to order eggs and tomato ( they were perfectly done by the lady in the kitchen, didn't get her name )
+ in good neighborhood : after a day full of excursions, it was sooo comforting to walk to Beleza for dinner (5 min walk in a safe neighborhood)
+ good view of table mountain from the balcony in the hallway (not from our room)
+ nice shampoo, soap and lotion
+ Bruce & Anne were helpful : planning our excursions, suggesting us to book table mountain tickets online and letting us use their computer

- cold, cold and cold! : there was a small portable heater in the room, which was not enough. The room was uncomfortably cold. My husband had a hard time sleeping. The breakfast room was better heated. My husband still felt cold in there until he had a second cup of coffee!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuparnaPune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,423 reviews
An African Villa
#8 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,008 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Grace
#7 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,075 reviews
Parker Cottage
#1 of 156 in Cape Town Central
1,029 reviews
La Grenadine
#5 of 156 in Cape Town Central
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Underberg House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Underberg House

Address: 6 Tamboerskloof Road | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa (Formerly Underberg Guest House)
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl , Tamboerskloof
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $92 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Underberg House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Underberg provides warm and hospitably service. All our colonial rooms are super comfortable with modern en-suite bathrooms. For further comfort, each room is equipped with a flat screen TV with satelite chanels, Air conditioning and heating , overhead ceiling fan, American plantation shutters, tea/coffee facility, hairdryer, free toiletries, fitted carpet, safe, white cotton percale sheets, down duvets in winter and cotton blankets inthe summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Underberg House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Underberg House Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing