We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant Guesthouse”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Underberg House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Underberg House
Certificate of Excellence
Svebølle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant Guesthouse”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2011

After a tour through Garden Route we ended our journey at Underberg Guesthouse. A delightfull redecorated house with bunch of soul and hospitallity. The hosts are very varm folks, and they really try to do everything in their power to make our stay wonderfull. Everything is clean end neat. we will definetely pick that house again, when we come back.

Love, Family Bach from Denmark, Europe.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Family_Bach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    564
    49
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
72
339
50
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2011

I had an absolutely fantastic stay at the Underberg. The house is a beautiful old building, completely renovated with great beds, lovely decor and modern bathrooms. It's situated in a quiet street which is great for uninterrupted sleep. A five minute walk will take you to bars, restaurants & shopping on Kloof Street. Ann really went above and beyond (even getting some medicine for me when I came down with the flu) to make me feel welcome and she was incredibly helpful& flexible.
I would recommend the Underberg to anyone who is looking for a place that offers all modern comforts (TV,Internet etc) with a touch of personal care& asistance that makes you feel like you're staying with a friend.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philipp77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2011

The Underberg Guesthouse is a very hearty, friendly and gorgeous place. Ann and Bruce, the owners, are so helpful and gave us excellent recommendations. We never forget our stay in Cape Town at Underberg Guesthouse.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schmidsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Thomas, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2011

Selected to stay at The Underberg's Guesthouse because of TRIP ADVISORS recommendations. We really like the room with excellent bed and good amenities.
Bruce and Anne personal touch and excellent service made our stay very satisfactory and therefore we highly recommend this guesthouse for anyone.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sodbuster45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2011

The hosts were very friendly and went out of their way to help us, the place has character and is very comfortable. The home-made marmalade and jam are excellent!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidpatrickrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2011

My wife and I travelled to Cape Town for our 40th wedding anniversary. We needed a place that would be suitable for a special occasion and not the usual bog standard hotel rooms in the main chain of hotels. We checked thoroughly beforehand and on arrival we were delighted with our choice. The room we were allocated was lovely with high ceilings, a separate room for luggage/dressing and a separate shower and toilet and, a big ceiling fan that kept us cool. It also had its own very large balcony which was a real boon. There was also a general balcony for use by guests who do not have a balcony attached to their room. Anne and Bruce were very helpful and provided useful information about the local area and other places such as the Garden Route which we also visited. During our two week trip to Cape Town and the Garden Route we stayed in Underberg for a total of 6 nights (4+2) and in several other Guest Houses on our travels towards Port Elizabeth. My wife remarked to Anne on the day we left that the breakfasts at Underberg were the best we had of all the places we stayed in during our two weeks in the Cape. Anne and Bruce are also very approachable and good humoured and there is a relaxed atmosphere about the place. You also get help with carrying heavy suitcases upstairs if required. The building itself goes back to 1860 and is in very good condition and further development work was in progress to upgrade rooms and install a bar in the Guest House. As an older couple we particularly appreciated the time spent with us just talking about things. The walking distance to Cape Town (if fit) would be circa 20 minutes. We never took taxis and it was no problem to walk down to Long Street and on into the town centre. However, there was no bus service into town as far as we know so probably most folks would just take a taxi if they couldn't walk that far. We understand that taxis are not particularly expensive. Other Guest Houses we had looked at in the Oranjezicht area before booking Underberg in Tamboerskloof turned out to be quite a bit further away from the centre of Cape Town. Underberg Guest House is near shops and restaurants in Tamboerskloof including Rick's Cafe Americaine for "Casablanca" film fans and, also, a wee cafe called Puka just round the corner serves very good value food however, it closes in the evening at 6pm. Anne will also arrange transfers from the airport to Underberg and taxis back to the airport. The Guest House is nearby to tourist attractions such as Table Mountain, Signal Hill, the Bo-Kaap area, the Noon Gun (need to be fit if walking up long quite steep climb but the views of Cape Town and Table Mountain are spectacular) and the bus stop in Buitengracht for the red bus tour which, though quite expensive, was excellent. The rooms in Underberg have views of either Table Mountain or Signal Hill. We felt safe in Tamboerskloof and indeed in Cape Town itself. As prices go this was a good value Guest House and it was helpful to live in a place that had simple but effective touches with big-sized rooms and thick walls where you didn't hear the guests next door or elsewhere in the Guest House. Anne and Bruce are very good at running their business and have clearly worked out that the personal touch is the way to add value. They continue to develop the Guest House. The Visitors' Book, which you complete at the end of your stay, is crammed full of very positive comments, including ours.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank normanlawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2011

'Ann and Bruce, the owners were so helpful - especially as I was a solo traveller - they went out of their way to arrange trips for me. Very tastefully decorated and delicious breakfast. Lovely view from balcony to table Mountain' says my mum Veronica.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank belindathomas99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
An African Villa
#6 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,355 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#3 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,201 reviews
Parker Cottage
#1 of 156 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 998 reviews
La Grenadine
#4 of 156 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Underberg House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Underberg House

Property: Underberg House
Address: 6 Tamboerskloof Road | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa (Formerly Underberg Guest House)
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl , Tamboerskloof
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Underberg House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Underberg provides warm and hospitably service. All our colonial rooms are super comfortable with modern en-suite bathrooms. For further comfort, each room is equipped with a flat screen TV with satelite chanels, Air conditioning and heating , overhead ceiling fan, American plantation shutters, tea/coffee facility, hairdryer, free toiletries, fitted carpet, safe, white cotton percale sheets, down duvets in winter and cotton blankets inthe summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Underberg House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Underberg House Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing