We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Atlantic Point Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good quality”
Reviewed January 19, 2012

I had a brief one night stay at this hostel as an emergency stop (unplanned) in Cape Town. It was clean, and neat. A generous breakfast. Friendly staff, and a great layout. It was very reasonable, at R140 a night including breakfast.
We had a pleasant cool down in the new pool.
Drinks at the bar was well priced.
The decor is delightful, all in all a comfortable and cheap option for students. An en suite would be better for shy people, as there is not enough room to change in the shower, or you would have to squeeze into the loo!
Great stay, for an unexpected stop!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poppins22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    465
    149
    24
    4
    1
See reviews for
30
107
300
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2011

I had planned to stay for 4 nights but left in the morning after night 1. The main issues were the following:

- i felt it had an unwelcoming atmosphere
- the bed was uncomfortable and I didn't get a good night sleep
- the bathrooms were not clean (shower was slow to empty and there was hair everywhere)
- wifi didn't work and when I questioned various members of staff and they just shrugged
- According to a note by the computer, internet was R40 per day(!!)

I think this would possilby appeal to the younger crowd. I was just so disappointed at it had got such good reviews and looked so lovely in the photos.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lady_Tam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

High ceilinged, airy dorms. Looks newly renovated. Lockers even have power points for gadget charging. Staff is friendly and very helpful. Free brekkie and wifi. Close to the V&A Waterfront, but I found distances to central CT to be not that far when hoofing it.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank octoroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2011

Had a great 3 nights at this hostel. My friend had neer stayed in a hostel before and wasn't keen until she got here. It is a lovely place - we stayed in one of the twin on suites and it was very smart, great little shower room, very quiet. Good breakfast and communal areas added to the experience. the two guys who run the palce were excellent - good advice about where to go and how to stay safe and an excellent Braii on the one night - way too many Springboks drunk through!

location is fab as well as it was only a 10 minute and safe walk to the V and A Waterfront and about 20 minutes into the centre of the city.

Taxis were cheap to get back after a night out to.

All round an excellent stay and highly recommended - very good value for money too!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alih71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed September 8, 2011

we spend four wonderful days here, this is a great option when you are travelling in cape town, very central close to the stadion and waterfront. the staff was very helpful in assisting us with booking activities and telling us where we can go. clean and even got a nice breakfast!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JP B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed August 31, 2011

Better than any hotel that I've ever stayed at! The atmosphere was the great! The decoration was unique! The service was unbeatable! Atlantic Point only made my stay in Cape Town that much better!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryC13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Truly the best backpackers in Cape Town. The rooms were spotless and cozy (a novelty in the winter months). The kitchen was very clean and included everything you could ever need to cook for yourself (although the location is great if cooking is not your thing). As a student, the free wi-fi was great and speedy. The boys did a great job of making sure everything was taken care of. Just awesome.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank knrose29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,491 reviews
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,506 reviews
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#61 of 109 in Cape Town Central
976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,011 reviews
The Backpackers in Green Point
#1 of 127 in Cape Town Central
492 reviews
City Bowl
The Backpack
The Backpack
#4 of 127 in Cape Town Central
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Point Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Point Backpackers

Property: Atlantic Point Backpackers
Address: 2 Cavalcade Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 127 Specialty Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Atlantic Point Backpackers 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cape Town's most interactive backpackers lodge is designed with you in mind. Situated in trendy Green Point, Signal Hill is our garden. Atlantic Point Backpackers is perfectly positioned 1km from the waterfront and 750m from the new Green Point Stadium.We offer an accommodation experience for all travelers. From double en-suite rooms to co-ed dorms we have something for you. Our staff will assist you with your needs while in Cape Town. AP will hopefully be a highlight of your South African experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Atlantic Point Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Point Backpackers Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing