We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dutch Manor is Amazing....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dutch Manor Antique Hotel
Ranked #45 of 156 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Dutch Manor is Amazing....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

I like to mix up where I stay when I visit to Cape Town, but after staying at the Dutch I will always make it my stop for business or otherwise.
The staff were extremely helpful, well organised and the decor is incredible with modern facilities surrounded my beautiful period features, such a comfortable place and easy to recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigMacMcInnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    33
    7
    2
    4
See reviews for
19
105
36
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

Lovely small,exquisite hotel in a great location. Room was perfect for me- incredibly comfortable bed, beautiful bathroom. Breakfast was yummy in a lovely dining room and I met some very interesting people with whom I had some great conversation over fruit and eggs! A big plus for me was hearing the faint but melodious call to prayer from the small nearby mosque- one of my favorite things to hear. Hotel is in a quiet, peaceful area and is within walking distance to several interesting parts of Cape Town. Staff very friendly and so helpful with arranging day trips for me and pointing me in the right direction to wherever I needed to go. Plan to stay here again on my next trip to Cape Town.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phnompenh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
155 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

Dutch Manor was our lodging for our first two nights in South Africa. We opted for the one room with two single beds, for the space and size of beds. All of the other rooms have antique four posters or canopy beds, so are the bed size is accordingly small -- a standard double. Our choice was excellent as the singles were large, more like US 3/4 beds, and we had a nice (barred) window to the side street. Breakfast was tasty and ample, and there is parking both in front and on the side of the hotel, as well as one or two spaces within the hotel's walls at the back. Security struck us as not a problem. We were surprised at the relatively small size of Cape Town, and he complete absence of the security measures on view in other South African cities such as Johannesburg and Durban. Cape Town was very walkable from Dutch Manor, as we ambled through the center, and down to Victoria & Albert Waterfront. We picked up our rental car early (we drove much of the southern coast to Durban) and used Dutch Manor as our base to drive to the tram at Table Mountain, on over the mountains to Boulders NP to see penguins, and then out to visit Robbin Island. Dutch Manor has only showers -- nice showers, but just showers none the less. South African hotels usually have tubs, as well, and consistently the largest tubs we have encountered anywhere. So, this omission was noted more in retrospect after we became accustomed to tubs. It was a great base to begin our 14 days touring much of South Africa.

Room Tip: Choose a room with two single beds if a conventional double (smaller than a queen) would be tight fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reamor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conakry
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Flew in from Dubai on September 24th having stayed at the very modern Grosvenor House for 8 days. Found out 3 hours before my departure from Dubai that I hadn't booked a hotel yet in Cape Town. I went online and found The Dutch Manor. I booked it for two nights just in case I wanted to move on to another place. Being Dutch and travelling 270 days a year for work I thought the name was very tempting. I've been to Cape Town many times and can't believe how I could've missed this absolute gem of a boutique hotel. The contrast with Dubai was going from one extreme to the other. You walk into history, basically a home away from home. The staff becomes your family and quite frankly there isn't a recruitment company that could find all those friendly people and put them in the same place anywhere in the world. Breakfast is fantastic, one of the best omelettes ever! Very nice coffee, always fresh ripe fruit. The rooms are stuffed with antiques yet the shower is from the 21st century, super! the four poster beds are seriously comfortable.
The Wifi works perfectly well so business and pleasure can be easily combined. The area around the hotel is great for exploring some historic and cultural sites around Bo-Kaap. Bree, Loop and Long Street are right on the doorstep with many fine restaurants, the Waterfront is a 30 minute walk down the road.
Two days became 25 days.....and I'm back again in November.
Going back to my home away from home before going home again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BotheGypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DutchCapeTown, General Manager at Dutch Manor Antique Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Wooow! what an awesome, great and warm feedback. We greatly value your feedback. It was a real honor to have you as our guest. Your compliment about the staff has even strengthened the Team spirit more . We greatly appreciate all the details you observed during your stay. We look forward to have you back in the next couple of days to your 'home away from home' :-)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed in the Dutch Manor at the beginning and end of our holiday in South Africa. What a fantastic introduction to Cape Town. Lovely hotel with wonderfully comfortable beds, and beautifully furnished rooms. All the staff were delightful, and so willing to help in any way they could. Breakfast was a treat with anything you could possibly want to eat, and we met very interesting people over breakfast too! My only comment that is slightly negative would be could you please give us some of that wonderful South African seed bread for breakfast rather than white bread!
Great area to stay in as an easy walk takes you down to restaurants in the evening.
We really enjoyed our stay, and I hope we'll get back there one day - thank you to you all.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DutchCapeTown, General Manager at Dutch Manor Antique Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for such a warm review. We are all happy that you had a lovely stay with us. So sorry about the white bread incident , we always strive to give the best healthy breakfast ever. We appreciate your feedback

Looking forward to your next visit :-).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmesbury, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

What a pity our stay was for only one night. The personal service was warm and professional. The four-poster bed was exceptionally comfortable and the large high-pressure shower a pleasure. We enjoyed the beautiful antique décor. Thank you, we will be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DutchCapeTown, General Manager at Dutch Manor Antique Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Guest

It was a great pleasure having you at Dutch Manor Hotel.

We hope to have you back soon for a longer stay.

We appreciate your feedback
.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

We had a wonderful two nights in the Dutch Manor. We were looked after like royalty and had beds to match. The breakfast was superb and the location good for access to Table Mountain. Bo Kapp is a very interesting area - we walked down to a local eating place and dined out for £2 each!

Room Tip: We had a quick peek in all the rooms and all seemed to have four poster beds. One room does have two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cath B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DutchCapeTown, General Manager at Dutch Manor Antique Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your feedback.

I am delighted that you had a memorable stay at our gem, and the fact that you enjoyed the personal service we offer at Dutch Manor. It was a real honor to have you as our guests.

We hope to have you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
Rouge on Rose
#6 of 156 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
Parker Cottage
#1 of 156 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Blue House Guesthouse
#44 of 156 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
La Rose Bed & Breakfast
La Rose Bed & Breakfast
#27 of 156 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Cape Finest Guesthouse
#36 of 156 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dutch Manor Antique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dutch Manor Antique Hotel

Property: Dutch Manor Antique Hotel
Address: 158 Buitengracht Street | Bo-Kaap, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > Schotsche Kloof
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dutch Manor Antique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dutch Manor represents the ultimate in heritage-rich style and comfort. Every room is uniquely decorated with the greatest attention to detail and the finest antique furnishings and fittings, each with its own unique tale. The four-star boutique hotel is deliberately small and comprises of six rooms, all with en-suite modernized bathrooms, spacious showers and air-conditioning. All the rooms have 26-inch flat screen TVs and luxurious Egyptian percale cotton bedding. Various popular tourist attractions are within a 3km radius of the hotel: The V&A Waterfront, the trendy De Waterkant and Kloof Street for shopping and dining, the Company’s Gardens and Cape Town International Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dutch Manor Antique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dutch Manor Antique Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing