We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (533)
Filter reviews
533 results
Traveler rating
513
14
4
0
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
513
14
4
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews manna bay high tea versailles suite white room orchid room boutique hotel pom pom explorer room table mountain persian room day bed hour butler service overlooking cape town every afternoon our honeymoon on demand mother city
Filter
Updating list...
254 - 259 of 533 reviews
Reviewed May 13, 2015

We stayed at MannaBay in the Versailles Suite for one night in April as part of our anniversary trip to South Africa. We travel a lot for work, but this hotel made it into our top hotels straight away. It was honestly perfect in every way.

Firstly the building is absolutely stunning. The layout and decor - we were just taken aback by how gorgeous and well-thought out it was. We arrived early not expecting our room to be ready, but after being given some coffee we were then taken straight to our room. The room itself was beyond beautiful. We could not have asked for anything more. It was spacious and furnished impeccably. But the best thing was the balcony and the views. I would challenge anyone to find a view from a hotel that rivals that you would get from MannaBay. We had the city in front of us, Table Mountain behind us, Lions Head to our left - everywhere we looked we were surrounded by amazing sights. Our balcony was the perfect place for sundowners and also for watching to dawn mist settle over the city. Something you will never forget.

The breakfasts were fabulous - the most delicious selection (homemade cakes, breads, granola, preserves) and hot breakfasts all freshly cooked to order. They also lay on the most incredible afternoon tea for guests with fabulous cakes, and savoury treats. And champagne - perfect! I doubt you would find a better spread. After dinner they also put out the port and choccies. It really is the most magical place - You won't want to leave. We are already desperate to return!!

Room tip: Versailles Suite, but all the rooms are beautiful.
Date of stay: April 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Carys L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MannabayManagement, General Manager at MannaBay, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2015

Thank you for taking the time to write this fabulous review. We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us (and our high tea). We look forward to being your 'anniversary hotel' every year.
Kind regards,
Mitch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2015 via mobile

Cape Town was our first stop on our honeymoon and MannaBay set the tone for a fantastic South African Honeymoon. Mitch and his staff went great lengths to ensure our stay was comfortable, enjoyable and extremely special. He recommended a great restaurants each evening while the hotel provided complimentary transportation so we could enjoy the local food and wine. The view from both the rooms and area balconies are spectacular. They are complimented by spirits, tea, snacks and bubbles during afternoon tea time. We had such a nice stay at MannaBay that no other botique hotel on our stay could equally compare. It is truly a special place and we highly recommend it to those looking for an intimate and special holiday.

Date of stay: March 2015
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank ledzeps311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MannabayManagement, General Manager at MannaBay, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2015

Thank you for your fantastic review on MannaBay. So pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and liked our restaurant recommendations. We hope to see you back at MannaBay for your anniversary next year.
Kind regards,
Mitch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2015

great service. unique hotel. beautiful view. the neighborhood is a little bit deserted but the hotel driver took us to the city. the staff were very attentive to our needs. the only problem was that the beds were moving and made noises.

Room tip: Try the beds. Ours were sqeaky.
Date of stay: April 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Noa12346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MannabayManagement, General Manager at MannaBay, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2015

Thank you for your review and kind words. So sorry to hear that your bed got in the way of a perfect night of rest. My team has gone through all rooms and checked all the beds today and we will continue to do so in order to make sure that this does not happen to any other guests.
We hope to see you back at MannaBay in the future.
Kind regards,
Mitch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2015

Can't say enough about this place. We just stayed there four nights and were amazed by everything - the room, the building, the service, the food, and the decor and art. We took the advice of Mitch and the rest of the staff on what to do, restaurants, and shopping and it was perfect. The attention to detail is incredible, the staff on-the-spot; yet it is as comfortable as home. We could have happily never ventured out and been satisfied. We were booked into the hotel by our travel agent, Rhino Africa / Icon Expeditions at the insistence of their agent Geraldine Symington. What advice we received!

Room tip: Black & White Room and Versailles Room have fantastic views and private balconies. Versailles balcony/deck the best.
Date of stay: April 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MBRTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MannabayManagement, General Manager at MannaBay, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2015

Thank you so much for this incredible review. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as all of our recommendations. We passed on your review to Geraldine and she is just as ecstatic to hear the good news.
We look forward to welcoming you back to MannaBay.
Kind regards,
Mitch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2015

Our first visit and it was exceptional! Stunning views of Cape Town at front and Table Mountain in the back garden! Service exceptional and nothing was too much trouble. Afternoon tea was spot on. So friendly and attentive without being OTT.

Room tip: Any room is superb!
Date of stay: April 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Graham_lindsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MannabayManagement, General Manager at MannaBay, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2015

Dear Graham,
Thank for your review and kind words. We love our city views and back garden too! We hope to see you back at MannaBay on your next visit to Cape Town.
Kind regards,
Mitch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews