We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!”
Review of MannaBay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
MannaBay
Ranked #2 of 111 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Having stayed at the "old" Manna Bay a year ago we were looking forward to seeing how they could have improved on an already winning formula with the move to new premises up the mountain. Well, the service is as amazing as before with the added bonus of free transport to and from local restaurants. Brilliant idea! The position is stunning with not only the views of the city and harbour at the front but backing right onto the slopes of Table Mountain - literally at your doorstep. The bedrooms are spacious and very comfortable, the breakfast is delicious and afternoon tea irresistible ( even having just returned from lunch at the Test Kitchen!). There is a good sized swimming pool and well equipped fitness room and, considering there are only eight bedrooms, the public areas are massive. It's a great property for having a fantastic party!

I really can't imagine we will ever want to stay anywhere else in Cape Town. It's worth returning to South Africa just to stay at Manna Bay again. Look forward to seeing you next year!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have fantastic views of the harbour. Some of those at the back look as though the...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MannabayManagement, Manager at MannaBay, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Hi Steve,

Thank you for your amazing feedback. It was great having you stay and experienced the new hotel. MannaBay re-located beginning December and we are so excited that you have experienced both properties. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your complimentary dinner and airport transfers, it definitely makes a difference to your stay – the less you have to do the better! Ric and Lauren our chefs prepare daily delicious treats and I will be sure to pass on your appreciation. It will be a pleasure to have you back in the future again. Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor.
Justine and the MannaBay Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (446)
There are newer reviews for MannaBay
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

249 - 255 of 446 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2014

This is the jewel in the crown! stayed for 4 nights, located at the base of table mountain in an exclusive part of town. in this outstanding place each room was superb, we were treated by all the staff, as if we were the only guests, nothing was to much trouble, it was like being at your best friends home. High tea was very enjoyable breakfast cooked fresh as your ordered. Would not hesitate to go back or recommend, would definitely go back. thank you Manna Bay Loved our stay!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the black and white room, but every room was exquisite
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happygirl010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MannabayManagement, Manager at MannaBay, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Thank you so much for this wonderful feedback. MannaBay is situated at the base of Table Mountain which benefits from exquisite views of the city - we are so greatful to be able to have had share this with you. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your luxury Black and White room, now it gives you a reason to come back and enjoy the other luxury rooms. We will be sure to pass your comments on to the staff and our chefs, Lauren and Ric, who prepare our MannaBay Café and high tea.

Thank you

Justine and the MannaBay Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

We could not have asked for a better place to stay. Nothing was too much for any of the Staff. It was home away from home with Service+ . Wish other Hotels could be like MannaBay. Getting to a dinner booking was no problem and getting back was no problem either. We had somebody to drop us off and pick us at our given time. All bookings for dinner , or sightseeing was done by the Staff , we did not have to do a thing ,just Enjoy.

Room Tip: All the Rooms are just as good as the other. The Rooms have a different theme each. We had the Explo...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arnold W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MannabayManagement, Manager at MannaBay, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Hi Arnold,

We are so pleased to know that you felt like you were at home with us at MannaBay and enjoyed our 5* luxury service. Our staff are passionate about our guest – ensuring you enjoy your surroundings and been taking care of. True meaning of being on holiday! We hope to see you and Marlene again in the near future.

Warm regards,
Justine and the MannaBay Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

We were 3 nights at the Manna Bay and felt very welcome right from the start. You rather feel like being a friend of a Villa owner than a hotel guest. The staff is outstanding, so flexible, friendly and they provide you the very best tipps for Capetown. They even did not charge us the few Drinks we had. Moreover breakfast and high tea was very delicious. I really will recommend this place to all my friends. André

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anschwae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MannabayManagement, Manager at MannaBay, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Hi André

Thank you for your feedback! We value our staff and very happy you had a wonderful stay and felt like a friend. Our chefs – Lauren and Ric - prepare our delicious MannaBay Café breakfast and afternoon high tea with great bliss and enthusiasm. We hope to see you and Karin back at MannaBay in the near future !

Warm regards,
Justine and the MannaBay Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

I can't say enough great things about every aspect of this B&B/Boutique Hotel. It is incredible. The rooms are ultra modern and comfortable with every conceivable amenity. Most rooms (7) have commanding views of Cape Town and the bay as the place sits very high up on the approach to table mountain. There are numerous private places both in and out of the hotel-I have to call it that as it is just too wonderful to think of it as a B&B. The staff are very helpful,arranged for restaurant reservations a month ahead as we were there during New Year's week. The breakfast chef made the best Eggs Benedict I ever had and the rest of the food spread was very amazing. The hotel is owned by Rhino Africa Safaris and they arranged for our whole stay in SA and did a great job. They
donate a portion of their income to several charities and causes, including the Save the Rhino Trust and the Khumbalani Day Care Centre for HIV orphans in the Khayelitsha Township.
I would always return to this property and their wonderful staff.
DrHal

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doctorhal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MannabayManagement, Manager at MannaBay, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Thank you for this wonderful feedback on your recent stay at MannaBay.

We are delighted we made you feel at home and very relaxed. Do return for another luxurious stay and to enjoy our well known eggs benedict from our MannaBay Café and our afternoon high tea. We are proud to say that Rhino Africa, luxury tour operator, has passion for their people, wildlife and the magnificent landscapes of Africa. We look forward to your next visit to Cape Town and MannaBay.

Warm regards,
Justine and the MannaBay Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

MannaBay is by far the most fabulous B & B I've ever stayed in. Surrounded by breathtaking views, luscious gardens and even a koi pond this B & B is modern, yet elegant with an old world flavor. Tastefully decorated with chandeliers, African artifacts and exquisite art every attention to detail makes an inviting oasis from busy travels. The friendly and attentive staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome and help guide our site-seeing and dining pleasures. The gourmet breakfasts and afternoon teas were delicious. If you have the pleasure of visiting Cape Town make sure to stay at MannaBay!

Room Tip: Splurge and stay in the Versailles Room, worthy of a king and his queen, complete with mirrored acce...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jillghall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MannabayManagement, Manager at MannaBay, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2014

To Jerold and Jill - thank you for your feedback regarding your romantic stay in our Versailles suite at MannaBay. We are passionate about hospitality and ensuring you make the most of Cape Town and MannaBay. Very happy you had a memorable stay. We do wish to welcome you back one day soon. Warm regards, Justine and The MannaBay team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

My husband, my sister and her husband visited Manna Bay in January 2014. Our stay was exceptional. We were treated like absolute royalty. The staff was attentive to all of our needs and would assist with any request.. The place is spotless clean and decorated beautifully. We felt like we had our own personal Chef and the food was outstanding.
Hats off to Justine the Manager at Manna Bay. She really does know how to do it right.
I will highly recommend this this Hotel/Bed and Breakfast to anyone I know going to Cape Town.

Room Tip: Whether you have a view of the City or of Table Mountain you will not be disappointed. The Table Mou...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikey o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MannabayManagement, Manager at MannaBay, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Hello Micky and Patrick

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback on your recent stay with us at MannaBay. We are happy to hear we made your stay special while at MannaBay. Guests like yourselves are always an absolute pleasure to go the extra mile to ensure you enjoy MannaBay and what Cape Town has to offer.

Our chefs are passionate about their food and enjoy sharing tasty tips – we are very happy you enjoyed their food delights.
We hope to see you again in the near future.
Warm regards,

Justine and the MannaBay Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,412 reviews
Cape Grace
#6 of 111 in Cape Town Central
2,055 reviews
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,846 reviews
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,633 reviews
City Bowl
Four Rosmead
Four Rosmead
#3 of 111 in Cape Town Central
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MannaBay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MannaBay

Address: 8 Bridle Road | Oranjezicht, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $396 - $632 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — MannaBay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can't get much closer to Table Mountain than this... In the heart of Cape Town, MannaBay has just eight uniquely designed suites that set the bar for contemporary luxury. From this prime setting on the border of the Table Mountain National Park with suites becoming of Persian Princes, Orchid Hunters and Heroic Explorers alike, you can experience the Mother City in sheer comfort and privacy, with a team of friendly staff dedicated to making every guest's experience as special as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your MannaBay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
MannaBay Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing