We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful stay at MannaBay”
Review of MannaBay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
MannaBay
Ranked #2 of 111 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed at the Boutique MannaBay Hotel for three nights whilst visiting Cape Town. Being upgraded to the Versailles Suite was wonderful - it is a spectacular upper-floor room with a great view over the city. The service from the hosts and staff at Manna Bay was superb. They catered for our dietary requirements and even booked us a table for dinner at an excellent local restaurant without us even needing to ask them - they just knew that we'd be keen to try a restaurant after driving all day down to the Cape Point and back.

The accommodation at MannaBay is not the cheapest in Cape Town, but compared to major cities in other parts of the world, it was great value for money.

Their laundry service was of high quality, fast and very good value too.

We'll definitely stay at MannaBay again the next time we are in Cape Town!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JS231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (446)
There are newer reviews for MannaBay
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

330 - 336 of 446 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2012

I had read the ratings of the MannaBay hotel on tripadvisor before we went on our journey and I always thought that the people writing them might exaggerate a little - BUT, they do not.
I apologize for having thought so. Honestly, it was the most beautiful hotel I ever stayed at and the staff made our "mother-and-son-Cape-Town-stay" such a wonderful experience. Thank you again - Justine, Robyn, Pierce, Shedrick (I hope I spelt your names right), you are wonderful. If we could we would be right back.

Eric and Birgit from Germany

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Birgit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

I was on my honeymoon and the travel agent recommended this place. I give this place a 5 stars rating. Breakfast was fantastic, afternoon tea was a delight and the service was immaculate. I could not have ask for more. Its location was good as well, we could take a public transport up to table mountain or the wharf.

Our room was clean and cosy, internet was a little wonky at the start of our stay but they resolved it. Definitely recommend anyone who is on honeymoon in Cape Town.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank craois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

This boutique has everything you could wish for! We were made to feel like friends as soon as we arrived as we enjoyed a welcome drink overlooking the city.

I would like to make the point about the room which we stayed in- The Pom Pom suite. This suite is situated down stairs and seperate to the rest of the guest house, with the entrance through the garage. We could not have found it more perfect. This large suite has all the privacy you can imagine, as well as a small private garden. Do not be put off by the entrace of this suite- You will love it!

Thanks Manna Bay for a superb stay- Both my wife and I really enjoyed our time with you and will look very forward to our return!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KanonkopHouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

After a long 3 legged flight from the US, we arrived at Manna Bay late at night to be warmly greeted by Enos and a welcome tray plus a delicious glass of South African wine. The hotel is beautifully decorated, clean and spacious. They could have fit many more rooms into this large house but thankfully they didn't. The staff was always there when you needed them but never intrusive. Justine and Robin are an excellent management team. They made sure to offer top advice on activities, restaurants, etc. and always volunteered to make calls for us. The entire staff was warm and friendly but as my husband pointed out, "Shadrack is the nicest person on earth." Even our 13 year old twin boys commented repeatedly that they didn't want to leave even though we had an exciting week planned in Namibia. There was always a snack or beverage when we needed it. Breakfasts were wonderful. The view over the city was lovely and we appreciated being away from the noise of the city but an easy cab ride anywhere. We thought Cape Town was going to be a once in a lifetime trip but we fell in love with the city and can't wait to return - and stay at Manna Bay.

Room Tip: As a family of four, we were booked into the Black&White room and the Orchid Room. They are eac...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeachchairVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MannabayManagement, Manager at MannaBay, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

Thank you for your feedback and kind words following your recent stay at MannaBay, Cape Town. We value our staff and very happy you had a wonderful stay. As a family the Black and White room along with the Orchid room does work extremely well. We do hope you had an amazing time in Namibia following MannaBay. Warm regards - The MannaBay Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Just want to thank Manna Bay for the great service and all that little bit of extra that they do to truly make you feel welcome. Justine and Shadrack are my favourites :)

The decor looks hand picked and each piece seems to tell a story, but fortunately it's not cluttered - just perfect :)

Breakfast was a delight and high tea is scrumtuous :)

Manna bay came highly recommended and now I can see why :)

Many thanks

Jaun

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaun M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 15, 2012

Thank you Jaun for your feedback on your recent stay at MannaBay luxury hotel. Words like these makes our smiles last even longer. It is always our pleasure going the extra mile and making you feel welcome at MannaBay. We look forward to your next visit. Warm regards, Justine and the MannaBay team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We spent 3 nights at MannaBay during our recent trip to South Africa. MannaBay is such a wonderful place to stay while in Cape Town. The quiet location, the staff, the service, the awesome breakfast... the perfect spot for a visit!

We arrived late in the evening on our first night and loved our room (Black and White room.) A bottle of champagne, cheese and crackers was waiting for us, which was welcomed after a long flight from the US! The location is away from the Waterfront which was fine for us- we wanted a more quiet, less touristy/crowded place, MannaBay definitely fit that for us. We were gone most of the day time on tours so being on the waterfront wasn't as important to us.

The service was outstanding. Justine, Simon, and Shadrock always had smiles on their faces and welcomed us on arrival and from our tours. The food was SOOOO good! I wish I was back there right now for that wonderful breakfast! Tea time was also a great treat! We went out to dinner on the waterfront one night and to Cafe Paradiso another night and enjoyed both restaurants. We went to Wine Country one day and did the Cape Point/Cape of Good Hope tour and Table Mountain as well- I would highly recommend both of these tours and it is nice to do these as private tours so it is at your own pace. They also told us about so many other fun activities and hikes etc but unfortunately we didn't have enough time in Cape Town- we will just have to come back again!!

I would definitely recommend staying here if you are looking for a quiet boutique place away from the crowds with great friendly service. Our room and the general areas were all really beautiful and made a great impression for our first three nights in South Africa!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travcarib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 11, 2012

Thank you Sharma for your feedback on your recent stay at MannaBay. It was wonderful having you and Manish spend time with us - although short - we hope you return to Cape Town soon for your next special occasion. I'm sure you had an amazing safari and enjoyed Victoria Falls. We look forward to welcoming you back to MannaBay soon :) Warm regards, Justine and the MannaBay team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,412 reviews
Cape Grace
#6 of 111 in Cape Town Central
2,055 reviews
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,846 reviews
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,632 reviews
City Bowl
Four Rosmead
Four Rosmead
#3 of 111 in Cape Town Central
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MannaBay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MannaBay

Address: 8 Bridle Road | Oranjezicht, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $396 - $632 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — MannaBay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can't get much closer to Table Mountain than this... In the heart of Cape Town, MannaBay has just eight uniquely designed suites that set the bar for contemporary luxury. From this prime setting on the border of the Table Mountain National Park with suites becoming of Persian Princes, Orchid Hunters and Heroic Explorers alike, you can experience the Mother City in sheer comfort and privacy, with a team of friendly staff dedicated to making every guest's experience as special as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your MannaBay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
MannaBay Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing