We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect place to stay in Cape Town”
Review of MannaBay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
MannaBay
Ranked #2 of 111 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We spent 3 nights at MannaBay during our recent trip to South Africa. MannaBay is such a wonderful place to stay while in Cape Town. The quiet location, the staff, the service, the awesome breakfast... the perfect spot for a visit!

We arrived late in the evening on our first night and loved our room (Black and White room.) A bottle of champagne, cheese and crackers was waiting for us, which was welcomed after a long flight from the US! The location is away from the Waterfront which was fine for us- we wanted a more quiet, less touristy/crowded place, MannaBay definitely fit that for us. We were gone most of the day time on tours so being on the waterfront wasn't as important to us.

The service was outstanding. Justine, Simon, and Shadrock always had smiles on their faces and welcomed us on arrival and from our tours. The food was SOOOO good! I wish I was back there right now for that wonderful breakfast! Tea time was also a great treat! We went out to dinner on the waterfront one night and to Cafe Paradiso another night and enjoyed both restaurants. We went to Wine Country one day and did the Cape Point/Cape of Good Hope tour and Table Mountain as well- I would highly recommend both of these tours and it is nice to do these as private tours so it is at your own pace. They also told us about so many other fun activities and hikes etc but unfortunately we didn't have enough time in Cape Town- we will just have to come back again!!

I would definitely recommend staying here if you are looking for a quiet boutique place away from the crowds with great friendly service. Our room and the general areas were all really beautiful and made a great impression for our first three nights in South Africa!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travcarib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 11, 2012

Thank you Sharma for your feedback on your recent stay at MannaBay. It was wonderful having you and Manish spend time with us - although short - we hope you return to Cape Town soon for your next special occasion. I'm sure you had an amazing safari and enjoyed Victoria Falls. We look forward to welcoming you back to MannaBay soon :) Warm regards, Justine and the MannaBay team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (446)
There are newer reviews for MannaBay
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

336 - 342 of 446 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2012

My wife and I went on a cruise from Mauritius to Cape Town, and decided wew ould extend our stay. Through a great travel agancy that I found on the internet (and selected from a short list of three based on the quality of their proposal), we ended up staying at the Mannabay Hotel for four nights in February 2011.
What a lovely and really unique place!
We were greeted in a very friendly manner, shown our room and then when we descended for some coffee, the whole of the hotel workings were explained to us. Our room had a wonderful view over the bay, and was beauifully furnished. It was so much more than we had expected.
During our stay, we were made to feel right at home, and nothing was too much. Such friendly staff made everything run like clockwork.
The restaurants that were recommended ot us combined the mix of views in one case, and slightly kooky but wonderful atmosphere on another.
When our time came ot leave, we felt we were leaving friends and should we ever come back to Cape Town, we know exactly where we will stay.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Just-retired-couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 11, 2012

Thank you for your feedback on your stay at MannaBay. We are very happy you had a wonderful stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Warm regards, Justine and the MannaBay team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

My husband and I stayed at MannaBay (2 free nights when we booked our safari) as the last 2 nights of our South African trip in May and what a luxurious end! Even though there was a night that was rainy and stormy outside, we ordered takeaway and it was cozy to stay in and enjoy the beautiful amenities. I loved every minute of the stay!

Room Tip: We had the Versailles room and there was a view of Cape Town and your own koi pond! It was on the m...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EJ3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 4, 2012

Thank you for your comments on your luxury stay at MannaBay. The Versailles suite is definitely a treat and we are glad you enjoyed your time with us. Warm regards, The MannaBay Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Our family of 4 stayed a MannaBay for 3 nights. The rooms are great, the view of table mountain is amazing (the hotel is at the foot of the mountain), but what makes this hotel special is the staff. They know service and they provide it from the heart. They offer you great recommendations on where to eat (and they've eaten there too) and spend your time. One of the wonderful services they provide is they allow you to have food delivered and they will actually set up a table for you in the dining room to eat it. How great is that? We had an early flight and they were nice enough to pacak breakfast for us. The staff here is just fantastic. They time everything perfectly. This is a hotel that made me realize that the value of the hotel is not just the room, the view, and the facilities. I would say that most of the value of this wonderful hotel comes from the very special people that run it.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FamilyManSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 11, 2012

Thank you Woody - we loved having you and your family stay with us at MannaBay. We are extremely happy you felt at home and relaxed. Personalised service is very important to us making sure you are relaxed in our luxury surroundings. Glad you felt that. Warm regards, Justine and the MannaBay team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Do note that they call themselves as a FINE Boutique Hotel and not just A Boutique Hotel. And for several good reasons. It feels secluded from the noise and traffic of the City Bowl. The interiors are what you would expect in a typical City Boutique Hotel heavily influenced by Old and Contemporary Euro-African Designs which works perfectly. The staff (Robyn, Madré, and Butlers) are all hospitable and very eager to assist -- from taxis, transfers, confirming reservations, tours. Tea Time is an excellent time to chill. But if you do miss it, complimentary drinks (both alcoholic and non-alcoholic) are available at the lounge.

A taxi or some form of transportation is necessary to get to places of interest. But taxis are just a phone call away and are very prompt. The location is somewhere in between Camps Bay and Kloof Street/City Bowl, V&A. So expect cab rides to range between ZAR20-50. Not bad at all.

You feel more like a local (a privileged local) rather than a tourist when staying here.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoseRizal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

A stay at Mannabay is like a trip to paradise. We arrived end of March, completely exhausted and stressed and after four nights we left like new people. The rooms are unique and particular and the service is heavenly (and this is an understatement). The management and the whole stuff does a magnificent job to pamper and spoil the guests. The four butlers seem to be mind readers: you already have a drink before you know you want one. We knew before that South African people are known for their friendliness but this hotel is more than special. You cannot do better in Cape Town. Micha

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Micha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

We came through to Cape Town for a very good friend's 40th and stayed the evening at Manna Bay on Saturday. My husband and I had noted the development of the property from a deceased estate (half-built and lonesome-looking approx. 3 years ago) to the spectacular building that David Ryan and his team have created. It's warm, inviting, caring, beautifully decorated and cleverly crafted.

Madre' and her team are equally warm, welcoming and caring and we were treated to delicious 'high tea', lots of sweeties (which being pregnant, I couldn't resist) and a divine breakfast.

Our room (Explorer) was huge, sun-filled, extremely comfortable and with the most wonderful view of the city bowl and sea. We had to drag ourselves out of it to attend the 40th!

Thank you Manna Bay, for a special and memorable evening. We highly recommend and hope to return soon.

Room Tip: Choose the front larger suites for the sun, the view and the size.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alison_J_Walker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,413 reviews
Cape Grace
#6 of 111 in Cape Town Central
2,060 reviews
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,848 reviews
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,636 reviews
City Bowl
Four Rosmead
Four Rosmead
#3 of 111 in Cape Town Central
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MannaBay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MannaBay

Address: 8 Bridle Road | Oranjezicht, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $393 - $628 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — MannaBay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can't get much closer to Table Mountain than this... In the heart of Cape Town, MannaBay has just eight uniquely designed suites that set the bar for contemporary luxury. From this prime setting on the border of the Table Mountain National Park with suites becoming of Persian Princes, Orchid Hunters and Heroic Explorers alike, you can experience the Mother City in sheer comfort and privacy, with a team of friendly staff dedicated to making every guest's experience as special as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your MannaBay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
MannaBay Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing