We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is beyond fantastic--one of the best we've stayed at...EVER!”
Review of MannaBay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
MannaBay
Ranked #2 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
“This is beyond fantastic--one of the best we've stayed at...EVER!”
Reviewed July 27, 2011

This is a hotel that meets and exceeds every expectation we have in a place where we would want to stay. The amenities are all exceptional, of course, to the point of opulence. But it is the people who run it who made this a fairy-tale experience that we have not experienced in 30 yrs of travel in more than 30 countries across 4 continents. My wife and I look for unique staying experiences, unusual B&B's for the most part, to make our travel experiences uniquely memorable, mainly because the big brand names do not give you the personal, family-atmosphere and feel of a B&B. However, we do not do this at the expense of comfort or cleanliness, of course.
Needless to say, the Manna Bay not only put the big brand names to shame in terms of the quality of its accommodations, it eclipsed any B&B we've stayed at when it came to attentiveness and warmth of service. Jean-Marie and Madre, the hostesses whose only desire is to make sure that you lack for nothing, are two of the loveliest people you will ever meet. And the high tea..what can I say, other than its to die for. Particularly after a tiring day spent sightseeing, to return to such a sumptuous meal, is just amazing.
Don't miss it--it is the highlight of the day.
I cannot say enough about how wonderful our stay was. Thank you, Jean Marie and Madre, for making it so. We will not forget you and we fully intend to not only return, but recommend it to others of our family who plan to visit South Africa.
Well worth the money spent!

Room Tip: We stayed at the largest suite , the Explorer, with a huge bathroom and balcony but all rooms are sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harsha_Rao13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    427
    10
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
43
302
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2011

Stayed 6 nights at MannaBay in Cape Town with wife and two teenagers. Absolutely fabulous time in every respect. The management staff, Margaret and Jean Marie, were extremely attentive to our needs helping to arrange tours, make reservations, reserve tee times, purchase tickets to attractions, and give advice on what to do. Have never been taken care of as well anywhere in the world. The hotel offered tea in the afternoon, cocktails in the evening, and the full breakfast in the morning was delicious. Especially thanks to Shadrack and Pierce who made us feel welcome and provided fabulous service. Everyone was so friendly and eager to help. The location of the hotel is perfect, the views of Cape Town from the rooms excellent, and there was ready access to city center and the Waterfront. The beds were very comfortable, the hotel quiet, and the showers were like standing in a warm rain shower. Very safe and secure neighborhood although we never felt threatened anywhere in Cape Town - the comments about crime and safety noted throughout the internet are greatly exaggerated. You just have to be aware and smart about your destinations. The staff were eager to offer advice in this respect as well.

Overall, this hotel was comfortable and great in everyway. We felt at home throughout our stay. However, what makes this property truely exceptional is the wonderful staff. We felt they were truly invested in making our stay as great as possible, and they succeeded beyond our expectations. You will not find a better experience anywhere.

Room Tip: Fabulous views from the Black & White room. This room can be connected as a family suite with t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler54601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2011

Stayed at Manna Bay for two nights on a Cape Town getaway: perfect place to unwind and relax. Impeccable service, spectacular views over the city bowl, a hop and a skip to city centre and waterfront, great lounges for mooching in, beautiful rooms with eclectic and sumptuous decor, and all in all just what the doctor ordered. From taxi and restaurant bookings, scrumptious high tea with bubbles, to late night whisky, we were beautifully looked after. Would highly recommend this to leisure and business visitors alike.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 100roaringlions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2011

I am very sadly about to pack my bags and head home down the road (yes! I live just down the road but felt like a million miles away here). But before I did I just wanted to let you know very quickly about my amazing stay- as it proved to be the much needed 'me' time that I needed to clear my head and work on some projects and revitalize and re-energise. MannaBay truly is the most beautiful place. The high tea was fantastic (the sweet jars just cruel though!), ambiance and atmosphere heavenly, the rooms- well I could have just easily stayed in my room the whole time! and the service outstanding- Pierce, Simon and Jean Marie were unbelievable (a special mention to Pierce for looking after myself and my guests so well!).

I would highly recommend this to any traveler or just any city dweller needing some TLC and to be treated not only like royalty but almost like family in your own ( exceptionally nice) home

Thanks so much for the great stay guys!

Room Tip: every room is magic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markbland6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2011

If you are looking for a luxurious night at a beautiful hotel in Cape Town then look no further. The MannaBay Fine Boutique Hotel offers the highest in quality whilst overlooking the stunning cityscape. From the moment you step foot into the hotel you are hit by the elegant and modern design that graces the open, yet cozy, spaces. The open bar/lounge area being the epitome of this design offering stunning views overlooking Cape Town, as well the incredible wall-sized mural of the city itself. Overall, the hotel creates a warm and welcoming environment for all visitors.

The service at MannaBay is friendly, if not a bit overwhelming. The staff is so willing to help, that at times my wife and I felt pressured to utilize their services, when we really just wanted to relax and enjoy the hotel.

The location is close enough to all the highlights of the city without being overwhelming, and allows for an escape without giving up all proximity to the amenities of city life.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WoodNUFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2011

Being in the travel and tourism industry I have travelled to many an exotic place and stayed in many Five star hotels. Manna Bay is truly a home away from home but with all the finest finishes you could imagine. The staff are super friendly and always willing to help. The decor unique and refreshing and each of the rooms lovely. Let alone the amazing City views. Living in Cape Town and getting the chance to stay at such an amazing property was such a treat! It just made me fall in love with the Mother City and its people all over again. Thank you Manna Bay for a perfect "night" in the City!

Room Tip: I love the Versailles Suite and Pom Pom rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliakobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2011

Absolutely the most fabulous place to stay! The decor was unique, with every room interesting and different. I travelled with my sister, elderly mom (80 years), and her friend. The staff were so attentive to all of our needs/wants, and yet, they felt like friends! We had great food, a wonderful view, daily nightcaps, and high tea that we "hightailed" it back for every day! MannaBay, you are at the top of our list to visit again!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hongkonglori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard31CapeTown, General Manager at MannaBay, responded to this review, February 24, 2011
Thank you for the kind words, we do hope you return soon!
regards The MannaBay Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,404 reviews
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
646 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,028 reviews
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,600 reviews
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MannaBay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MannaBay

Property: MannaBay
Address: 8 Bridle Road | Oranjezicht, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — MannaBay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can't get much closer to Table Mountain than this... In the heart of Cape Town, MannaBay has just eight uniquely designed suites that set the bar for contemporary luxury. From this prime setting on the border of the Table Mountain National Park with suites becoming of Persian Princes, Orchid Hunters and Heroic Explorers alike, you can experience the Mother City in sheer comfort and privacy, with a team of friendly staff dedicated to making every guest's experience as special as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your MannaBay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
MannaBay Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing