We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value, lovely views and amazing staff.”
Review of Amber Tree Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amber Tree Lodge
Reviewed November 30, 2010

Stayed here with a friend for 4 nights and had a spectacular time. This hotel is extremely modern with all the typical amenities (internet, internet) but the difference is the quality staff running the place. Steven and Wayne went above and beyond in making our stay as comfortable as possible. We booked a great wine tour with them, and they also suggested some great sights as well as some amazing restaurants.

I've stayed in a variety of hotel/b&bs/hostels across 6 continents and this was one of the best!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nelsoneye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (277)
There are newer reviews for Amber Tree Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

235 - 241 of 277 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2010

Stayed 3 nights during the world cup and was delighted they didn't hike up the rate like so many other locations.

Staff/owners were brilliant, sat and had a great chat, watched the football, made sure everything was spot on. Treated to a beer on arrival and a braai on the second night along with basic breakfast, tea/coffee and wifi made it a really friendly and open place which meant it was easy to relax. There was a young family with a child staying but all the guests were very accommodating so all seemed very welcome.

Dorms, communal rooms and the bathroom facilities were all high quality. Comfortable beds and lounge with plenty of space, large garden and balcony with a perfect view of mountain.

Just 2 minutes from nearest supermarket for any supplies and 4 mins to the top of Long Street. Much better than the hotel-lodge i stayed at the year before, a lot less pretentious and much, much cheaper.
I liked everything about this place and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcmush2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2010

Myself and my partner stayed here in September for 4 nights and loved it. The place has only been open for 5 months (it is a bazbus drop off) so everything is very clean and new, bedrooms are sizeable and bathroom and kitchen facilities are excellent. The price is also really cheap for cape town (they offer 3 nights for price of 2), and they even offer free breakfast and wifi. Location wise, it's right in the centre with loads of trendy bars and restaurants only a couple of minutes walk away - the hostel even has a balcony with terrific views of table mountain. Staff are also really friendly and helpful, really couldn't speak highly enough of the place, would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A_Northerner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: En famille, éviter peut être le dortoir
  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank borisbougault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: La planta superior esta mas alejada de las zonas comunes. Pero todo es muy tranquilo.
  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Adrian_elche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Doppelzimmer inkl. eigenem Bad
  • Stayed: March 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Annalena O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2016, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rutger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.7 mi away
Cape Town Lodge
Cape Town Lodge
#78 of 111 in Cape Town Central
703 reviews
1.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#70 of 111 in Cape Town Central
343 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hippo Boutique Hotel
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#53 of 111 in Cape Town Central
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#62 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,012 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ashanti Lodge Gardens
Ashanti Lodge Gardens
#11 of 128 in Cape Town Central
519 reviews
0.7 mi away
Daddy Long Legs Art Hotel
Daddy Long Legs Art Hotel
#74 of 111 in Cape Town Central
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amber Tree Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amber Tree Lodge

Address: 10 Kloof Nek Road, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 128 Specialty Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $19 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Amber Tree Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amber Tree Lodge Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing