We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended”
Review of Amber Tree Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amber Tree Lodge
Fayetteville, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
Reviewed October 29, 2011

Service, location, facilities--all exceptional. Steven, the owner, and Wayne, the manager, deliver a Ritz Carlton level of service; my bag was lost during a layover in Johannesburg and when it arrived in CT Wayne phoned a friend to drive me for about 1/2 of what I would have otherwise paid a cab. Steve and Wayne are happy to act as a personal concierge, recommending various things to do in and around CT depending on the length of your stay. I could go on but let me finish by stating that the next time I visit CT, I will without a doubt book a spot at Amber Tree Lodge!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    24
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
82
80
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
Reviewed October 22, 2011

Super clean and very comfortable hostel in a nice area of Cape Town. The atmosphere was friendly and we were given lots of tips. Thank you very much for all.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erwan_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 16, 2011

Spotlessly clean. Good location. Knowledgeable and amiable host Stephen. Great common areas (with Table Mountain views). Good restaurants and bars 40 metres away but the location is still quiet.This lodge has it all and I would recommend it without hesitation.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justin d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich, Zurich, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2011

we have got so many TIPS ! from Steven and Wayne !
where we should STAY at the Garden Route......and each place was GREAT !
that was a perfect Start for us... for more Travelling..... ;-)
you guys were great, thank you for all your time

we looking forward for other GOOD Hostels -

Take care ! Monika + Patrick

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoBu78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed October 7, 2011

Nice location, helpfull staff, clean rooms, not to crowded, good place to relax. Wayne & stephen for president!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bert1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2011

Having completed a 3 week tour of South Africa we wanted somewhere to relax before flying home and boy did we find it in Amber Tree Lodge. The welcome was exceptional and the lodge was very clean, organised, safe and relaxing - just what we wanted.
The location is great, close enough to walk to most places but away from the noisy/busy areas and Stephan and Wayne could not have been more helpful, particularly in terms of advice.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAPeters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

This was our first venture as a couple into south africa and it couldn't be better with Stephen being the friendly host of Amber Tree Lodge. The moment we arrived, we were personally greeted and shown around the place which would eventually turn out to be the best backpackers' we've ever stayed in. Amenities were ample and it gave an overall homefeel with the lounge being extra cosy. If you are not satisfied with the helpful insights of Stephen there are tonnes of books and brochures that can be casually found everywhere. We also enjoyed laying on the comfortable maroon couch in the balcony after a day out in cape town. It was amazing how we gazed at the lovely backdrop without minding the time. I would say it's a loss if you gave Amber Tree Lodge a pass.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasmineeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
0.1 mi away
Hippo Boutique Hotel
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#52 of 109 in Cape Town Central
358 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cape Town Lodge
Cape Town Lodge
#74 of 109 in Cape Town Central
692 reviews
1.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#67 of 109 in Cape Town Central
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside
0.8 mi away
Parliament Hotel
Parliament Hotel
#36 of 109 in Cape Town Central
580 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ashanti Lodge Gardens
Ashanti Lodge Gardens
#11 of 128 in Cape Town Central
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amber Tree Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amber Tree Lodge

Property: Amber Tree Lodge
Address: 10 Kloof Nek Road, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 128 Specialty Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Amber Tree Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amber Tree Lodge Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing