We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic cruise”
Review of Tigresse Catamaran

Tigresse Catamaran
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The boat is docked at the V&A Waterfront in down town Cape Town.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Romantic cruise”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We went on a sunset cruise to Camps Bay and it was magical. The sea became the most beautiful colour, we were served champagne and the boat is very luxurious.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    12
    4
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“We bring them clients. Then they don't keep their word and make us pay.”
Reviewed May 4, 2012

We are guest house owners. I made a booking to bring them 8 adults + 4 kids. As a reward, my wife, my baby and I could benefit from a free ride. Unfortunately, when we got there, the lady told us that she didn't make that promise. Some one else did. She told us we also had to pay. Needless to say, I took the whole group to the other catamaran where they gave us an even better deal than what we had originally negotiated with Tigresse

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank hypokuus2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great Sunset cruise”
Reviewed January 26, 2012

If the south easter is not howling then this is a MUST on your itinarery in Cape Town.

Helpful?
Thank JolizeSheri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“OK but watch the weather and the passangers”
Reviewed January 20, 2012

This is a large catamaran that sails from Cape Town Waterfront. Tigresse seats between 40 - 60 passengers. That makes the Tigresse the largest sailing catamaran in Africa. I was looking forward to this trip but there were problems:
** Overcrowding: the vessel was filled to the brim with very noisy kids and adults. The noise was unbearable and people were jockeying for seats.
** Bar poor: no service
** Watch the weather: if its choppy in Table Bay, do not buy a ticket if you don't want to get seasick

Pluses: exciting, fast vessel, great views, good crew

Worth it on a calm day.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank piet10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Not recommended”
Reviewed January 15, 2012

This is a large impressive vessel and a reasonable way of viewing Table Mountain from the bay.

However there are a number of cons:
- very noisy and over-crowded
- quite uncomfortable
- can be an overwhelming number of unrestrained children if you hit the
wrong day or the wrong group
- poor service (a beer if you're lucky)
- do not go on anything but a calm day - or you'll be sorry

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank piet10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tigresse Catamaran also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Tigresse Catamaran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing