We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere at a great price”

Rick's Cafe Americain
Ranked #46 of 1,147 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $12
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: City Bowl
Description: Walking into Rick's Cafe has the same feeling as walking into a friend's home for dinner. The ambiance is comfortable to say the least with decor reminiscent of the movie classic "Casablanca" with its stylish colonial Moroccan tones accompanied by lounge music filtering through the 100 year old Victorian building,Immerse yourself in warm ambiance and eclectic decor in our 80 seater restaurant with its 3 fireplaces and bar, or enjoy the relaxed, vibey loft lounge and cocktail bar spilling out onto a roof deck with breathtaking views of the mountains.Our award winning selection of wines is sure to suit all tastes and features a wide selection by the carafe, we also offer a wide variety of local and imported Beers (now over 40!), Mexican and local Tequilas, Vodkas,Single Malts, Bourbons and Liquors. The menu presents a seasonal selection of Global tapas and a wide variety of dishesranging from mouth watering salads, Gourmet burgers, fresh seafood, matured Steaks and Moroccan and Mediterranean specialties - "we serve Comfort food" So come relax and enjoy yourself with either lunching on the veranda, sipping sundownerson the roof deck or enjoy a delicious meal inside this historical cottage, and we will guarantee you'll want to "play it again" We all look for that place to recommend as being "my favourite place", well in this case you might just have found it."So... Here is looking at you kid."
Imperial, Nebraska
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere at a great price”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Great people watching, the place is always packed. Snag a seat in the bar if you can (unless you're anti smoke). Food is average, service can be slow, but don't plan to rush through this experience. We enjoyed wasting away rainy afternoons here. Riblet starter is recommended.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BriannaNicolle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    240
    193
    50
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“FANTASTIC”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Been wanting to write this for sometime now.

I have been to Rick's Cafe 3 times and each time it has been fantastic.

Everyone one of my friends cannot wait to go back.

Look so forward to joining them again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tania M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food, good safe area, nice view”
Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

The food was good , the area was safe to walk in. We stayed at Cape Town backpackers which is about 2 minutes walk away and they sent us here, we're glad they did. It seemed like half the hostel was on here! Great place

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tomsworld2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
95 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A surprising find”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stumbled into Rick's for a late dinner when most other options were closed. We were afraid it was going to be mediocre, with its possibly touristy theme, but we were very pleasantly surprised with the food. A beet and goat cheese salad was excellent, a lamb tagine was great, and a fish special was also quite nice. The margarita was excellent.

On a second visit, however, it impressed a bit less. The margarita was still quite good, but the beet salad seemed completely different - far less arugula and beets, which was disappointing. The burger was good, but a bit overcooked. Maybe it was just an off night though; I'd give it another try.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SoreA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dinner Plain, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good for any occasion, any time of the day”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Of all the gin joints in Cape Town this is the one to walk into. Why? Because you can come for a coffee, a drink, a snack, a meal or a party. There's a veranda in front and an upstairs terrace at the back, offering comfortable spaces for smokers. Or you can sit in one of the indoor dining areas or lounges. You can choose between Moroccan, European and American style food. The kitchen is good, the service is good and everything's done with a touch of humour and an impeccable eye for detail.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Dododog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rick's Cafe Americain also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Rick's Cafe Americain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing