We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Steak lovers must not miss this”
Review of HQ

HQ
Ranked #299 of 1,148 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Bar, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: One item on menu, steak and chips!
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Steak lovers must not miss this”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

No menu choices to fret over, not even a menu! Simple salad followed by a perfect sirloin steak and fries. I'm told they have a vegetarian option but I can't imagine why a vegetarian would set foot in this restaurant. I'm also told they buy the country's entire allocation of Namibian sirloin. Didn't see the wine list because I was with a wine guy who brought his own. The restaurant seating area is relatively small and noisy. The bar area is as large as the restaurant but was not busy when I was there. Summary: I loved it! The best beef I had in a week in Cape Town. I will be back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Earl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    78
    44
    29
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zwolle, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Simple but excellent”
Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

Steak and chips!! Yummm.
Not the most romantic place if you want to have some privacy but the food is excellent and plenty of it!! Looking forward to go back.

Helpful?
Thank Albert-jan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Level Contributor
237 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“best monday night capetown cbd value!”
Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

A nice steak restaurant with a modern decor in a historic building in the central business district. The very courteous and efficent staff was lovely enough to fit us in and we got a table without a reservation on the busiest night of the week with a minimum wait. Monday nights they have two seatings - 6 pm and 8 pm - and half price dinner, so they are always sold out! We arrived at 6:30 pm to a full house but got the pair upstairs that is the only table not reserved, so you can linger and truly dine. Wine list is good with a good variety of South African wines. Menu was pris fixe with salad, steak and fries. Vinagret salad dressing, crispy fries, steak done perfectly, made for a very nice dinner and great value. Pam Mac band was the icing on the cake of the evening. She isn't there every Monday night (only about every third) but worth trying to schedule catching her because her arrangements and range were magnificent and only enhanced the evening. When you are traveling internationally and want great value, there is nonwhere better...enjoy and appreciate!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ginna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What's better than too much choice...”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

No choice. Something about this place that makes me smile - in a Henry Ford, screw you and your consumerism ways. We do salad, sirloin and chips. Don't like it?...Bye. The ideal establishment for any indecisive people out there. Based on one of my favourite Marylebone restaurants - Entrecote. There you get some nasty ice cream thrown in as well as the rudest French waiting staff in the known western world. As much as it may make the ambiance, I am glad that HQ hasn't replicated that element. Staff are friendly, and there always seems to be some sort of entertainment thrown in on respective nights. I am not one for specials, but I would go on a Monday just because of the buzzy atmosphere with hip Capetonians looking for free meat. A real locals favourite...

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
“Not to be missed!”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Mouth-watering steak (and chocolate fondant), world class cocktails, efficient service and great ambience make this a dining experience not to be missed. Will definitely be back!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Uneeda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed HQ also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to HQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing