We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NICE”

Urban Hip Icon Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Urban Hip Icon Hotel
Ranked #91 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Port Harcourt, Nigeria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“NICE”
Reviewed January 27, 2012

Very nice hotel in a very central and location. Only check-in was poor cos the front desk attendant was not aware there was a currency exchange right across the street from the hotel. She sent us off on a wild goose chase to Georges' square (almost 400m off-course). Other than that everything else was good. Its a spaciuos hotel apartment, with enough kitchen equipment to make your temporary stay very comfortable. There were security guards on duty all the time. Point to note for Naija's: If you need to cook with Palm Oil, keep your doors and windows wide open, their smoke detectors are efficient.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MOJ-ON-D-MOVE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    14
    7
    0
    2
See reviews for
10
5
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2012

I've just spent 5 days at the Icon in Cape town, with my wife and 3 kids, and it served our purpose very well. We wanted a place for having our own breakfast and light meals, and, having a rather large family, we prefer apartment arrangements to hotels rooms in order to have more flexibility and space. The 2 bedroom apartment was well furnished, but the level of maintenance is down since I was here 2 years ago. The facilities are ok, with a swimming pool and fitness room, but the internet solution available (charges per Mb!!!) is unacceptable and works poorly. It is a good bang for the buck for a larger group, but the overall infrastructure has decreased its standard since my 1st stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pjancso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

The room is large, well equipped (really, there is a Flat TV with a Home Theather in the room), spacious and very comfortable. Staff is friendly and helpful. No restaurant or room service though. The pool is a bit... lame.

But if you want a nice large apartment in the heart of Cape Town, you can't do better!

PS: Not related to the hotel: be wary of cabs in Cape Town, they basically charge you whatever they want and their meters may not be accurate at all.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArielSbg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2012

We recently stayed for 4 days and it was a very good location. Approximately 15 - 20 minutes walk to the V & A. Rooms were very clear and spaceous. Would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLLangford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jozi
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 6, 2011

We recently spent a night in Cape Town and stayed at the Urban Hip Icon Hotel in Lower Long Street. An awesome city stay when in Cape Town. Walking distance to most attractions - great rooms and facilities.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickyhJozi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
2 reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2011

For those of you who don't know Cape Town, this hotel is right in the center of the city bowl. It is probably one of the best located hotels in Cape Town at affordable prices. The apartments are self catering which is great, especially if like us you have lived out of a suitcase and restaurant food for breakfast lunch and dinner the 2 weeks before.
Below the hotel is a centre with a grocery store, Vida cafe and a dry cleaner. The staff are super accommodating and parking is secure. There is also a fully equipped gym and an outdoor swimming pool. all and all it was a great stay in Cape Town.

Room Tip: Indicate whether you want a twin or double bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank henri b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
163 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2011

I stayed here on a recent trip to Cape Town. On previous trips I've always stayed at boutique hotels , but decided to try The Icon this time ,so I booked a 2 bed apartment .
Location was fantastic , easy to get to and from , and close to everything . Parking was safe and secure in the building. The apartment itself was beautiful and clean , the beds were very comfortable with crisp white bedding, and we had a balcony with city views. The Icon offers excellent value for money.
I can highly recommend staying here !

Room Tip: Ask for a corner apartment which i believe are bigger than avarage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeaDream2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Hollow On The Square Cape Town C...
#75 of 106 in Cape Town Central
81 reviews
AHA Harbour Bridge Hotel & Suite...
#65 of 106 in Cape Town Central
342 reviews
City Bowl
Grand Daddy Hotel
Grand Daddy Hotel
#57 of 106 in Cape Town Central
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southern Sun Cape Sun
#35 of 106 in Cape Town Central
836 reviews
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#34 of 106 in Cape Town Central
935 reviews
The New Tulbagh Hotel
#95 of 106 in Cape Town Central
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Urban Hip Icon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Urban Hip Icon Hotel

Property: Urban Hip Icon Hotel
Address: Corner of Lower Long Street and Hans Strydom | Foreshore, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Urban Hip Icon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Urban Hip Icon Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing