We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Indian food”
Review of Bombay Brasserie

Bombay Brasserie
Ranked #62 of 1,147 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $39
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Luxury dining meets fine Indian cuisine at the Bombay Brasserie where every meal is a gastronomic journey through a delicate melody of flavours. Contemporary Indian dining at its best. We also offer an award winning wine list, local craft beers, valet parking and large groups up to 8 guests.
Florence
Level Contributor
102 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful Indian food”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

This restaurant is expensive but worth it. They never fail to satisfy us. The corn soup, lamb cutlets and fish curry can be highly recommended. Best Dahl I have ever tasted

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bjk852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    291
    63
    30
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Lovely spot”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We enjoyed dinner here - wonderful decor, not outsized portions, excellent service and superb Indian cuisine. Highly recommended, esp if you stay at the Taj Hotel!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank ObjectiveTruth13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Level Contributor
69 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent quality Indian”
Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

We went on a Sunday when they had a choice of a prix fix set menu and were offering off some of their bin end wines, we had a fantastic night and the food was sublime one of the best if not the bet Indians we have ever had. The location in the taj hotel is great for after dinner drinks too. Defiantly worth a visit.

Helpful?
Thank Jonty13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Arguably the best Indian restaurant outside India !!”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

My wife and myself dined here twice in late November, 2012. The food was outstanding and the service was efficient. Eugene, the hands on manager, was always there when you needed him.

We rate this restaurant as possibly the best Indian restaurant that we have eaten in outside of India. Barring Dosa (veg + non veg) in San Francisco, no other Indian restaurant can come close, in our experience. Most, in fact, serve "pretend" Indian food :-)

We ate here twice. Some of the dishes we tried were :- a) Chicken Malai Kebabs (9/10) b) Dum Ghosh (karoo lamb) Biryani (7.5/10) c) Bhuna Ghosh (8/10) d) Butter Chicken (7.5/10)
e) Lamb shanks (8/10) f) Aloo paratha (7.5/10) not on the menu, but the chef obliged us. The dahi puri served to us "gratis" was also very good.

I have to mention that for a restaurant of this class and ambience, the prices were very reasonable indeed. All in all, excellent Indian food (not greasy, not unduly pungent), superb service, great ambience and very reasonable prices. A winner, if there ever was one.
Good show, Eugene !! Good show, Chef !! Keep up the standards !!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carlos501b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good food. Yet disappointing.”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We had booked Bombay Brasserie in advance of our trip. But we did not realize until sitting down that the Sunday menu is limited to just two choices of fixed menus. Very disappointing as we were hungry and looking forward to trying a number of dishes. The food we had was of good quality but lacked the spice I look forward to with Indian food. The kulfi to finish was very nice though.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank RogerLC444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bombay Brasserie also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Bombay Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing