We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Biscuit Mill a Fun Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Old Biscuit Mill

Old Biscuit Mill
Book In Advance
More Info
$290.77*
and up
Private Tour: Woodstock Day Trip from Cape Town
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
181 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Old Biscuit Mill a Fun Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

We visited the Old Biscuit Mill on a Saturday morning, well, it's only open on Saturdays, in May during our time in Cape Town. Our private guide, Zakkie Parker, took us there on our way to the winelands. I don't know if we would have gone if we had been on our own but what a fun place. I had read about in the guide book but didn't have it down to see. Thank heavens, Zakkie di!
Vendors set up their food, drinks, samples of fruit, cheeses, and fresh foods, like a super market all under this one roof. What an experience to walk around and see the various kinds of food! There were so many ethnic foods to try as well, and it was a fun morning.
It was great to meet the locals as well and a few college students. We had some crepes with eggs and ham rolled up, fresh squeezed o.j, coffee and just soaked up the atmosphere.
It was chilly and rainy that day but we loved it! I think many people may miss this but they should put in on the things to do while in Cape Town. What a treat!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneTucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    786
    367
    127
    22
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, Florida
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fresh Food Fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

So much food, so many people, so many choices, so much fun! Go hungry, conserve your calories before you go because you will get a whopping case of the hungries at this super food festival. So many ethnic offerings eaten by so many different ethnics and everyone having the best time. If you are in Capetown treat yourself to this les than serious venue for foodies. It's the best!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveleenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upington, Northern Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
152 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Not to be missed when in Cape Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

Best local dishes and more. Saterday morning well spend. Good food of all cultures and good wine and local beer. Festive atmosphere and just a joll.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Riël G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aptos, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very hip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

This is a very hip market in Woodstock. Go there hungry and not only do they have cool local crafts but a food area which is delightful. Have a cider and a prosciutto sandwich drizzled in balsamic reduction and watch the many shoppers spending their rand. You will enjoy hanging with the locals and tourists.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank drjohnrx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“FREAKING AMAZING”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

Take money and an empty stomach! The food is the best I have ever tasted! Have the Dim Sum! and the Rosti! such amazing stalls that we had to roll out of there

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jayshal K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Biscuit Mill also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Old Biscuit Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing