We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Need to try it at least once!”

Bombay Bicycle Club
Ranked #139 of 1,156 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: City Bowl
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Need to try it at least once!”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Although Bombay may not be to everyone's taste, I love it. The food is amazing, especially the chili chocolate steak and the ribs (even if slightly pricey) and we've always received good service. It is a great place for a fun night out with a group where you can enjoy the vibe, decor, food and just have fun.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank happyann3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    143
    40
    25
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kenridge, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Bohemian Delight”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

We loved the Bohemian ambiance and the food was absolutely incredible.

Service was not the best, but food and ambiance made up for it. Awesome venue for a get together with friends. Not for the pretentious café sociaty crowd.
Absolutely loved the area with swing seats. Such a brilliant idea.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank CarFunSale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Quirky Place With Great Menu”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Great atmosphere if you are not claustrophobic though. Very friendly staff. Menu is a photo album that looks hand made and the food menu looked awesome, pity we didn't have time to eat and only found the place on our last night after supper on the way home. Worth seeking out.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Albundy1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oranjezicht, Western Cape, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Substance Surprise”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

There's no need to go into detail about style (you can read plenty on that topic). Whatever your opinion on the trendy restaurants in the Madame Zingara stable, the substance ie. the food, is consistently excellent - hard to deny that. Admittedly I haven't explored the whole menu - always find myself ordering the mouth-watering Surf and Turf.

Although always jam-packed we've never booked, and somehow always been lucky and seated at the same table in the tiny triangular "honeymoon suite" upstairs. For such a busy restaurant the service is not bad.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Cape, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“If you want volume this is the place for you!”
Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

This is a quirky, fun restaurant with pleasant service (slightly slow ) and huge portions of relatively tasty food. I wouldn't eat here again and I wouldn't recommend it as a tourist, but if I lived in the area and it was my local restaurant if probably go there a few times. Not my cup of tea but overall a positive experience.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hibiscus2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bombay Bicycle Club also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Bombay Bicycle Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing