We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of Cape Towns Breakfast Gems”
Review of Shelley's - CLOSED

Shelley's
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: City Bowl
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“One of Cape Towns Breakfast Gems”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Don't know what Ivan C is talking about, must have been an off day!
We went for breakfast on a Sunday morning (early October) and everything was fantastic.
From the Street Shelley's looks small, an Old House on Kloof street, but once inside, one's first impression is that the Christmas decorations have been put up too early, but this is not the case. All the rooms are light, bright and beautifully - artfully decorated. The breakfast was tasty, with a fresh portion of healthy salads, perfect for "Brunch".
Service was a little slow, but the food was well worth the wait.
Their cakes look amazing and I would love to try their lunch menu!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fttt2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    6
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cute but enter at your own risk”
Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

Shelleys looks cute, but the sad truth is that it is dysfunctional and as frustrating a restaurant as you'll ever find in Cape Town. The menu is unreadable. The waitrons are stretched to capacity. Ambiance is almost non existent. The only thing one hears over the soft wails of David Gret are the anguished moans of hungry and annoyed patrons.

Helpful?
Thank Ivan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, British Columbia, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Breakfast to remember!”
Reviewed July 28, 2012

My older daughter had lived in CT for a year and suggested a few places to eat. Shelly's was a must for breakfast, she told us. We almost didn't make it but we are so glad we took the time. The decor itself is funky, exquisite and fascinating all at once. It was still decorated for Christmas when we were there and every room was decorated artfully and amazing!! the best part was enjoying our amazing Eggs Benedict on the porch with the morning sun kept at bay by a big umbrella. We all really enjoyed this experience.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Restingplace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Average”
Reviewed May 6, 2012 via mobile

Tne service was sufficient but the portions are on the small side and the produce is not extremely fresh. Average food for a high price.

Helpful?
Thank Nikolaitobie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Worst dinner in Cape Town”
Reviewed April 16, 2012

I had the worst dinner in Cape Town here once. The service was the slowest and most dysfunctional of any restaurant I've ever been too. For example, the watress took 20 minutes to see us after seating us, took another 10-15 to come back, and then after we showed her our wine we brought, she came back 10 minutes later and gave us the corkscrew without opening the wine and ran off again!! I ordered a pasta with squid ink, and when it came over an hour after we came, it came out cold and inedible. The feeling of the restaurant was mutually felt, I believe, as people were surprised at the service and food. It looks cute, but it's really, really not worth going to unless they improve drastically. There are other decent options this high up on Kloof (though better food is to be found below, except for Toni's and the French restaurant up the street, which is decent French).

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brebenne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shelley's also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing