We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel rooms and staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Ranked #43 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

Hotel had beautiful spacious rooms comfy beds friendly helpful hotel staff. Free town car to waterfront. Central city location. Would recommend this hotel if you wanted to stay in the city. If you rather stay near the sea try stay in bantry bay

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Melanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,375)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

791 - 797 of 1,375 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2014

Apart from the friendly, very helpful staff,this hotel fell short of the standards I have experienced previously at hotels owned by the Hilton. We are not Executive or Gold Members but people travelling with us, who had access to the Executive Lounge and dining facilities had a very different, more enjoyable experience during the week we were there. Breakfasts in the main part of the hotel were very good and service excellent but the only evening meal we enjoyed was in the Indian restaurant which was excellent However eat early- the night we visited a large family group arrived and descended on the buffet table like gannets. The staff very kindly recooked some dishes so we could taste a range of dishes but we did have to wait for the freshly cooked food. Breakfast take away menu disappointing - there was no spoon to eat the yoghurt,straw to drink the juice, the coffee was cold and the meat was warm.
Next time we visit Cape Town we will choose an hotel In the Victoria and Alfred complex so we have the freedom to come and go as we please, particularly in the evenings, and not rely on the shuttle bus, which finishes at 6pm and taxies

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking pool, or if this is not possible a room near the top of the building with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beverley178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcSchumacher, General Manager at Hilton Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

I am pleased to learn that you enjoyed our friendly and helpful team members as well as our main breakfast selection and dinner options. It is with regret that you did not have the same experience with the breakfast take away menu. I have relayed your comment to the Food & Beverage Manager who will review the offer accordingly.

Benefits for members of our loyalty program HHonors, as recognition for our guests’ patronage, are being delivered at our property according to brand guidelines.

Thank you for staying with us and I hope that my team and I will have the opportunity to redeem our services to you at some point in the future.

With my personal regards,

Marc O. Schumacher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We used this hotel as our 'base' for a recent trip to South Africa, staying at the hotel three times over the space of two weeks.

Location is really convenient for access to the Gardens and Museums (five minutes walk), quick drive down to the V&A Waterfront (5 minutes drive) as well as close to Table Mountain cableway etc. If you have a car, the parking underneath the hotel is safe and secure.

We had two interconnecting rooms for all of our visits which worked really well as we're travelling with kids who need their own beds and are too old to share with us. Some of the rooms were looking a little tired in places, fitting worn here and there by generally in a good condition. One thing which they do lack is storage space! Not a problem if you're a business traveller there for a few days, but if you've got suitcases of clothes, there's not much hanging space and little (no) drawer space.

Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful (especially the team at breakfast), but the concierges do need to up their game. Sunday nights, most of the restaurants in the CBD area are closed - they should really know that since the hotel is right there in the CBD!!! But they dutifully called around to see if they could make reservations. Do they know of any good restaurants over in Camps Bay? No, sorry, don't know.

There are some really good restaurants in the area, all within walking distance - if you're a 'meat' fan, check out 'Carne' and '95' in Keerom Street - but you do need to book.

All in all, a good hotel to use as base.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Located on the edge of BoKaap, it is easy to get to all of the Cape Town attractions. Hotel is clean and comfortable. Travel desk staff are very aggressive, but not well-informed. Executive Lounge staffers are wonderful.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank B8620IPbarbaras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Great, personalized service. I am a Hilton Honors Gold member and I've been received at many hotels worldwide with differentiated courtesy, this was is been the best so far. I got upgraded and with the best view (Table Mountain) many little perks and great service. I loved the city and had short time to go around and arrange transportation, cars on the front desk were available and affordable (even for business travel, being conscious on the savings is good!). Breakfast and dinning were fine, looks like they just renovated the hotel because it looked brand new for me!.

Room Tip: Facing Table Mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ratalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

The rooms at this Hilton are very clean. What more, the soaps and shampoos that they have for their customers are some of the best I have ever used in any hotel. For the ladies, they have a Facial Soap that is full of moisture by Peter Thomas Roth. You will love it. The rooms are of the right size and the view is amazing. I would visit here any other day whilst in Cape Town.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Mary Wagaki N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We had come off a cruise ship, and were taken to the hotel well before check-in time. The staff were most helpful, going through the formalities with everyone, and where rooms were available, allowing guests to occupy them immediately. Our room was not at the time available, but we were guided to the pool where we had a coffee, before deciding on our sightseeing programme. The concierge arranged for a taxi, and when it was swiped by another predatory guest, made immediate arrangements for a replacement. Our room, once we returned, we found to be excellent. It was comfortable and spacious, and the toiletries and gowns provided of very good quality. A very nice touch was the fireplace, which provided a touch of home to someone who had been travelling for five weeks. Breakfasts were comprehensive, with plentiful fresh and cooked options. On the day of departure we left our luggage while we visited Robben Island before an evening flight. On our return to the hotel we were given keys to the gym to shower and change for our flight, and, a very nice touch, given access once again to Wi-Fi, so that we could catch up with the all that had happened in the world. My overall impression of this hotel is that, yes, it is not situated in best part of town, yes, it is in need of a lick of paint in places, but it possesses a great charm, provides excellent and comfortable services, and has just about the cheeriest, most efficient staff I've encountered in many years of travelling.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Horleylad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.3 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,815 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#45 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,543 reviews
1.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Westin Cape Town
The Westin Cape Town
#28 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,295 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#49 of 110 in Cape Town Central
833 reviews
0.7 mi away
Southern Sun The Cullinan
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#27 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Cape Town City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cape Town City Centre

Address: 126 Buitengracht Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > Schotsche Kloof
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#39 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#40 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $127 - $411 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Cape Town City Centre 5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of South Africa's second largest city at the foot of Table Mountain, the Hilton Cape Town City Centre hotel is only 20 minutes from Cape Town Airport and is close to many shops and businesses, the wine district, a variety of beaches and the National Parliament. All of the modern Guest Rooms at this Cape Town hotel boast large windows, 32-inch LCD TVs and complimentary wireless internet access. Upgrade to an Executive Room for stunning views of Table Mountain or the city and access to the Executive Lounge, with complimentary breakfast, canapés and drinks. Hold a conference for up to 120 guests in one of 6 meeting rooms or 2 board rooms, which offer the very latest in audio/visual technology and ensure your event is a success with our business center. Indulge in an all-day dining experience in the elegant Mezbaan restaurants(Halaal certified by ICSA) and sip cocktails and relax with a fragrant shisha pipe in the exotic Signal Hill Terrace Lounge and Restaurant. Work out in our Fitness Center or soak up the glorious South African sunshine and stunning views of the Bo-Kaap and Table Mountain in the outdoor swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Cape Town City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cape Town City Centre Hotel Cape Town Central
Hilton Cape Town City Centre South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing