We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect combination of service and location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Ranked #43 of 111 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Do yourself a favor and stay here when you visit Cape Town. From the friendliest, most helpful staff you could ever hope to find to food that makes you want to stay in, this hotel is fantastic! One caution for internet junkies, connectivity is the one area this hotel can really improve and ability to make that improvement might be contingent on local service availability. Reconcile yourself to being disconnected on occassion. One other bit of advice, there is a mosque very nearby and prayers are broadcast quite loudly. Do yourself a favor and turn on some form of white noise when you go to bed, unless you need to be up with early morning prayers of course.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Katherin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkusFritz, General Manager at Hilton Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience at Hilton Cape Town City Centre.
Your kind comments and feedback is greatly appreciated and my team and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Markus Fritz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,314)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Cape Town City Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

856 - 862 of 1,314 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stayed at the Hilton on points, so I can't comment on price. Location was great, right in the heart of the city. Walking distance to the harbor, shopping area, and musems. The city is pastel colored, and is best seen from high floors. Table mountain is a short drive, and freeways are nearby to go to Franschhoek and the wine country. Very good concierge lounge with excellent food (limited as concierge lounges are).

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkusFritz, General Manager at Hilton Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at Hilton Cape Town City Centre.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed our prime location in the heart of the city, on the border of the Bo-Kaap district and between the V&A Waterfront and Table Mountain.

Thank you for your kind comments about our culinary offer and service and I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Markus Fritz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

My stay was a pleasant experience and I am certainly a converted Hilton faithful. I even booked my next stay before checking out. The hotel staff were very helpful, enthusiastic and well trained and they helped to make every minute of my stay worth the while. The location of the hotel in a vantage part of Cape Town with the Table Mountains as a backdrop was pure genius and it added in no small measure to the charm of the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Olugbenga Olase... O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkusFritz, General Manager at Hilton Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

I cannot thank you enough for the wonderful review of your recent stay with us.

The fact that you not only recognized but also took the time to comment on your positive experience is just reward for my team’s efforts to provide superior service and hospitality.

Your loyalty is appreciated and my team and I are looking forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Yours Sincerely,

Markus Fritz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Problem with settling credit card charges has led me to dispute US$2,693.79 through my bank officals; this could have easily been avoided by expedient crediting of that amount to my credit card upon checkout, as I was told it was by the hotel receptionist who processed my credit card payment.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Jose S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkusFritz, General Manager at Hilton Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comment on TripAdvisor.

At the outset I would like to sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced due to the described billing error.

I understand that our Front Office Manager has contacted you to resolve the matter and the refund has been processed.

Once again, please accept my apologies for the inconvenience and I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Hilton Cape Town City Centre.

Yours Sincerely,

Markus Fritz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in August and enjoyed it very much. Service is excellent, we had a nice suite on the top floor. Food is also good for a Hotel. They have a shuttle to take you to the Shopping area on the Wharf. Certainly worth looking at since you will not pay the premium to be at the Wharf area.
Close to the Green market and some shopping.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TXtraveler67_71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkusFritz, General Manager at Hilton Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback regarding your recent stay at Hilton Cape Town City Centre.

I am delighted that you enjoyed our complimentary shuttle to the V&A Waterfront and also had the chance to explore shops and places of interest close to the hotel.

Your kind comments about the “excellent” service received are greatly appreciated and I am looking forward to welcoming you back for more Hilton Hospitality in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Markus Fritz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Modern hotel with excellent fitness, business and lounge facilities. The dining experience is exceptional, with choices ranging from Asian, mediteranean to continental europe cuisine. I felt that parking fees were a bit expensive, but the hotel security was excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Mick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkusFritz, General Manager at Hilton Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your great comments on this website, pointing out our fitness, business and lounge facilities. I am particularly pleased that you enjoyed our culinary offer and I will make sure that our Executive Chef receives the compliments.

I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Hilton Cape Town City Centre soon.

Yours Sincerely,

Markus Fritz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We enjoyed an excellent six-night stay at The Hilton Cape Town! Despite arriving early from an international flight, we were allowed to check-in as soon as we arrived at the hotel (~9:30AM). We used a tour company based in The Hilton (MK Exotics) for our transfers to/from the hotel and they provided timely, reliable service at competitive prices.

The Hilton is located near the city center. So, it’s easy to see some of the some sites on foot (i.e., St. George’s Mall; The Company’s Gardens; South African Art Museum; Natural History Museum, etc.). To access the Victoria & Albert Waterfront, the hotel offers a courtesy shuttle which runs from 9:00AM – 6:00PM (to the waterfront on the hour; returning from the Waterfront 15 min. past the hour). You can also walk it once you know the way but be aware of the fact that coming back is uphill.

Our accommodation included access to the Executive Lounge. The Lounge is terrific; one of the best we’ve enjoyed! Breakfast was served until 10:30AM (11:00AM on weekends). There was a cold buffet featuring various cheeses, yogurts, smoked salmon and cold meats. Assorted breads and cereals were available. Hot dishes also were served buffet style: sautéed mushrooms, baked tomatoes, beans, several meats and scrambled eggs. It’s also possible to have eggs prepared to order (they are cooked in the main dining room & brought upstairs). Throughout the day coffee, tea, soft drinks and bottled water are available along with a variety of snacks. Sweets are served late afternoon. Complimentary liquor, wine and beer are available from 6:00PM until 9:00PM – a very long happy hour. Canapes, snacks and several hot dishes are served during happy hour and they were ample and delicious! The staff provided excellent service. Accolades to Lungiswa, Nicia & Zukiswa!

The Hilton is halal (conforms to Muslim dietary requirements) but in no way did it affect our stay. Alcohol is served in two places – the Executive Lounge or the bar on the Mezzanine Level. However, don’t expect to find pork products in the restaurants.

All personnel are professional, friendly and helpful. We would specifically like to recognize the doorman, Jose, and the members of the Concierge Desk who provided excellent guidance on local touring and always had a welcoming smile for everyone!

We enjoyed a great stay and will look forward to returning to The Hilton Cape Town. We highly recommend it!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ExcellentAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkusFritz, General Manager at Hilton Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Hilton Cape Town City Centre with the TripAdvisor Community.

It is such a pleasure to read a review such as yours and to know that our efforts to provide superior service and hospitality are being represented by our team members and in-house tour operator.

I am delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us and cannot thank you enough for all the compliments and kind words about our property and team members. Your report has been shared with the entire team and I will make sure that Lungiswa, Nicia, Zukiswa and Jose are being recognized in particular.

Once again, thank you for this great review and my team and I are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Markus Fritz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,762 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,513 reviews
The Westin Cape Town
#27 of 111 in Cape Town Central
2,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#35 of 111 in Cape Town Central
994 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#29 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,737 reviews
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#46 of 111 in Cape Town Central
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Cape Town City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cape Town City Centre

Address: 126 Buitengracht Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > Schotsche Kloof
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#36 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#40 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#40 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $146 - $458 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Cape Town City Centre 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of South Africa's second largest city at the foot of Table Mountain, the Hilton Cape Town City Centre hotel is only 20 minutes from Cape Town Airport and is close to many shops and businesses, the wine district, a variety of beaches and the National Parliament. All of the modern Guest Rooms at this Cape Town hotel boast large windows, 32-inch LCD TVs and complimentary wireless internet access. Upgrade to an Executive Room for stunning views of Table Mountain or the city and access to the Executive Lounge, with complimentary breakfast, canapés and drinks. Hold a conference for up to 120 guests in one of 6 meeting rooms or 2 board rooms, which offer the very latest in audio/visual technology and ensure your event is a success with our business center. Indulge in an all-day dining experience in the elegant Mezbaan restaurants(Halaal certified by ICSA) and sip cocktails and relax with a fragrant shisha pipe in the exotic Signal Hill Terrace Lounge and Restaurant. Work out in our Fitness Center or soak up the glorious South African sunshine and stunning views of the Bo-Kaap and Table Mountain in the outdoor swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Cape Town City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cape Town City Centre Hotel Cape Town Central
Hilton Cape Town City Centre South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing