We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Director”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Ranked #39 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
JHB, South Africa
1 review
“Director”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

The Hilton is an experience - They stay was aewsome - i strongly recomend the HILTON, the staff as always very friendly. sleep was so good, after a hard days work, the rest is needed and the Hilton provides that exeperience

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Ronnie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkusFritz, General Manager at Hilton Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your Hilton Cape Town City Centre experience with the TripAdvisor Community.

It is a great pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially a good night’s sleep in our comfortable beds after a long day at work.

Once again thank you for your kind comments and I am looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours Sincerely,

Markus Fritz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    591
    445
    140
    64
    44
See reviews for
177
447
97
373
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Darmstadt, Hessen, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

This was a 3 day business trip and with a base level of expectation for a Hilton it seemed like a reasonable choice. The check-in area, whilst friendly was very chaotic. The HHonors priority desk was more of an idea rather than a reality.
The room was great, spacious and clean with a great bathroom. WiFi was free but really slow, there was a paid version that promised faster connections.
The mezzanine bar was a strange place, being part food and part shisha den, with no real atmosphere.
Check-out was just as difficult as check-in.
Car parking was expensive even when just being dropped off at the hotel. Sometimes the ticket would be validated, sometimes not - all at the whim of the desk staff.
Generally the staff were friendly, but the demands of the lounge staff to see room card details on access was borderline rude

Overall, there are lots of alternatives in Cape Town that offer much better value

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkusFritz, General Manager at Hilton Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

I regret to learn that you were not entirely satisfied with your experience and I would like to take this opportunity to sincerely apologize for any inconveniences caused.

We do value your feedback as it enables us to identify areas for improvement. We always endeavor to offer the highest level of service and it would appear that we failed to meet your expectations on this occasion. Your comments will of course be forwarded to the relevant management for their attention.

Your positive comments regarding the friendliness of our team members are appreciated and I do hope that you will offer us the opportunity to redeem our services to you at some point in the future.

Yours Sincerely,

Markus Fritz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley Forge, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

The hotel is located in the business district, a bit out of the way from the Waterfront area. I had a very comfortable room overlooking Table and Signal Mountain. The staff, especially Marcellino (concierge), and Nicia and Stanley in the Executive Lounge were very helpful and engaging. The weather was iffy on the morning I had booked a trip to Robben Island and the concierge was helpful in determining that all the trips that day were cancelled. They assured me that the fee would be credited to my credit card, and it was! Quick and efficient shuttle to and from the waterfront.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ifiwereu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkusFritz, General Manager at Hilton Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor.

I am glad to learn that you enjoyed our comfortable rooms, beautiful views and that our team members made you feel taken care of, in particular Marcelino, Nicia and Stanley.

I have shared your kind comments and my team and I are looking forward to welcoming you back for more Hilton Hospitality in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Markus Fritz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Great location in between Long Street / centre and the V&A Waterfront (to which they do a free shuttle to and from). Very good value and one of the few hotels I could find that offered decent wifi access free of charge. Breakfast was very good also.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Jonathon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkusFritz, General Manager at Hilton Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing Hilton Cape Town City Centre and for your kind comments on this website.

Your feedback is greatly appreciated and I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Markus Fritz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level 6 Contributor
296 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We are really enjoying our stay here, with a most comfortable room overlooking Table Mountain (marvelous beds). The friendly and helpful staff is making sure that everything is perfect.

The executive lounge is excellent! Lovely snacks (some from the in-house Indian restaurant), a wide variety of drinks, comfortable tabels for conversation or work, a great place to take a rest or have a drink.

We also like the lovely turn-down service.

Hilton has made great efforts in recent times to provide its guests with excellent service and fine facilities. Our stay in various Hiltons on this trip has always been superb!

Room Tip: We liked our room overlooking Table Mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Epices6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkusFritz, General Manager at Hilton Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

I am delighted to read that you are thoroughly enjoying your stay. Your kind comments, in particular those regarding our team members, are greatly appreciated and I have shared them with the rest of my team.

I hope that we will have many more opportunities to spoil you here at the Hilton Cape Town City Centre.

Yours Sincerely,

Markus Fritz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Hilton Cape Town is an unique hotel that caters for the business travellers needs. The rooms are the best in it's class and very well appointed. The hotel is quite and feels secure in a nice part of the city close to all the main attractions

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Herman V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkusFritz, General Manager at Hilton Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your positive review on this platform.

I was pleased to learn that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us and I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Markus Fritz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Easy to locate place, contemporary building. Very nice and comfortable rooms, all modern funiture and well equipped, prefect sound isolation, very friendly service,... Top quality at reasonable prices. And right in the center of historic Cape Town. With convenient parking in the building and at walking distance to Waterfront.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Daele V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkusFritz, General Manager at Hilton Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind review on this website.

I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Markus Fritz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,736 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#32 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,499 reviews
The Westin Cape Town
#26 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,717 reviews
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
985 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Cape Town City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cape Town City Centre

Property: Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Address: 126 Buitengracht Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > Schotsche Kloof
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#36 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#37 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#40 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Cape Town City Centre 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of South Africa's second largest city at the foot of Table Mountain, the Hilton Cape Town City Centre hotel is only 20 minutes from Cape Town Airport and is close to many shops and businesses, the wine district, a variety of beaches and the National Parliament. All of the modern Guest Rooms at this Cape Town hotel boast large windows, 32-inch LCD TVs and complimentary wireless internet access. Upgrade to an Executive Room for stunning views of Table Mountain or the city and access to the Executive Lounge, with complimentary breakfast, canapés and drinks. Hold a conference for up to 120 guests in one of 6 meeting rooms or 2 board rooms, which offer the very latest in audio/visual technology and ensure your event is a success with our business center. Indulge in an all-day dining experience in the elegant Mezbaan restaurants(Halaal certified by ICSA) and sip cocktails and relax with a fragrant shisha pipe in the exotic Signal Hill Terrace Lounge and Restaurant. Work out in our Fitness Center or soak up the glorious South African sunshine and stunning views of the Bo-Kaap and Table Mountain in the outdoor swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Cape Town City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cape Town City Centre Hotel Cape Town Central
Hilton Cape Town City Centre South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing