We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Ranked #41 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Bridgend, United Kingdom
1 review
“Nice hotel”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Is a very nice hotel to look at and the rooms are very spacious and cater for everything you need. The internet access in my room was great. The TV in the room shows multiple channels. The two minor points I would bring up is that the menu is very limited and when I was there the currency exchange in the hotel wasn't working an was out for the majority of my stay. With very few places near the hotel exchanging currency you could find yourself running low on Rand. The location is great, within walking distance of the city centre and offers views of Table mountain, not to far from anything and a tour bus practically stops outside the hotel if you want to do a bit of sight seeing.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Dean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkusFritz, General Manager at Hilton Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your great review on this website.

Once again, I would like to apologize for the inconveniences with regards to your currency exchange. Due to a system migration we were not able to offer this service to you.

I hope that this did not negatively affect your stay and am looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Markus Fritz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    586
    441
    140
    61
    43
See reviews for
171
444
96
370
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Pros :
- Good and tidy rooms, very restful beds.
- Complete breakfast !
- Nice and complete breakfast.
- Nice and smiling staff.
- Complementary Internet quite slow sometimes.
- Indian restaurant is nice but expensive.

Cons :
- Parking in the basement is expensive, but you can park alternatively outside the hotel.
- Erroneous bill (2 breakfasts instead of one only)
- Late check out for HHonors members seems to be impossible!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cortowinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkusFritz, General Manager at Hilton Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

I am pleased to learn that you enjoyed our modern rooms, comfortable beds and full breakfast; your comment regarding our “nice and smiling” team members is greatly appreciated.

I would like to take this opportunity to sincerely apologize for any inconveniences caused with regards to your erroneous bill.
Please note that Late Check-outs are always subject to availability and I regret that we could not fulfill this request during your most recent stay.

Your loyalty to the brand is appreciated and I am looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Markus Fritz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed July 14, 2013

very good in terms of price and location, hotel staff are helpful and polite. the room is clean and comfortable. close to Bo Kaap which is an interesting place with colourful architecture. the breakfast is a bit cold if you come down after 8am as it starts at 6.00am.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Lily R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkusFritz, General Manager at Hilton Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments on TripAdvisor.

I would like to sincerely apologize for your breakfast experience. Please be assured that incidents such as these are certainly not in keeping with the high standards we strive to maintain.

I hope that we will have the opportunity to redeem our services to you in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Markus Fritz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed at the property for 6 nights as diamond members. We were treated very well - given an upgrade and access to the executive lounge. The room was huge with a separate dining/living area from the bathroom. The property was extremely clean and the bed very comfortable.

The staff was extremely nice and will to answer any questions that we had. They have a shuttle to take you near town and they also have on-site car service that you can book to take you anywhere. We frequently used the service and thought they were very prompt and friendly.

As someone who frequently stays in Hilton properties, this was one of my favorites!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EatWorkTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkusFritz, General Manager at Hilton Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Hilton Cape Town City Centre.

I was pleased to learn that you enjoyed our spacious and clean rooms and comfortable beds. It is always particularly warming to receive praises for our staff members and I have shared your report with the rest of my team.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Cape Town City Centre as one of your favorite properties and I hope that my team and I will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the very near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Markus Fritz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We loved our time in Cape Town. The customer service was excellent ! All of the workers went out of their way to make sure we were taken care of.
My only wish would be for more restaurant options nearby after a long day of sight seeing ! We would stay here again !

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vatuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkusFritz, General Manager at Hilton Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your great review on TripAdvisor.

Your compliments regarding our customer service are greatly appreciated and I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back for more Hilton Hospitality.

Yours Sincerely,

Markus Fritz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesbirg, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 7, 2013

As someone who travels a lot on business, I complain a lot about beds in hotel rooms, but this one in Hilton CTN was the best, wish I knew about the hotel earlier, now I know where to sleep when in CTN.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Lucky Ronald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkusFritz, General Manager at Hilton Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments on this website.

I am glad you discovered the Hilton Cape Town City Centre (and our comfortable beds) and I am looking forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Markus Fritz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

As every other Hilton accriss the world it remains a trusted brand. Fair value for money. Friendly and welcoming staff. Good location in the Bo-Kaap and close to restaurants.
Tip: This is not only a business hotel and a decent 5 star option for leisure travelers too.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monet T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkusFritz, General Manager at Hilton Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at Hilton Cape Town City Centre.

I was pleased to learn that you enjoyed our prime location and hospitality of our team members.

Your loyalty to the Hilton brand is appreciated and I hope that we will have the pleasure of hosting you again soon.

Yours Sincerely,

Markus Fritz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,715 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,491 reviews
The Westin Cape Town
#24 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,702 reviews
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#34 of 109 in Cape Town Central
970 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Cape Town City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cape Town City Centre

Property: Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Address: 126 Buitengracht Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > Schotsche Kloof
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#36 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#38 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#40 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Cape Town City Centre 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of South Africa's second largest city at the foot of Table Mountain, the Hilton Cape Town City Centre hotel is only 20 minutes from Cape Town Airport and is close to many shops and businesses, the wine district, a variety of beaches and the National Parliament. All of the modern Guest Rooms at this Cape Town hotel boast large windows, 32-inch LCD TVs and complimentary wireless internet access. Upgrade to an Executive Room for stunning views of Table Mountain or the city and access to the Executive Lounge, with complimentary breakfast, canapés and drinks. Hold a conference for up to 120 guests in one of 6 meeting rooms or 2 board rooms, which offer the very latest in audio/visual technology and ensure your event is a success with our business center. Indulge in an all-day dining experience in the elegant Mezbaan restaurants(Halaal certified by ICSA) and sip cocktails and relax with a fragrant shisha pipe in the exotic Signal Hill Terrace Lounge and Restaurant. Work out in our Fitness Center or soak up the glorious South African sunshine and stunning views of the Bo-Kaap and Table Mountain in the outdoor swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Cape Town City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cape Town City Centre Hotel Cape Town Central
Hilton Cape Town City Centre South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing