We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cape point” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Discovery Tours - Day Tours

Discovery Tours - Day Tours
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cape point”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

Me and my wife had booked the cape point tour in November. Yaseen was our guide.

He really is very knowledgable. We were picked up on time. Weather forecast had predicted heavy rains so he made sure we reached cape point before it started raining. Unfortunately it started raining heavily the moment we reached and couldnt climb up to the lighthouse.

Return trip was marred by rain. But still it was memorable. Yaseen took us through roads which were much less travelled and would take us to some amazing isolated destinations but unfortunately we couldnt get out of the car much. It was frustrating.

Yaseen has real good eye for wildlife and would spot an antelope or ostrich from far and would take us there. It was a real great experience apart from the rains.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nameet1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    301
    6
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Fantastic Tours Don't Look Any Further!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

We booked our airport transfers and two tours with Yaseen and Tanya.
The airport transfers felt like we where being picked up and dropped off by friends.
Tanya took us on our first day tour to Cape Hope. She is a wonderful guide we had a great fun day. It was very informative and we saw lots of wildlife over the day. We had a lovely lunch at the Two Oceans Restaurant Tanya was extremely flexible with what we wanted to do. Nothing was too much trouble.
Our Wine Tour guide was Yaseen and he was a wonderful guide as well. The weather on our wine tour was wild winds and driving rain but that didn't damped our day. Yaseen tailored it to our interests. I love champagne so he took us to a winery that specialized in sparkling wine delicious !! We went to a winery that paired chocolate and wine yum!!
We had a long lunch at Delaires Winery that was amazing. Our lunch was one of the best meals I have ever had. Yaseen had let them know it was our anniversary and at the end of lunch a plate arrived with congratulations written in chocolate
We had a wonderful couple of days with Yaseen and Tanya. Don't hesitate they are fantastic guides and a really lovely couple. They made our time in Cape Town very memorable.
Thank you Tanya and Yaseen!!

Helpful?
Thank aussieitchyfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orem, Utah
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Seamless airport pickup”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

I arranged an airport pick-up with Discovery Tours before I arrived in Cape Town and was greeted on arrival by Tania -- she was so friendly and fun! It was a warm and flawless welcome to one of the world's most beautiful cities. She was full of advice and good info. I would definitely recommend using this agency for airport transfers or private tours around the city.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank BlueHelm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful day on the southern peninsula”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

A few weeks ago my partner and I had a wonderful day trip with Yaseen to the southern peninsula. We chose Discovery Tours because of its high rating on Trip Advisor and were not disappointed in the least.

Yaseen picked us up on time at our hotel and we immediately felt at ease with him, which was important because we were going to be spending the whole day with him. It was a beautiful sunny day, and we first stopped at the Cecil Rhodes memorial, with its commanding view of the Cape Flats and mountains beyond, then proceeded to Simons Town to hang out for a bit with the penguins and on down towards the cape. Along the way we learned a great deal from Yaseen about the area's flora, fauna, and history and enjoyed getting to know him.

We stopped at several scenic spots along the way, including beautiful Buffels Bay, which was deserted, and headed on to Cape Point, which definitely was not deserted but worth the crowds. Had a delicious vegetarian lunch at the Two Oceans Restaurant (didn't have to wait for a table, fortunately), then hiked up to the light house and its incredible views of the cliffs and ocean. Yaseen patiently stayed with his vehicle while we explored, then took us to the Cape of Good Hope sign, to another deserted windswept white sand beach, then in search of some wildlife. Yaseen's experience as a guide really paid off when we drove down a deserted secondary road to an area where we came across an ostrich, zebra, troupe of baboons, and eland-like animal--definitely a high point of an outstanding day.

On the way back to Cape Town, we stopped by Noordhoek Farm Village and bought some great crafts at a shop there, snaked our way along Chapman's Peak Drive with amazing views of Hout Bay, and got back to our hotel before sunset.

We unhesitatingly recommend Yaseen and Discovery Tours, and if/when we return to Cape Town we'll contact them for another tour.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank RPCV-Bill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great guide to visit cape town with”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

We spent 2 days with our guide Mark. The first was to Cape point with various stops in between and the 2nd to the Wine region.

Mark is extremely knowledgable on any subject you could imagine; from history, to wildlife to flowers etc etc. He used to work in conservation and still works as a mountain guide, therefore he talks very passionately about his subjects and it is hard not to be enthused. What we also loved were his stories about his family and his life in Cape town.

He was really easy to get along with and genuinely nice guy who was very accommodating to our needs and interest throughout the 2 days.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank G Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Discovery Tours - Day Tours also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Discovery Tours - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing