We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would give 6 stars if possible” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Discovery Tours - Day Tours

Discovery Tours - Day Tours
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Would give 6 stars if possible”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

Our experience with Tania for two days in late August (Winelands and Cape Peninsula) strongly confirms everything said here by others. She is very special and is herself one of the highlights of our Cape Town experience. She exceeded expectations even before we met her by taking time via email to address concerns. She was always "on," went longer and did more, took us off the beaten path --we will never forget sitting in her car while baboons literally crawled all over it and one even perched on the rear windshield wiper. Tania knows her wine, history, socio-economics, fauna and flora, and she is fun. She also offers a competitive private tour rate. We would hire her again in a heartbeat. We didn't meet Yaseen this time but hope to in the future.

Helpful?
2 Thank travelgirl60827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    301
    6
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tania best tour guide ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

My husband and I booked a 3 day tour to see as much of cape town as we could. Tania never stopped showing us all the wonders of beautiful Cape town. She has a wonderful ability of finding out your interests and then concentrating on fulfilling your expectations. Everyday was filled with incredible sights. Table Mountain, whales, gardens, from 9:00AM to 7:00PM she keep us active. She was patient, knowledgable, witty and amazing. We fell in love with Cape Town through the eyes of Tania and know she is #1 tour guide in our book. You will see and learn so much from her. Loved every minute we spent together, thanks for the memories Suzanne and Bernie.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Bernie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsville, New York
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic guide and outstanding tours!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

On a recent trip to Cape Town my friends and I arranged to have Discovery Tours transport us to and from the airport as well as take us on 2-Day tours of the area. I am not sure what my expectations were but I do know that they were far exceeded! We didn't just get a "tour guide" we got someone who was extremely knowledgeable about the areas we toured and who really took the time to get to know us and let us get to know him. It was obvious from the start that Yaseen wasn't just "doing his job" he was enjoying his job and wanted to make sure we enjoyed our time with him. Our tour of the Cape Peninsula was fact filled and it was obvious that Yaseen quickly focused in on our interests and made sure to highlight them as we toured. On our Day trip to Hermanus, Yaseen not only found Right Whales for us to view, he got us as close to them as he could, away from the crowds where we were able to watch a mother and calf up close. He gave us a lot of valuable tips for our "day on our own" and the restaurants and activities he suggested really helped to make this a trip of a lifetime! The more time we spent with Yaseen, the more we all found we had in common. It felt more like we were visiting a friend who was showing us around town. I know that if we had just signed up for a typical bus tour of the area, we would not have gotten the quality and depth of the tour we received from Yaseen. If you go to Cape Town, Discovery Tours is a MUST!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic locations, outstanding guides”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

We had two unforgettable days in the Cape Town area with Yaseen and Tania. Day one, a Penninsula tour with Yaseen. Good background on the places we were to visit- but space to explore on our own. The itinerary was perfect! We saw the entire Penninsula that day, with our preferences for wild life and natural areas empahsized. The second day, Tania took us on a West Coast tour...she was amazing! A great birder and wildlife spoting guide, whose enthusiam for the beauty that is this area was contagious. Our trip to the West Coast National Park, and "hot spots' for birding will forever be remembered. We highly recommend Yaseen and Tania, and God willing, some day will return to tour with them again.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank djdandeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding tours and an amazing guide!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

Based on reviews on Trip Advisor I booked Discovery Torus for our time in Cape Town. We were not disappointed; in fact, we were delighted, amazed and felt truly blessed for the time we spent with Yaseen. I hired a tour guide and felt we left with a friend of the heart!
After two weeks on safari we landed in Cape Town and were met at the airport by Yaseen’s smiling face. He efficiently whisked us thru the crowds and off to our hotel to settle in and rest.
Our first day Yaseen took us on a full day tour to the Cape Peninsula. Amazing!!! We stopped at several picturesque little villages and picked up a picnic lunch for later. We visited Boulders beach and saw the penguins and Yaseen dropped us off, told us to walk the board walk and then when everyone was turning around to walk back to their car at the beginning- there was Yaseen waiting to pick us up at the end.
We went on to Cape Point National Park and the Cape of Good Hope. Yaseen went out of his way to drive us into some less traveled areas where we were delighted to see blesbok, eland and ostriches.We enjoyed a picnic on the rocks overlooking the ocean and watching the blesbok running in the meadow before us. We then went on to the Cape of Good Hope, which was very special. The scenery for the whole day was spectacula.
r
Our second day of touring we went to Hermanus to see the right whales. .On the way to Hermanus we stopped at a beautiful botanical gardens and several wineries for tastings. In Hermanus Yaseen spotted the whales and drove us right to a spot where the whales were- just below the cliff where we were standing! Awesome. The return drive had spectacular scenery. I felt like the drive was a cross between the Amalfi Coast and Highway One in California.

It was a pleasure spending time with Yaseen. Having your own personal tour guide is such a treat and Yaseen has an excellent knowledge of the area, its history, politics as well as the local flora and fauna. He is patient, kind and has a great sense of humor! He made Cape Town come alive for us and we only wished we were there for a few more days to experience even more of this lovely city and area. . We learned so much and enjoyed so many unique opportunities throughout our stay and felt so comfortable and welcome in the hands of this outstanding, knowledgeable and warm individual. Our only regret was that we didn’t get to meet Tania.
Next time!!!!
You can’t go wrong with Discovery Tours. I can’t imagine going to Cape Town without contacting and touring with Yaseen and Tania!

Barbara Broomell
Visions Travel

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank BarbBroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Discovery Tours - Day Tours also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Discovery Tours - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing