We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and service”
Review of Greek Fisherman - MOVED

Greek Fisherman
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Take a seat and get a glorious view of Table Mountain while you enjoy seafood and meats grilled over open charcoals. Here at the Greek Fisherman, we are proud of our roots, so expect traditional Greek and Mediterranean dishes. But, we also believe in moving with the times, so we've added a modern twist to our otherwise classic cuisine. With our recently-renovated restaurant, you'll see what we mean by "modern with a twist". So, bring your friends, bring the whole family! And share freshly-made Mediterranean breads, accompanied by generous helpings of laughter and a magnificent sunset... come share the Greek Fisherman experience!
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

V&A waterfront is a great and safe area to walk around and eat at night. There is security everywhere around the complex and it felt very safe.

We selected this restaurant from the good trip advisor reports, and all reports proved to be very true. Great food and service, we ordered a huge seafood plateau for 2 people that was fantastic although not cheap at R790.

The whole experience was excellent with great views and atmosphere.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gman558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barrynieuwoudtcg, General Manager at Greek Fisherman, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Hi

Thank you for the extremely positive feedback. This is always wonderful to hear.

Regards
Barry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

507 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    182
    64
    22
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fabulous food and service”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We were a party of 12 and had our hotel set up the reservation. We got there and we were seated immediately. We ordered and were able to choose form two menus. Everyone was very happy with their meals. The service and the food was excellent. We were able also to separate the bill into couples which was very nice also. Several nice restaurants would not do that for us. Would go back again and again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dayna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barrynieuwoudtcg, General Manager at Greek Fisherman, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Hi

Thank you for the very positive feedback. It is great to hear that we have lived up to your expectations and that you have a wonderful experience at our restaurant.

Kind Regards
Barry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north east
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Seafood platter & fizz”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

One thing that cape town does well is seafood platters, & what nicer to go with it than a bottle of pink fizz. The Greek Fisherman did not disappoint. We opted for the Chefs platter (not on the menu) for around R800. Two whole crayfish, 12 prawns, mussels, scallops, squid, linefish, chips & rice. A little pricey but very nice.

It was a slightly chilly evening but with a lovely location & our 9 month old with us we opted to sit outside. The staff were good, happy to oblige with things we needed for the small person & quick to top up glasses & clear away shells.

A definite recommend from me.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IRISHDRAFT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“My FAVOURITE favourite”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Times are tough! So when the family is due for a treat, I want value for money, a healthy choice and a memorable experience. The Greek Fisherman is our favourite favourite. Stunning views, a menu with variety, fabulous food and, the cherry on the top, watrons that really care about your dining experience! We keep going back again and again and again and are never dissappointed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barrynieuwoudtcg, General Manager at Greek Fisherman, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Hi

Wow!!! Thank you so much for this wonderful review. We are delighted to hear that we have impressed you so much. We have just received a Certificate of Excellence from Tripadvisor and we strive to improve everyday.

Thank you for your contribution.

Kind Regards
Barry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“All thumbs up here”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

My girlfriend and I decided to treat ourselves to a dining experience with a difference. Usually going places we were known or food we were used to. So we headed off to V&A Waterfront and what surpised me was the friendliness of the staff at Greek Fisherman BEFORE we even sat down to order our food. Browsing the walkway looking at options [I wanted meat and my girlfriend seafood] we were assured we could get the best of both right there. Having been seated we were greeted with all smiles and the aroma of great food and a vibe which relaxed us immediately. The food was divine and the ambience and atmosphere made it all that much better. Having not booked in advance I did not have much hope finding at least a decent seat, but on request of sitting as close to the water [with a view] a plan was made. In all, a great evening was had [being our first date night in Cape Town] and I would just like to extend my gratitude to all staff and management for the excellent service through out the evening. We ended off on a few cocktails for the road - a sweet note for the evening.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jacques D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barrynieuwoudtcg, General Manager at Greek Fisherman, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Hi Jacques

Thank you so much for this review. We strive for excellence and we are happy you enjoyed your experience with us.

Kind Regards
Barry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greek Fisherman also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing