We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New family on the road”

Two Oceans Backpackers
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Two Oceans Backpackers
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Jacques and Abhu are very friendly. More over: they are very concerned about every guest who newly arrives in the city. The locals (long-period backpackers) were very helpful in going around: bus, minibus, on foot - best supermarkets, liquer stores, dancing places, swimming pools. For me this was what I needed: a family to take care of me for a while in a city that was new to me... And they certainly did. All of them. I am very grateful for my stay there.
I took a single room for 10 days and I had to ask to clean it. If I didn't ask, no one would enter the room... I like that. The bathroom facilities needed restoration, but if I am not mistaken I think they started with it a week ago. The kitchen needs really some restoration, but it's as clean as it can get in a backpacker. And again: the atmosphere is priceless.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reizigstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (62)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 62 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

I enjoyed my time at two oceans because the people were so nice n it feels like u have new family when u around them and also a special thanks to the manager Abhu, he is so fun n he made me feel so welcome and he always organised Sunday communal braai which is awesome coz it gave us time to know each other as guests. Two Oceans Rocks

Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank Ongama M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

This place is central but far more important the people who stay there (couple of them for a longer period) and the managers really form a great, supportive community. For me, this is the essence of a backpackers hostel. They invited me to join them for a soccer game in the 2010 World Cup stadium (what a wonderful time!) and later in the week we went out to party together. They genuinely helped with choosing programmes, Jacques made a million phone call to book tours that he had no financial interest in. Because of work, I didn't have time to plan my 5 days in Cape Town, I arrived frustrated, afraid of scams, security, etc. And I landed in a hostel where I found this cheerful bunch who I cannot be enough thankful for, they really made trip worth while. Beyond the usual touristy stuff, I got a glimpse of the local culture. It's rare to find such a great staff and community. Abu, Jacques, Mandy, Clint, Obama and all. Thank you again! Special thanks to Jacques!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andras M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

This place is certainly cheap, but remember that you get what you pay for... During my time there, I wasn't even given a key for access to the room I stayed in (they didn't have enough keys), thus leaving me to depend on the presence of others in the same dorm to get in and out. Also, I was not given a locker key despite requesting one numerous times. I had my phone stolen as a result by one of the other people staying in the same dorm while I went to the bathroom to shave and brush my teeth, and it turns out that this individual was an identity thief. He had used someone else's ID number to check in, but the staff didn't come to know this until later... They never actually physically check the identification of guests which enabled this to happen. I know this because they never even checked my passport and trusted that I gave them the right number from memory.

The dorms are horribly cramped.

Otherwise, the staff was friendly and the other guests were fun and chilled out. Another positive is that the beds were quite comfortable. Don't stay here if you are traveling with many valuables, and if you do so, make sure to keep them with you at all times... Even when going to the shower. Yes, take your laptop with you when you shower!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SriAlmighty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

This backpackers is really well situated and for the price, I don't think you can get any better. Don't rely on the staff for anything tough as they don't even know the big attractions of their own city and even scheduling a taxi seems like a too hard job to do... But once more, for the price, especially in Cape Town, you get a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nini2686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Two Oceans Backpackers was my house in Cape Town. It is a decent place to stay. It is simple, but it is good. The manager is doing a good work and I believe that Two Oceans will be much better in the near future. Basically, it is clean, simple, affordable, well localized and has a small but good staff. Abu, the manager, is smart, kind and very communicative. He can help you with helpful information about the city. He makes you feel at home. This hostel has 24h of hot water and has a big television at its spacious and beautiful living room. The kitchen is organized and has everything for your needs. When you check in, you receive a code to type to get in and get out. Nice place. I do recommend. I would give "VERY GOOD", but I wanna see it becomes still better and improving. Thanks Abu for receiving us so well! I had a great time in Cape Town!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fabio G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2012

Stayed one night there in December 2011 - the best location if you are on foot, not recommendable if you are travelling with a car - hard to get parking in the city downtown

Nothing really special and distinctive from other backpackers in the city, but nothing bad as well - don't hesitate to stay in two Oceans

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yarrilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
Forty8 Backpackers Hotel
#52 of 128 in Cape Town Central
98 reviews
Unique Lodge
#322 of 535 in Cape Town
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
91 Loop
#16 of 128 in Cape Town Central
119 reviews
Long Street Backpackers
#37 of 128 in Cape Town Central
144 reviews
City Bowl
Once in Cape Town
Once in Cape Town
#8 of 128 in Cape Town Central
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Two Oceans Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Two Oceans Backpackers

Address: 47 Long Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 128 Specialty Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $18 - $44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Two Oceans Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Two Oceans Backpackers Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing