We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hostel, cheap, non helpful staff”

Two Oceans Backpackers
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Two Oceans Backpackers
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Average hostel, cheap, non helpful staff”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

This backpackers is really well situated and for the price, I don't think you can get any better. Don't rely on the staff for anything tough as they don't even know the big attractions of their own city and even scheduling a taxi seems like a too hard job to do... But once more, for the price, especially in Cape Town, you get a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nini2686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    16
    13
    5
    7
See reviews for
3
15
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jundiai, SP
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Two Oceans Backpackers was my house in Cape Town. It is a decent place to stay. It is simple, but it is good. The manager is doing a good work and I believe that Two Oceans will be much better in the near future. Basically, it is clean, simple, affordable, well localized and has a small but good staff. Abu, the manager, is smart, kind and very communicative. He can help you with helpful information about the city. He makes you feel at home. This hostel has 24h of hot water and has a big television at its spacious and beautiful living room. The kitchen is organized and has everything for your needs. When you check in, you receive a code to type to get in and get out. Nice place. I do recommend. I would give "VERY GOOD", but I wanna see it becomes still better and improving. Thanks Abu for receiving us so well! I had a great time in Cape Town!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fabio G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2012

Stayed one night there in December 2011 - the best location if you are on foot, not recommendable if you are travelling with a car - hard to get parking in the city downtown

Nothing really special and distinctive from other backpackers in the city, but nothing bad as well - don't hesitate to stay in two Oceans

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yarrilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2012

I think one of the cheapest dorm rates in Central cape town at R100/night/person.
Great atmosphere from the guests, but staff is annoying
Also incurred a late night breakin one of the 2 nights I stayed there - place is not very secure
Wireless hardly works, though there is a computer for ppl to use.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Level Contributor
118 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2011

It's quite new. The rooms are very nice, light and clean. The staff is friendly and the hostel provides free wifi, laundry facilities and has a nice terrace with a view on long street.The location is perfect for people enjoying nightlife as longstreet is full of restaurants, bars and clubs. We had a relly good time there and liked the place.

Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Daviser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durban, south africa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2011

I stayed at this establishment recently with my daughter. It's at the lower end of Long Street, and the location is fantastic. The MyCiti Bus stop is mere metres away from the front door of the hostel, which made transport an absolute breeze. In fact, we found that we could walk to most places, including the Long Street Turkish baths, and the Mount Nelson, where we'd booked for high tea. There are some great restaurants nearby, and within different price ranges, too. Our room was compact but quite clean. On the downside, the guy who checked us in wasn't too friendly, and the bathrooms not very clean. I strongly suspect that the bathrooms were not cleaned everyday, which marred things. Long Street is really noisy, so getting to sleep was a problem. However, if you're not staying in a room facing Long Street, it might be considerably better. There is a fully equipped kitchen for the residents' use, but I didn't use it. On the whole, it was good value. If they paid more attention to cleanliness, I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the side might be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank love2travel076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
Forty8 Backpackers Hotel
#56 of 125 in Cape Town Central
97 reviews
Big Blue Backpackers
#50 of 125 in Cape Town Central
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Cape Town Backpackers
Cape Town Backpackers
#30 of 125 in Cape Town Central
243 reviews
91 Loop
#14 of 125 in Cape Town Central
106 reviews
Unique Lodge
#319 of 509 in Cape Town
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Two Oceans Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Two Oceans Backpackers

Property: Two Oceans Backpackers
Address: 47 Long Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 125 Specialty Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Two Oceans Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Two Oceans Backpackers Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing