We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pepperclub Hotel & Spa
Ranked #35 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 13, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Pepper club for seven nights,four at the start and three at the end of a two week holiday in Cape Town area.We found the hotel to be excellent overall,the location near Long street and Kloof street was great.The staff are very attentive and friendly and on our
return stay at the end of our holiday we were upgraded to a superior room which had fine views over the Cape Town skyline.We would like to make special mention of Laverne on the concierge desk who was particularly helpful to us during our stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeeBee_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pepper_Club_PR, Public Relations Manager at Pepperclub Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Thank you for the wonderful review you kindly posted on TripAdvisor. Your positive feedback was warmly received.

We are thrilled to hear that you had an excellent stay with us and that our staff were of great assistance during your stay. Rest assured that your message of thanks has been passed on to Laverne at Concierge as well as management to commend her on her top class service.

We trust you had a safe journey home and look forward to welcoming you back to our establishment.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,012)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

750 - 756 of 1,012 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2013

Being first time visitors to Cape Town we had no idea where to stay but followed Trip Advisor reviews and chose this one. We are in a great location, very central on the corner of Loop and Pepper Streets. Loop is a popular tourist spot with lots of interesting shops, restaurants and bars. Seems to be very "safe" around here too, lots of "safety officers" around to keep an eye on things.

The room is modern, clean and works very well. Breakfast is buffet style with plenty of choice and good food. They have a good bar in the hotel where we have enjoyed some cocktails and also a restaurant. We haven't eaten at the restaurant yet but it looks okay. Staff are all very friendly.

Only negative is lack of internet, it is available and free but no coverage in the room so we have to take our phone and netbook down to the lobby to connect. Small thing though really.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aussietraveller77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pepper_Club_PR, Public Relations Manager at Pepperclub Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Thank you for choosing the Pepperclub Hotel and Spa as your choice of accommodation and for reviewing us on TripAdvisor. Your feedback was warmly received.

We are pleased to note that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you thought highly of the location of the hotel. We are lucky to be located in the heart of cosmopolitan Cape Town with some of Cape Town’s biggest tourist attractions just a stone throw away from us.

Sorry for any inconvenience you may have experienced with the wi-fi connection. Our IT department is aware of the issue and an action plan for a stronger connection throughout the hotel is currently being drawn up.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

The arrival here was good. Luggage took for ever. The people sleeping in rooms below the 8th floor has to use two lifts one being a service lift. You simply just cannot sleep with your windows open. The noise factor right through the night from all the clubs makes the impossible. The breakfast is a disaster. Tables not set properly, slow sometimes not to friendly service. Eggs from the kitchen takes on average 10mins. Then you have to get up again to fetch bacon, etc.Toast also from the kitchen is at times old. The only good thing here are the beds.
Temember this is a 5* Hotel with 5* prices. No not such a good stay. no Wow factor.

Room Tip: Always try to sleep above 8th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Portapower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I stayed at this hotel on a group tour from Singapore for 3 nights from 31 Mar to 03 Apr 13. On the whole the hotel is OK but breakfast selection not compactable with the hotel.

What upset me was the free wifi. I could not get wifi in my room and could only get it outside my room. The maintenance people came with a router but the signal was bad with no improvement.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank huikwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pepper_Club_PR, Public Relations Manager at Pepperclub Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review the Pepperclub Hotel and Spa on TripAdvisor. Your constructive feedback is appreciated.

We are disappointed to note that the breakfast was not of a 5 star standard. This is not the general feedback we receive from our guests regarding breakfast but rest assured that our breakfast is being closely monitored to avoid an unsatisfactory breakfast being presented in the future.

Sorry for any inconvenience you may have experienced with the wi-fi connection. Our IT department is aware of the issue and an action plan for a stronger connection throughout the hotel is currently being drawn up.

We trust you had a safe journey home to Singapore.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We were booked into the Pepper Club for a five day stay in Februay 2013, by our Australian travel agents as part of a two month all-inclusive package tour. The rate we were charged by our agent was three times the walk in daily rate that the hotel was offering at the time of our visit.
When we arrived at the hotel we were greeted courteously and allocated a one room apartment in the back tower which one had to negotiate via two lifts. I am sure that this was part of a money grabbing scheme by the travel agent we used.
To get to our room one had to take one of the two lifts in the foyer to the 8th floor, then a long tramp past the swimming pool and spar to a lift at the back of the hotel. From there down to the 3rd floor, and again another circuitous route to our room This tower was I believe a potential firetrap, as I could see no way out apart from the lift and a hard to find fire escape.
I approached management and asked to be transferred to another suite. I showed them what we had been charged for our five nights in the hotel. They were appalled and immediately offered to move us to another room the following morning when some rooms became vacant. The hotel was full due to delegates at a mining convention at the waterfront
The next day we were moved to a suite. The suite had a fantastic view of Table Mountain and surrounds, and overlooked the swimming pool.
As far as we were concerned the management could not have been more accommodating. They made every effort to make us welcome and ensure that our stay was an enjoyable one.
Breakfast in the hotel dining room was excellent with a great variety of fruit of the season, cereal, with full breakfast also included in the breakfast menu. There was only one problem here anything other than scrambled egg took nearly eight minutes to arrive

The service at the hotel front was 2nd to none. The hotel staff were all obliging and friendly, and unlike one of the previous reviewers we had no problem with the lift at all.
We did have one minor complaint and that was that there were only ever two sachets of milk provided for morning tea or coffee in our rooms. We soon solved that by purchasing a litre of milk on one of our day trips.

The hotel is very well placed for access to the freeways north to Hermanus and south to Fish Hoek and Cape point. Thank you Pepper Club for making our stay a comfortable and enjoyable experience.

Room Tip: Ensure that you book a room in the front tower block. Order eggs to suit your requirements as you en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Away-from-WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Absolutely beautiful hotel with wonderful spas and facility, but very noisy location on Long Street. The hotel has a separate small bedroom and then a living room. Bathroom has both a shower and a very luxurious bath tub. Hotel has internet connection (albeit not the fastest connection but fine for emails).

I would give the hotel 5 stars for the hotel itself, but the location is problematic hence my docking a star. If you're in your 20s and want to party all night, get drunk, and crawl back to your hotel room, this is your place! It's in the center of it all! If you're in your 30s (or older) and after a night out would like to go back to your hotel and sleep, this may not be your place. The partying on Long Street continues until about 2-3 AM and the noise makes it hard to fall asleep. Not the hotel's fault by any means --> just a function of the location.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pepper_Club_PR, Public Relations Manager at Pepperclub Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Dear Jennifer,

Thank you kindly for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. Your feedback is valuable to us and much appreciated.

We are pleased to note that you thought highly of the hotel and the facilities which we have to offer.

Our sincere apologies regarding the noise issues you experienced. Unfortunately, due to being a city centre hotel, we are faced with noise issues from time to time. However, I would like to assure you that we do our utmost to try to contain the noise levels. We are in constant touch with the local authorities in order to manage the noise level and to ensure that the noise is level is kept down to an absolute minimum.

We trust you had a safe and pleasant journey home.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed in better hotels, but overall it's not a bad hotel. First of all when I arrived at the Hotel no one attended to me immediately and the hotel resturant has very limited choices for children. Their access card system also has to be upgraded,half the time it was not working especially in the lifts and parking! However the rooms were very clean , lovely furniture and spacious. Room service was good.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tk0112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pepper_Club_PR, Public Relations Manager at Pepperclub Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Thank you for choosing the Pepperclub Hotel and Spa as your choice of accommodation and for reviewing the property on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the rooms and rooms-service but at the same time we are disappointed to hear that you were not assisted immediately on you arrival. I can assure you that this is not the norm at the Pepperclub Hotel nor is it the standard we aim to achieve. I can only assume that you arrived during peak check-in period and had to wait to be assisted. Please accept our sincere apologies.

With regards to the card system, unfortunately we were experiencing faulty cards with the last batch we ordered. You will be pleased to hear that these cards have been recycled and new cards (from a new supplier) which are working fantastically are currently being used.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#40 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,406 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,863 reviews
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#37 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#53 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,576 reviews
Cape Town Hollow
#51 of 112 in Cape Town Central
277 reviews
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#27 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pepperclub Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pepperclub Hotel & Spa

Address: Cnr Loop and Pepper Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#30 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#34 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#38 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#49 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $145 - $403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pepperclub Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bound by Loop, Long, Pepper and Bloem Street, Pepperclub Hotel & Spa is situated in the heart of bustling Cape Town and at the foot of renowned Table Mountain and Lions Head. The hotel not only offers the ideal location, but also five star comfort and personalised service to suit the needs of both leisure and business travellers. Inspired by New York's chic interiors, the hotel consists of 210 generously appointed suites, all of which include spectacular views of Cape Town. Facilities at the hotel include, among others, the intimate Odeon cinema, a fully-equipped gymnasium and a swimming pool with panoramic views. Cayenne Spa, tucked away on the 8th floor of the hotel, offers sanctuary for guests with its modern aura and eclectic menu of modern treatments. Located on the ground floor is Pepperclub's exclusive Paparazzi Bar & Lounge and in-house restaurant, Sinatra's, which combines a stylish and modern setting with a menu inspired by European continental cuisine. The hotel also offers guests scheduled complimentary shuttles to the V&A Waterfront and Camps Bay, home to one of South Africa's most beautiful and picturesque beachfronts. It is here that you will also find our beach club facilities. Hotel guests will have exclusive VIP access to the beach club's showers, private lockers and changing and restroom facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Pepperclub Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pepper Club Luxury Hotel And Spa
Pepper Club Luxury Hotel Cape Town Central
Pepperclub Hotel & Spa Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing