We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location - disappointing stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pepperclub Hotel & Spa
Ranked #43 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
280 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 383 helpful votes
“Excellent location - disappointing stay!”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Had two one bedroom suites in February 2013 for 4 nights. The hotel enjoys excellent downtown location with easy walking access to restaurants, shops and markets.

Regretably this was both our first and last time we would stay at the Pepper Club. Cape Town is one of the most visited cities in the world right now and hosts a broad spectrum of hotels as far as quality and price range is concerned. The Pepper Club promotes itself as a high-end property and world class spa - neither of these two statements are accurate.

Let's deal with the pro's and con's .....

The first pro is the on sight restaurant (there is only one) called Sinatra's is an absolute gem. We ate regularly breakfast, lunch and dinner as we were slightly restricted on sight due to a member of our group having disabilities. Sinatra's produced five star food at every meal. Their menu is small but they were willing to vary their dishes to accomodate individual requests. We ate everything! From sandwiches to filet mignon steaks. The staff served us at a high level so this part of the establishment gets a great rating.

The second pro is that the beds were very comfortable and the ensuite bathrooms enjoyed an impressive free standing soaking tub and large walk in shower.

The third pro and worthy of mention was the exceptional laundry and pressing service whose staff where there in a flash, willing to fill in the forms for us and always returned well cleaned and in good time!

Now on to the con's.

The first con is the ongoing problem with turn down service. Three out of four nights it was not done - on the third night we convenyed an in-room meeting with duty manager and housekeeping manager and tried as best we could help them resolve this poor management issue. We are very precise with our requirements of a "world class hotel" so typically we will call when leaving the room to advise that the room is ready for servicing as well as calling to specifically request a turn down service. This was an annoying aspect to our stay as our schedule was hectic and our returns to the hotel was often just to refresh and leave for our next event so when returning to dirty towels and an unmade room this was a poor show of management and basic services.

The second con was the airconditioning - the one bedroom suite enjoyed two separate outlets, one in the lounge and one in the bedroom. The one in the lounge provided gale force wind cooling which was most welcome since it was summer and we could quite comfortably get a 21 degrees C on the thermostat. The one in the bedroom was more than dysfunctional as no matter what maintenance and engineering attempted to do it soon became evident that there is no way of adjusting the airflow between these two outlets and this resulted in the bedroom unit not being able to cool anything less than 25 degrees C - this resulted in almost no air getting into the bathroom which was constantly at undesirable temperature.

The third con was the fact that the hairdryer in the bathroom had to be replaced three times - as it kept shorting - we don't know whether it was an electrical problem or the hairdryers themselves but we went through 3 hairdryers in 4 days!!!!

The fourth con is the safe that is located on the floor of the closet - this is to say the least very poorly positioned unless you are 12 inches tall!!!

The fifth con is what can only be described as simple the most dysfunctional elevator call system every experienced in any building any where in the world!! We were in the middle of the hotel so there was as many floors above us as was below us. When you reach the elevators you are immediately struck by the fact that there is only a single button as opposed to what you would expect - being 2 buttons - one going up and one going down!! But in this case there is just one button, so to go down you push the button - when the elevator arrives it's going up, so you don't get in and then the elevator leaves and the illuminated button goes off. So you press the button again. Now the second elevator comes up but it also holds guests and it is going up so you don't get in and then the elevator leaves and the illuminated button goes off. So you press it a third time and then one of the elevator on the way down stops to collect you. After doing this every single time you wish to go to the lobby you can't help but draw the conclusion that whoever designed these elevators is an idiot!!!! The elevator button issue became the subject of hot gossip amongst guests from Australia, Germany, England and ourselves from the US!!!! Everybody was simply astounded by this remedial system!!

The sixth con is "the world class spa", both the ladies in our group are spa junkies and have enjoyed treatments at some of the worlds finest spas in Dubai, Las Vegas and Macau. This spa is simply rubbish!! The quality of the massages and pedicures were way below acceptable, to market the spa as such a high-end venue is both inaccurate and dishonest. The spa enjoys access to a beautiful roof top pool which enjoys spectacular views of Table Mountain BUT the pool is built with walls on three sides resulting in it being shaded literally 90% of the time that the pool is open. Once again a reflection of poor planning.

We keep a short list of hotels that we would never stay in again and The Pepper Club has made it onto that list. Our reviews are usually always positive in nature looking for the properties strengths and unique features that will help other readers select the best choice for them. We have tried to remain not too critical of this property in this review but having had so much go wrong over such a short space of time would lead us to the only conclusion that this is a property that we would never choose again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harv and Les C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    324
    115
    46
    38
See reviews for
117
329
30
244
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

We decided to try the hotel and had a very good stay.
We booked through app and got nice discount.
The hotel offered good breakfast and parking, all included.
For us, it was very easy to get around as the access to our car was really easy and secure.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luiz Eduardo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pepper_Club_PR, Public Relations Manager at Pepperclub Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Luiz,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. Your feedback was warmly received.

We are happy to hear that you made use of our secure parking facilities to make your stay in Cape Town more convenient.

We look forward to having you stay with us again on your next visit to Cape Town.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

The Pepper Club is without question one of the best hotel experiences I've had. From check-in, the staff was absolutely incredible and extremely attentive. The rooms are beautiful, and the views are great.

Prices at the PC are quite reasonable too. I made use of the laundry service and found it quite good, clothes that I asked to be pressed happened to appear in my closet in just a short while.

The food is really great in the restaurants, as well. My travel companion and I had to make a pact to try to branch out and not eat at the hotel because it was so good. We also ate at the Beach Club and had a lovely meal.

The location off of Long Street is really perfect for us college types, but the noise wasnt unbearable.

My only two complaints would be that the (free) wifi is spotty and couldn't support a Skype call from the rooms, and the in room safes in both of the rooms were malfunctioning. Other than these two points, my stay at the Pepper Club was flawless. I will be back, and soon. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wrldtraveller770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pepper_Club_PR, Public Relations Manager at Pepperclub Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
What a fantastic review! Thank you kindly for taking the time to share your experience at the hotel as well as Pepperclub on the Beach on TripAdvisor. Your feedback was warmly received.

We are thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us and that you highly recommend the Pepperclub Hotel and Spa.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our establishment, hopefully in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Our group was unceremoniously checked out during our stay , the authorities opened all the lockers and packed all our belongings and put them in the cloak room when we were out sightseeing , this has never happened any where in the world , it was really disgusting .

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PNSHAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We spent 4 nights here as part of a tour of South Africa. The hotel is in a very good position, close enough to the sights to make everything accessible and they run a shuttle service to the V&A Waterfront and Camps Bay which we used on 2 evenings. All the staff on reception and the concierge were very helpful.

The rooms were a good size with a small balcolny and they had a small kitchen area which housed a fridge, which was very useful. The rooftop pool is quite small but most people are out and about and I suspect it is only occasionally used. Whilst we were there the weather wasn't really hot enough to want to swim. Breakfast was very good with everything you would want. Eggs other than scrambled could be ordered from the wait staff.

My only 'complaint' would be that on our second day we came back to the hotel at 5.00pm to find that our room had not been serviced. We rang down and eventually a housekeeper came. She apologised and told us that they had been very busy but that is no excuse for not servicing rooms.

Assuming that this lack of housekeeping service was a one off, I would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barbara2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pepper_Club_PR, Public Relations Manager at Pepperclub Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Barbara,

Thank you for the lovely review which you kindly posted on Tripadvisor. Your feedback was warmly received and greatly appreciated.

We at pleased to note that you had a great stay with us and that our staff were of great assistance.

Our sincere apologies about the delay in servicing of your room on day 2. I can ensure you that this is not a norm at the Pepperclub Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our establishment on your next trip to Cape Town, South Africa.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centurion, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Checked into the hotel at about 23h00 on Friday, 14 March 2013 after a two hour domestic flight. Phoned reception just after 12 and questioned what time the noise from surrounding areas will stop. They kindly sent ear plugs to my room and advised that it should be quiet after 02h00 as the council rules don't allow clubs to continue beyond this time. The noise of beating drums from club music in the surrounding areas finally stopped just after 4 in the morning. Then the noise from revving cars and party goers in the streets continued and still has not stopped.Unfortunately the noise was so bad that the earplugs did not make any difference. My ears are sore from earplugs that I pushed in deeper and deeper throughout the night trying to get some sleep. Decided to get up as it is clear that I will not get any sleep tonight.

Unfortunately this beautiful venue is definitely not appropriate for a business trip or if you want to get any sleep.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
1 Thank Nico P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pepper_Club_PR, Public Relations Manager at Pepperclub Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Nico,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor however we are saddened to hear of your experience with regards to a disruptive sleep.

The Pepperclub Hotel and Spa is a city based hotel located in the heart of cosmopolitan Cape Town and thus noise is difficult to be avoided on certain days of the week just like any other city based hotel in the world. We do have a large number of quieter suites (front side of the hotel) but due to the high level of occupancy we have been experiencing, it is often difficult to relocate guests to these suites.

On a brighter note, your feedback on the beauty of the hotel was warmly received.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
409 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This was our final hotel on our South African tour. On entering it certainly felt very plush. We encountered a problem on arriving in that our reservations were not booked in. But the staff worked hard to rectify the problem which was not their fault and all of us in our group got our rooms we were supposed to have.

Rooms were fantastic overlooking Capetown with a view straight onto Table Mountain. The rooms themselves were spacious and we had a separate lounge and kitchen . The tours that were laid on we're brilliant especially the cable car and trip up Table mountain

Room Tip: Higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pepper_Club_PR, Public Relations Manager at Pepperclub Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Julie,

Thank you for reviewing the Pepperclub Hotel and Spa on TripAdvisor. It is always great to receive feedback of a positive nature.

We were thrilled that we were able to assist with accommodation for your group and mostly that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our establishment, hopefully in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#39 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,280 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,736 reviews
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#32 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,498 reviews
Long Street Boutique Hotel
#35 of 109 in Cape Town Central
208 reviews
Cape Town Hollow
#50 of 109 in Cape Town Central
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pepperclub Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pepperclub Hotel & Spa

Property: Pepperclub Hotel & Spa
Address: Cnr Loop and Pepper Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#39 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#40 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#48 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#50 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pepperclub Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bound by Loop, Long, Pepper and Bloem Street, Pepperclub Hotel & Spa is situated in the heart of bustling Cape Town and at the foot of renowned Table Mountain and Lions Head. The hotel not only offers the ideal location, but also five star comfort and personalised service to suit the needs of both leisure and business travellers. Inspired by New York's chic interiors, the hotel consists of 210 generously appointed suites, all of which include spectacular views of Cape Town. Facilities at the hotel include, among others, the intimate Odeon cinema, a fully-equipped gymnasium and a swimming pool with panoramic views. Cayenne Spa, tucked away on the 8th floor of the hotel, offers sanctuary for guests with its modern aura and eclectic menu of modern treatments. Located on the ground floor is Pepperclub's exclusive Paparazzi Bar & Lounge and in-house restaurant, Sinatra's, which combines a stylish and modern setting with a menu inspired by European continental cuisine. The hotel also offers guests scheduled complimentary shuttles to the V&A Waterfront and Camps Bay, home to one of South Africa's most beautiful and picturesque beachfronts. It is here that you will also find our beach club facilities. Hotel guests will have exclusive VIP access to the beach club's showers, private lockers and changing and restroom facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pepperclub Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pepper Club Luxury Hotel And Spa
Pepper Club Luxury Hotel Cape Town Central
Pepperclub Hotel & Spa Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing