We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Spa for us, and noisy staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pepperclub Hotel & Spa
Ranked #35 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 26, 2012

A good experience in all, the good sides to our stay there was:

-Nice views in the gym overlooking Table Mountain, with great views of the city
-Very comfortable bed with great sound proof room blocking all the noise in a busy part of the city
-Wonderful rain shower makes you want to stay in there forever!

Downsides to stay here was:
-Noisy staff that start clearing tables set at adjacent tables while we were still enjoying breakfast, long before the 10:30 am end of breakfast time.
-In the gym quite a few of the machines (e.g. rower, flyer, stationary cycle) does not work, seems to need a service.
-Wanted to book a spa session (of any length) only to be told a party of 10 from OUTSIDE the hotel had booked the whole spa for two continuos day

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of Table Mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NicoSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pepper_Club_PR, Public Relations Manager at Pepperclub Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Thank you for having chosen to stay at the Pepperclub Hotel and Spa on your visit to Cape Town and for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. Your feedback was greatly appreciated.

We are pleased to note that you had a good stay with us and that you particularly liked our suites and views surrounding our hotel. The picturesque view of Table Mountain always captures ones breath.

Our apologies about the disruption you experienced at breakfast. Rest assured that your feedback has been forwarded on to the F&B Department to avoid an incident like this occurring again. Likewise with the gym apparatus – our maintenance team is currently checking all gym apparatus to ensure all is of a working standard.

We look forward to welcoming you back, hopefully in the not too distant future and this time being able to experience Cayenne Spa.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (937)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

738 - 744 of 937 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed at the Hotel for 3 nights and whilst a short ride from the harbour front it is in the centre of the town and 100yds away from a bus stop for the City Bus and the Hotel supples complimentary bus to Harbour.

Rooms at the hotel were very good with a small balcony and small fitted kitchen although there were no dishes etc or cutlery just cups and spoons. The facilities were also good but when we went th epool was not heated which was a disapointment.

As for the staff at the hotel they were excellent, and could not do enough for you. Also the parking was free despite being in the centre of town and there was no predatory pricing with everything seeming to be complimentary which made ca pleasant change.

I would definatly stay here again if I was in Cape Town and if you do stay here make sure you have a night at Mama Africa's which is only 30 yds from the hotel and serves great food with live african music.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank twojagsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pepper_Club_PR, Public Relations Manager at Pepperclub Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Thank you kindly for your review of the Pepperclub Hotel and Spa on Trip Advisor. Your feedback was warmly received.

We are pleased to note that our staff were of great assistance and excellence. Your praise has been passed on to all Head of Departments to commend their staff.

Please be assured that a full set of kitchen utensils are available upon request for our guests who wish to have a self catering suite.

Our apologies about the pool not being heated – we are currently undergoing maintenance on the pool.

We are thrilled to hear that you managed to spend an evening at the popular Mama Africa and experience traditional African food and music.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

This is a modern hotel in Cape Town just off Long street. the hotel itself while nice lacks atmosphere. The bar is quiet and I hated the glass wall between the bedroom and the bathroom. However the bed was very comfortable and the room was spotless.The staff in the hotel both reception and bar and restaurant staff were friendly and professional. The food in the restaurant is good but unfortunately we were the only people in the restaurant that night.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be very good, all have balconies and views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank maimurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pepper_Club_PR, Public Relations Manager at Pepperclub Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Thank you kindly for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your feedback is appreciated and has been passed on to all necessary departments.

We are pleased to note that our all staff and cuisine met your expectations. The Pepperclub Hotel and Spa is spoilt when it comes to views - All our suites have breathtaking views of either Table Mountain, Signal Hill or the magnificent city.

Looking forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Cape Town, hopefully there will be more of a ‘buzz’ in the hotel.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Good hotel, reasnable prices and good service, but in an overall analysis, next time I would choose a different location, somewhere near the waterfront. Anyway, still is a good choice for a reasonble price.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pedroql79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pepper_Club_PR, Public Relations Manager at Pepperclub Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review the Peppeclub Hotel and Spa on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to note that you were impressed with the hotel as well as the service at the hotel. We do offer complementary transfers for all guests to and from the V&A Waterfront should you wish to visit this very popular tourist attraction.

Trust you had a safe trip back to Angola.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

what a beautiful place. reception is excellent, dining was awesome, my room was just like home, but better view of Table Mountain and Lion's Head. Staff are friendly, the decor is exquisite.

this is definitely my new home away from home. Am never booking in any other hotel again, when in Cape Town. very conveniently located, walking distance to entertainment ( Long Street).

thank you all.

Room Tip: the view from the 15th floor facing the table mountain and long street is the place to be!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pumla N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pepper_Club_PR, Public Relations Manager at Pepperclub Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Dear Pumla,

WOW! What a fantastic rewiew. Thank you for taking the time to write this review on TripAdvisor. Your comments were warmly received.

We are please not note that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and that the Pepperclub Hotel and Spa will be your ‘new home away from home.’

We look forward to having you stay with us on your next visit to Cape Town.

Kind regards,

Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

This hotel was the 1st stop on our Groupon trip. Centrally located, new, immaculate. We were happily surprised when our room turned out to be a suite. Separate bedroom with a very comfortable king bed, a combo living room and full kitchen. We didn't use anything but the cappuccino maker, but it was nice to have it available. There are 2 large flat screen TVs - on in the bedroom and one in the living room. The bathroom was huge - 2 person shower, separate soaking tub, 2 sinks and very nice shampoos/conditioner and body lotions and gels. We did eat in the restaurant. We had breakfast vouchers included with our purchase. Each morning they had a full hot and cold buffet as well as cooked to order eggs. Several wait staff to assist at breakfast. We ate 2 other meals there. One at the bar because we wanted a quick meal and go to bed after traveling - the beef fillet was the most tender meat I have ever had. I also had there special braised lamb shank - so very good. The prices are below NYC prices and our meals with appetizers, main course, dessert and drinks cost $50 - $60 USD for 2. The house red and white wines were great. And if you like Bailey's, try Amaruhula. A complimentary shuttle runs runs to the water front every other hour, but you must book it ahead of time. (One hour it goes down, the next hour it comes back). There is a tourist booking agent in the lobby to assist with anything you might want to do. The only problem we had was that we couldn't get the phones to work. You need to leave a deposit on a charge at the front desk to turn them on, but despite doing that we couldn't get the phones to work. We went to the front desk several times - all unsuccessful - and finally they let us us the front desk phones to make our local Capetown call. It all worked out, but was frustrating to go up and down to the room multiple times to try to correct it. The hotel is on Pepper and Loop St. Loop is the "Bourbon Street " of Capetown, so once you are done with sightseeing in the day, party town is right around the corner is you choose to go there. It is safe to walk around the corner early in the night, but after midnight or so, I wouldn't do it. I would use "NYC Safety" precautions. All in all a Very good hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 396SusanS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pepper_Club_PR, Public Relations Manager at Pepperclub Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

Dear Susan,

Thank you kindly for taking the time to write this review regarding your stay with us and for the great feedback. You comments were warmly received and greatly appreciated.

We are pleased to note that you had an enjoyable stay with us and so thrilled you tried our local cream liqueur, Amarula. It is quite delightful on the pallet.

Our apologies about the telephone incident and for the inconvenience caused. Please rest assured that this issue will receive the utmost attention in order to avoid any incidents like this occurring in the future.

We hope you had a safe journey back to New York and look forward to welcoming you back to the Pepperclub Hotel and Spa on your next trip to Cape Town, South Africa.

Kind regards,

Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

The hotel is clean, modern and comfortable. It could be awesome if the management team invests in the detail to make it a memorable 5 star experience. From the elevator that has no markings to show the significant venues in the hotel to sloppy breakfast service dampens the great rooms and awesome dinner.
Fix it and you'll be great. I look forward to staying again

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Werner_inSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pepper_Club_PR, Public Relations Manager at Pepperclub Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor and for the constructive comments.

Please rest assured that your concern regarding the elevator markings and breakfast service have been raised to the relevant senior management and these issues are currently receiving the utmost attention.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Pepperclub Hotel and Spa, hopefully in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town hotels
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 110 in Cape Town
1,802 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#41 of 110 in Cape Town
1,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Long Street Boutique Hotel
#34 of 110 in Cape Town
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pepperclub Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pepperclub Hotel & Spa

Address: Cnr Loop and Pepper Street, Cape Town 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Cape Town
#34 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town
#38 Business Hotel in Cape Town
#47 Family Hotel in Cape Town
#49 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town
Price Range: $147 - $563 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pepperclub Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bound by Loop, Long, Pepper and Bloem Street, Pepperclub Hotel & Spa is situated in the heart of bustling Cape Town and at the foot of renowned Table Mountain and Lions Head. The hotel not only offers the ideal location, but also five star comfort and personalised service to suit the needs of both leisure and business travellers. Inspired by New York's chic interiors, the hotel consists of 210 generously appointed suites, all of which include spectacular views of Cape Town. Facilities at the hotel include, among others, the intimate Odeon cinema, a fully-equipped gymnasium and a swimming pool with panoramic views. Cayenne Spa, tucked away on the 8th floor of the hotel, offers sanctuary for guests with its modern aura and eclectic menu of modern treatments. Located on the ground floor is Pepperclub's exclusive Paparazzi Bar & Lounge and in-house restaurant, Sinatra's, which combines a stylish and modern setting with a menu inspired by European continental cuisine. The hotel also offers guests scheduled complimentary shuttles to the V&A Waterfront and Camps Bay, home to one of South Africa's most beautiful and picturesque beachfronts. It is here that you will also find our beach club facilities. Hotel guests will have exclusive VIP access to the beach club's showers, private lockers and changing and restroom facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pepperclub Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pepper Club Luxury Hotel And Spa
Pepper Club Luxury Hotel Cape Town Central
Pepperclub Hotel & Spa Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing