We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy with great service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pepperclub Hotel & Spa
Ranked #36 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 21, 2012

I stayed here for a business conference for 7 nights and was very happy with the great service, flexible staff and superb accommodation. The food is delicious... you'll definitively enjoy a stay in Pepper Club.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markjmoser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (945)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

765 - 771 of 945 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 5 nights. First time in cape town. Hotel wonderful fantastic views of table mountain. Fantastic staff . Lovely pool and gym. You can swim with brilliant views.parking easy. Free wifi which was a bonus. Used the beach club which was awesome . Can't stop talking about this hotel or cape town . Stay your in for a treat at the pepper club

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barhave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

The Pepper Club is a fantastic place, however for us there was one major flaw that wrecked our first night. The fact they have received 4/5 shows how good the rest of the place was.

On arrival the staff were excellent (this was a theme throughout our stay). We were taken to our room which had the most stunning corner view over table mountain. Given this was the first night of our honeymoon, we couldn't have asked of more. Great space, view, bathroom, bedroom.

The food and wine in the restaurant was excellent. We ended up eating there every night which hadn't been our initial plan. The service was excellent, and we enjoyed some great cocktails at the Paparazzi beforehand.

When we returned to our room on the first night, champagne and chocolate covered strawberries awaited us, a lovely touch and we enjoyed them overlooking the city at night. This was when the problem started. Given our room overlooked long street, even 16 floors up the music was unbearably loud to sleep even with earplugs. When I touched the window of the bedroom, the bass was shaking the windows. I phoned reception to ask when it would stop and was told 0430 (this was at around 2300).

The staff were very helpful, and gave us the option of different rooms. Each was almost as bad, and we decided to attempt to sleep in one of the others which was slightly further away from Long Street. This wasn't much better, so we moved the mattress through to the living area of the room closing the bedroom door. Although this was better with earplugs for my wife, I was still awake until about 0500 before eventually getting some sleep. We moved rooms to the back of the hotel the following day, and every other night was excellent noise wise. Word of warning; if you want the best views it is likely you will have to compromise for lack of sleep. It must be said, the staff did a great job giving the circumstances they were given.

We had a couples hot stone massage in the Spa. It was fantastic, easily the best massage i've had.

The maintenance of the hotel, notably the finer detail was sometimes lacking, although this maybe due to it being out of the busy season. The door to the toilet in our first room had come of the runners and was difficult (although not impossible) to use. One of the lifts had an inner wall removed, so was slightly shabby but there was a sign up explaining.

One of the gems of this place is the vintage cinema with couples love seats in the back row. We used this twice after dinner and it was great. In fact it was one of the highlights. There is a pretty good choice of films (we opted for Rocky Horror Show and Grease), you can enjoy your wine there and get free popcorn. Highly recommended!

Breakfast was below average for this type of hotel. Every other place we stayed on honeymoon (and indeed in Cape town in the past) does a made to order breakfast. Pepper Club goes for the style you get at Premier Inn in the UK, which is not what I would expect for such a hotel. Given the dinner was so good this was a disappointment. If you go towards the back end of the breakfast sitting as we did, expect shrivelled sausages!

Overall we had a great stay at Pepper Club, and will go back if we are in Cape Town. The hotel do need to consider the noise issue, and how guests can be warned about it beforehand, so they have a choice of view/noise. The staff are excellent, and we could not have asked more of them.

Room Tip: Great views = Long street side Good nights sleep = As far from long street as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mallaig50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Food was excellent. Great variety of wines. I was very pleased to have stayed there. Right in the center of town. Walking distance to any club or restaurant. Perfect destination. I loved it!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moonshine23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pepper_Club_PR, Public Relations Manager at Pepperclub Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2012

We're so pleased that you had a fabulous stay with us! We hope that you think of us with fond memories and that we see you return in the summer months. Happy travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012 via mobile

The mini weekend getaway was as sublime as the marketing paraphernalia promised. With luxurious accommodations it is often down to the detail - a fact this hotel was well aware of. The beds are extraordinarily comfortable, the rooms are spacious and the spa devine! I'd recommend a Spa session - the best I've had!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robynvdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights along with a group on a leisure tour.

The rooms are very big and very nicely done. Bath rooms are big too with bath tub, separate rain shower, amenities etc. The only tricky part about the bath room is that there is literally no space near wash basin to keep your personal items like tooth paste, shaving gell etc. I had to keep my stuff over tissue paper box kept between the two wash basins.

There is a mini kitchen in the room, big size wardrobes, locker, tea/coffee making machine. Wifi was free in the room with password provided in the welcome letter. I had a room with the view of Table Mountain which was lovely. The hotel is very clean and very well maintained.

I was not happy with the choices available at breakfast. It was just 3* quality. There are only two restaurants in hotel.

The location of the hotel is very good. Just behind the hotel is the street with all the nighlife activity - bars/pubs, restaurants, clubs etc. If you want to have some party in Cape Town then this hotel is ideally located.

There are only two lifts in the hotel which are totally inadequate. One has to wait for a long time for the lift. There should have been at least one more lift. There is a service lift too but it also takes quite long to arrive because it is in constant use of hotel staff. Apart from the lift, the hotel has only one bottle opener! Well, this is what we were told when we asked for a bottle opener in the room. The guy came, opened the bottles and took the opener back.

Overall, I am happy to recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Cape Town. It is reasonably priced, centrally located, has very good rooms with a few shortcomings.

Room Tip: Ask for room with view of Table Mountain on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JavedAhmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

It's always a pleasure to arrive and be greated by a team keen to help with anything you will need to make your stay a pleasure!

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Bossfvz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pepper_Club_PR, Public Relations Manager at Pepperclub Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It is wonderful when guests acknowledge and commend our efforts and I shall certainly pass on your kind words to the Pepper Team.

Yours in service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,815 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#43 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,376 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#45 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel
#50 of 110 in Cape Town Central
718 reviews
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#27 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,761 reviews
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#26 of 110 in Cape Town Central
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pepperclub Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pepperclub Hotel & Spa

Address: Cnr Loop and Pepper Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#30 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#35 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#38 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#49 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $143 - $570 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pepperclub Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bound by Loop, Long, Pepper and Bloem Street, Pepperclub Hotel & Spa is situated in the heart of bustling Cape Town and at the foot of renowned Table Mountain and Lions Head. The hotel not only offers the ideal location, but also five star comfort and personalised service to suit the needs of both leisure and business travellers. Inspired by New York's chic interiors, the hotel consists of 210 generously appointed suites, all of which include spectacular views of Cape Town. Facilities at the hotel include, among others, the intimate Odeon cinema, a fully-equipped gymnasium and a swimming pool with panoramic views. Cayenne Spa, tucked away on the 8th floor of the hotel, offers sanctuary for guests with its modern aura and eclectic menu of modern treatments. Located on the ground floor is Pepperclub's exclusive Paparazzi Bar & Lounge and in-house restaurant, Sinatra's, which combines a stylish and modern setting with a menu inspired by European continental cuisine. The hotel also offers guests scheduled complimentary shuttles to the V&A Waterfront and Camps Bay, home to one of South Africa's most beautiful and picturesque beachfronts. It is here that you will also find our beach club facilities. Hotel guests will have exclusive VIP access to the beach club's showers, private lockers and changing and restroom facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pepperclub Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pepper Club Luxury Hotel And Spa
Pepper Club Luxury Hotel Cape Town Central
Pepperclub Hotel & Spa Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing