We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beware of the noise from Long Street” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pepperclub Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pepperclub Hotel & Spa
Ranked #48 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beware of the noise from Long Street”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2012

A very modern and generally well presented Hotel, sadly let down by three things:
#1 Location.
Fronting onto Long St. with its pack packer hostels and late night bars its probably not the location I would build a five star hotel! The noise at night does carry a long way up. Its wasn't a huge problem if you don't go to bed before 1am and are not tee-total.
#2 Location.
Because there are so many bars in the vicinity and presumably late night merry clients, the street corners near the Hotel are a mecca for hustlers. Beware of this area of Long St unless you have your wits about you, or are familiar with of some of the scams.
#3 Location.
Don't expect to impress people by telling them you stayed in a 5 star Hotel at the top end on Long St. especially if they know Cape Town of old. Let say, this was one of the favourite areas for the "Ladies of the Night".


Hotel Service was OK, but not as others reviewers have said; 5 Star.

Pool was small and very exposed being on the 8th Floor. Never seen waves like before on a pool.

Room Tip: Ask for Very High Floor away from Long St
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zachuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

836 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    310
    110
    45
    37
See reviews for
103
309
29
231
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
407 reviews
215 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 450 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2012

Our group of 17 guests found unbelievable that it's a 5-star hotel. The lobby is not spacious, not fabulous or impressive. The room inside is good however. Very spacious and clean. Toilet is in another cubicle from bathtub/shower but I prefer them to be in one for more convenience. It's a rainshower head but I prefer it to be the common one as sometimes I just want to clean the body without the head got wet. There is a kitchenette also.

Breakfast good but there is no one coming to offer hot tea or coffee.

Overall, not a bad hotel, just not fabulous or good enough to be ranked 5-star.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissHK2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
125 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2012

OK, there are two sides to this hotel, and I'll give you the positive first; the rooms are excellent, modern furniture, three plasma TV's, wireless internet. We took a suite for my wife and I and our 12 year old daughter... two large double bedrooms, a large lounge, leather settees, full kitchen, microwave, it really is a home from home. On the bad side... the only polite staff are found in the reception or at the bar, service is not good, and most things seem to be a great chore for most of the staff. They make you feel you are putting them out and they really cant be bothered. We had two jeans, a dress or two and a few small items laundered they charged us over £70.00 (this is a complete rip off as anywhere in Cape Town would charge you £20-25 MAX).

Location wise.... bit of a mixed bag too! the good thing is that you are right at the centre of Long Street, which is where the bars and night cliubs are so its great for night owls, the bad side is due to the bars and clubs, you simply cannot sleep due to the noise until about 2am.

Price wise, its over the top, If I had to gauge it against other Cape Town hotels I would say its about 20% over the top!

Apart from Breakfast which is actually quite good, the food is not good at all, especially room service, just go around the corner into Long Street.... hundreds of great little food places!

There's nothing really bad at this hotel, buty it doesn't quite make its pricing band in what it offers.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrettJolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA_to_GM, Public Relations Manager at Pepperclub Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 21, 2012
We would like to thank you for taking the time to send to us the review about your stay with us. You have made some valid points and as we previously commented in the review prior to yours, each and every comment is taken on board and utilised to amend our training program in order to provide a better service for our guests.

The spirit of Pepper Club and all the team members is to provide seamless service and the very best guest experience and as such, we will do whatever it takes to ensure that this happens. Your points have been noted and we hope to have you return to experience these improvements.

Yours in service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2012

The Pepper Club is located just off the liveliest part of Long Street, with its late bars and back-packer hostels. Noise wasn't a problem for us on the 12th floor, but it might be on lower floors. We stayed in a 2 bedroom appartment. It was very comfortable, clean, and well air-conditioned, but a bit small. Had a great view of table mountain. One bedroom had glass between the bedroom and bathroom, with no blinds to the external window. We had to use cushions to keep the morning light out. Kitchen had a hob and microwave but no cutlery or crockery apart from from 2 cups and 2 glasses. The public areas are nice but the pool is very small, though they do provide a shuttle bus to their trerraced restaurant at Camps Bay. The breakfast buffet is good, but the staff were a bit inefficient, and don't seem to appreciate the European urgency for coffee in the morning! The staff generally seem to lack customer service skills and motivation. We asked the concierge about car hire and were given the vaguest of directions to local car hire firms ("2 this way, 2 that way"). One evenning we returned just as the bar had finished serving. The barman agreed to serve us 2 beers but the manageress took them off him and we were offered no explanation from either of them. We certainly weren't drunk or rowdy, and after politely complaining we were told that it was because other guests on the terrace had been rowdy that they had decided to stop serving. All small issues individually, but collectively the feeling is that you don't get the level of service you'd expect at this price level. Its a shame because with a bit more effort it would be somewhere I would reccomend. As is, unless you are getting a bargain and can accept this level of service, consider other options.

Overall, nice accommodation, could be better run.

Room Tip: Request an upper floor away from Long Street to avoid street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steve33cdf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA_to_GM, Public Relations Manager at Pepperclub Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 15, 2012
The reason we, as an establishment, love Tripadvisor so much is that we are able to get feedback from guests that is current and detailed. We would like to thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback regarding your recent stay and in so doing, give us the opportunity to address the issues that you have raised.

We sincerely do take each and every point to heart. In fact, we take it so seriously that we have overhauled our training program as we strive for service excellence in every aspect of the guest experience.

Your feedback is vital to us in enabling us to grow, adapt and surpass guest expectations. We hope to see you return sooner rather than later to experience these improvements and would appreciate your feedback once more.
Yours in service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
164 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

Spa of the hotel is extremely comfortable for business travellers. Sauna, pool and cool 24x7 gym. It is all you need to support yourself. Room service is a little bit lazy, but concierge can solve any issue in a moment. Some people say the hotel is too close to Long street (a noisy busy pub crowl location), but I didn't feel it.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexander S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
675 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 372 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2012

The room was very nice with a great view of Table Mountain. It had a mini kitchen and a comfortable living room. The bed was good and the bathroom had a delicious bath tub. The negative point goes to the bathroom with almost no privacy, with a glass door. The service was a bit slow and breakfast arrangements were unorganized.
The location was good, next to Long Street restaurants and bars.
The Pepper Club by the Camps Bay beach was not more than a restaurant with lockers and showers.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RenataBiancalana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2012

I spent NYE 2012 at Cape Town and stayed for 4 nights with all my family at Pepper Club Hotel.
The Hotel is amazing, with beatiful and spacious rooms and an incredible view for Table Moutain.

However, it is not the rooms or the hotel structure that deserves mention. The best thing of Pepper Club is the service, specially the concierge Yazeed Fakier. He was incrediable and made the possible and the impossible to garantee that all our requests were met. Tours, tickets, transfers, restaurant bookings, everything was arranged quickly and acuratelly. More than that, he was always smiling and ready to help. The kind of people that don't take a no as an answer and will not rest until you are done for the day,

People like him that make South Africa an incredible place to visit!! So, if you are planning to visit Cape Town, Pepper Club is a very good option, just let Yazeed know that you are going, I am sure he will take care of everything and that you will have the time of your life!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guilherme G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA_to_GM, Public Relations Manager at Pepperclub Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 17, 2012
Your kind words have certainly spiced up OUR day! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we will certainly pass on the compliment to Yazied- our superstar at the Concierge desk.

We hope that you are now well rested and ready for a wonderful year ahead.

Yours in service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Taj Cape Town
#16 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,626 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#47 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,189 reviews
African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel
#32 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,458 reviews
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel & Spa
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel & Spa
#36 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pepperclub Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pepperclub Hotel & Spa

Property: Pepperclub Hotel & Spa
Address: Cnr Loop and Pepper Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#39 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#44 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#48 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#50 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pepperclub Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bound by Loop, Long, Pepper and Bloem Street, Pepperclub Hotel & Spa is situated in the heart of bustling Cape Town and at the foot of renowned Table Mountain and Lions Head. The hotel not only offers the ideal location, but also five star comfort and personalised service to suit the needs of both leisure and business travellers. Inspired by New York's chic interiors, the hotel consists of 210 generously appointed suites, all of which include spectacular views of Cape Town. Facilities at the hotel include, among others, the intimate Odeon cinema, a fully-equipped gymnasium and a swimming pool with panoramic views. Cayenne Spa, tucked away on the 8th floor of the hotel, offers sanctuary for guests with its modern aura and eclectic menu of modern treatments. Located on the ground floor is Pepperclub's exclusive Paparazzi Bar & Lounge and in-house restaurant, Sinatra's, which combines a stylish and modern setting with a menu inspired by European continental cuisine. The hotel also offers guests scheduled complimentary shuttles to the V&A Waterfront and Camps Bay, home to one of South Africa's most beautiful and picturesque beachfronts. It is here that you will also find our beach club facilities. Hotel guests will have exclusive VIP access to the beach club's showers, private lockers and changing and restroom facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Pepperclub Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pepper Club Luxury Hotel Cape Town Central
Pepper Club Luxury Hotel And Spa
Pepperclub Hotel & Spa Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing