We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WINTER STAY”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rockwell All Suite Hotel
Ranked #62 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Reviewed June 25, 2014

We stayed for a weekend .the staff was great and very helpful to assist with all our needs.the hotel got great finishes and were clean,the welcoming party is the security staff not a good reception as they were no friendly at all.so their is no welcoming drinks here .the rockwell could move to free internet and free parking the saftey of my family and posesions are dear to me including my car.yhe hotel got a noisy side so family s take note.this hotel is not on the waterfront.

Room Tip: Room 619 IS Harbour Facing On The still side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alroy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (569)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

396 - 402 of 569 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2014

We loved the convenience and central locations of the Rockwell. The hotel has a quant european style alley that has restaurants, bars, open area for chilling and reading, internet, etc. Pool and work out room works. Groceries across the street. Close to waterfront, Green Point, Kloof Street, hoping over the hill to Camps Bay. Will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eric M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

This has been raised with the manager of the hotel who apologized and indeed the GM called to also apologize and offer a complimentary stay to show us "the real Rockwell" which was nice of them to do however sadly we have not heard anything further from him or the hotel.

For the purposes of this review I wish I had known what I know now and had booked elsewhere as there are far nicer places to stay in Cape Town.

The apartment decor and facilities were all extremely tired - certainly not a 4 star experience. The apartment couch had cigarette burns, the table top was stained and marked, the carpets had holes in it and were threadbare in places, a wine glass in the kitchen was cracked, the shower room paint was peeling and cracked, the tiles looked discolored/moldy and the decorative red cushions on one of the beds had marks and stains.

The apartment also had not been well cleaned - there was a cigarette stub in an ashtray on the balcony, the fridge had not been cleaned out as there was an old ice bag in the freezer and the freezer compartment was totally iced over and and finally there were long black hairs in the bathtub. There was a bedside lamp missing from one bedroom and in the other bedroom one lamp was not working. The one bed had also been made up the wrong way around.

Generally awful! We had intended to extend our stay however could not wait to leave. Be prepared to pay extra for parking too in the basement of the building.

Location is convenient - close to the Waterfront and De Waterkant shopping however be prepared it can be noisy. Concierge was not hugely helpful or original in his recommendation of restaurants.

Really sorry to say this but really I would suggest you stay elsewhere! So disappointing!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JTGBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

The rooms are spacious: we were given a two bedroom suite. They're both modern and clean. There's a good breakfast which is served until 10:30. A couple of times during the stay the reception staff were inattentive, this was a shame as this could be a great hotel (really stands out considering how friendly everyone else in our trip was). On checkout the girl was more interested in her WhatsApp conversation than helping us with our parking. Having said that the boys behind the bar and who helped with breakfast were great!

A really lovely stay in Cape Town. Would recommend the Rockwell! Hopefully some of our sunny disposition rubbed off on the surly reception staff!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jhoward235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014 via mobile

We were booked in the Rockwell on a package deal and the apartment was very good. Good location of not wanting waterfront easy access to some very good restaurants and taxi to waterfront is only 30-50 rand bargain 50 down to 40. Keep hold of your bag! The staff at the Rockwell lack attention to detail (gave wrong passports back to clients!) and service is very slow. It is clean and comfortable though.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank OurKate50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Dear Colin and staff,

We would like to thank each and everyone of the Rockwell staff for the incredible dedication and care taken to ensure Chris had an incredible 21st. The food was divine! Thanks Heloise and team. The bar was perfectly supervised and efficient. Colin, your team made for a truly awesome evening and each one of our guests felt very special.

Thank you so much - I would recommend you guys in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LF21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonia T, Public Relations Manager at Rockwell All Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

Thank you Thank you Thank you....you have officially made our day! We are so glad your son had a fabulous 21st birthday celebration with us - some great memories for all...us included :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2014

We booked a 14 night stay in April, and on arrival our room 512, faced Table mountain with a stunning view, but Somerset Rd is the main arterial through to the Atlantic seaboard suburbs and frenetic all day and night., the hotel is surrounded by bars, night clubs, gay bars, restaurants, in the middle of the Pink village. The room was so tiny no room for 2 suitcases, and couldn't open the hanging closet door without removing a bedside table.
We changed rooms the following day to 120, 1st floor, and the bedroom was slightly larger but again when opening the hanging closet, the doors touched the bed. No TV or phone in bedroom, very poor lighting from 1 tiny box lighting above the bed, and 2 lamps.. The bathrooms are a disaster with the smallest narrow bath, the shower enclosure above the bath so cramped that washing my hair, my arms touched the wall and the enclosure. The hand basin resembled an oval salad bowl, just big enough to wash a t-shirt in. no soap dish holder, and no light above the mirror for shaving or doing makeup, and no window in the room and very bad lighting. The towels needed fabric softener. The equipped kitchenette had no cups and saucers. bedroom carpets were dirty and worn and should be replaced, lounge sofas also grubby, and the tiles on the balcony had not been cleaned in ages, coming away with black feet.. We paid approx.$120 US a night excluding vat, no breakfast and an extra $5 a night for undercover parking. Many choices in the same area, City Bowl, Green point or Waterfront. check various websites.

Room Tip: Property on 3 streets, Prestwich St side quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goldy61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
AHA Harbour Bridge Hotel & Suite...
#52 of 110 in Cape Town Central
400 reviews
StayEasy Cape Town City Bowl
#70 of 110 in Cape Town Central
62 reviews
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marr...
#80 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
De Waterkant Village
#94 of 110 in Cape Town Central
209 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#43 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,355 reviews
Hollow On The Square Cape Town C...
#79 of 110 in Cape Town Central
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockwell All Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockwell All Suite Hotel

Address: 32 Prestwich Street | Cnr Prestwich Street & Alfred Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#56 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $114 - $433 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rockwell All Suite Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally & conveniently located in trendy De Waterkant Village in Greenpoint, just 20 min from Cape Town International Airport & moments away from the hussle & bussle of Cape Town CBD surrounded by the natural beauty for which Cape Town is famous. Comprising 29 two-bedroom apartments, 16 one-bedroom apartments & 8 penthouses – all boasting separate bedrooms & bathrooms, fully-equipped kitchens & a generous lounge area, allowing for self-catering entertainment within a chic urban setting. Outdoor entertaining is equally attractive, with private balconies affording magnificent views of Table Mountain, Signal Hill, Fan Park & the Cape Town harbour. The new conference facilities are ideal for large events to intimate board meetings. Equipped with modern data projectors & Wi-Fi. Additional features include: Bar Lounge, Restaurant,Gym, heated indoor pool, 24hr security & undercover parking. The Rockwell All Suite Hotel & Apartments truly is your home away from home… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Rockwell All Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rockwell All Hotel Cape Town Central
Rockwell All Suite Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing