We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shocking & dont go!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rockwell All Suite Hotel
Johannesburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Shocking & dont go!”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Careless owner is one thing but the list of totally unacceptable conditions and things which happened during our stay are shocking.
From totally dirty floors, feet were black after one walk from the bathroom to the bed, to no electricity due to pre paid electricity meters in the rooms.
After our first night we got back to the room in the late afternoon and found the linen had not been changed – absolute no go! My friends staying at the same room waited 3 hrs for a hairdryer, besides having a not fully functioning TV, which does only allow you to view an absolute minimum of channels.

At the breakfast room we could see staff helping themselves at the buffet, cleaning out the bacon tray. No fresh cutlery on the tables nor does the coffee taste any good.

Our first room after the initial complain had wet carpets in the bedroom, after which we had plumbers walking through the room for 30min – with dirty shoes – oh please don’t think that housekeeping came to clean afterwards.
We were then “upgraded” where the fun continued.

Wanting to order an item from the room service menu at 15:00 in the afternoon, I was told that a breakfast Bagel with scrambled egg – sadly would not be possible – having said so, its an item on the room service menu not restricted to breakfast hours.

After a discussion with the owner and manager, I was told: “nothing I can do about it”

To end this shocking experience, the power was off in the entire building from 07:30 in the morning to approx.. 11:00 - no lights, no hairdryer, no breakfast etc .. how can you book out rooms knowing that the city of Cape Town will be working on your electricity supply, completing maintenance work! Never knew I had to stay at a hotel and sit in the dark while being on the toilet – sorry my language but this was the worse ever experience! Staying more than 180 days a year in different hotels around the world – I may say that at my current stay in Shanghai, without any issue it was possible for me to order hot breakfast in the middle of the night and even shower with lights in my bathroom.
I certainly am very difficult when it comes to service and hotels but lets be honest there are limits and this has crossed the boarder!


Absolute shocking service – poor employees!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FreddySA008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonia T, Public Relations Manager at Rockwell All Suite Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Once again, as stated in person and via the various tourism bureaus you contacted, we apologise for your negative experience. As we constantly strive to improve and correct mistakes made -we have investigated and addressed all your complaints and have rectified accordingly amongst the various staff departments. Re: the 2-hour power shut off by the City of Cape Town: unfortunately this was entirely out of our control and could not be avoided. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    200
    85
    26
    33
See reviews for
160
146
19
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire, UK
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in one of the 3-bed apartments (7th floor, #709, mountain facing) to visit some of our favourite places in Cape Town. The mix of hotel facilities (bar, restaurant, pool etc) along with the flexibility of self-catering facilities in the apartment was ideal for a short break. Secure, underground parking. Good service.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SmartN01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonia T, Public Relations Manager at Rockwell All Suite Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
We are so incredibly pleased to hear you enjoyed our stay with us...Thank you for your compliments. Please visit again SOON. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stayed here for the first time in 2011, and were happy to book another stay here for our honeymoon this fall.

I booked via booking.com and got a really good deal on a two bedroom suite, so even though we didn't need two bedrooms we choose to book it because it was cheaper than the smaller rooms. And that turned out to be a really good choice, a spacious appartement with two bedrooms, two bathrooms, livingroom and kitchen. But the best part was the view over Signal Hill, Lion's Head and Table Mountain. You could see this from the huge veranda, the livingroom and the master bedroom.

Location is good with about a 10-15 min walk to both Long Street and Waterfront area. There's a huge spar just across the road, several car rentals near by and a couple of really good restaurats.

You can get (bad)wifi in the rooms, or you can get free and good wifi in the bar area downstairs. Reception was so amazing the whole time, we arrived late and they helped out finding somewhere we could eat and when they came up short the barman found us a taxi and came up with several good options. Reception also ordered taxis for us almost every day, and it's much cheaper when they do it, though prices are really low even when the taxidriver charges you double on the way back. We had a late flight going home from Cape Town and once again the hotel was nice enough to let us keep the room for a really small fee.

Room Tip: 608, high up so you're not bothered by the noise, but with a great view of Table Mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FotoCath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonia T, Public Relations Manager at Rockwell All Suite Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Music to our ears! We love that you picked us as a destination to enjoy your honeymoon. And its double pleasing that you had such a good time - thank you for your comments..we truly appreciate them.
Wishing you much happiness and beautiful memories - and hoping you celebrate many Anniversaries with us! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 7, 2013

When I browsed this hotel, i saw lots of comment regarding to clean. However, from the pictures, all the flats/houses looks awesome, so i booked it anyway. When I first went in the room, i smelled something, but i just couldn't find where it came from. I saw the grease on the kitchen countertop, all the scratches/grease on the pan and pot and "blurry" glasses in the cabinet, some hair on the couch... The second morning, I was waken up by a really strong "sewer system" smell. Have you ever been to the wild park toilet? yes, it is that kind of strong smell in the room. I complained to the front desk and require to change room but they didn't respond. In the evening, the smell came back again, finally I found out in one of the cabinet, suppose to use that for washer/dryer but empty, there is a big hole for the pipe connecting, that's where the smell come from...even they use a lot of tape on the hole, the smell can still come out. I shut the cabinet immediately because I hope I won't see anything beside "smell" to come out. After I told them exactly where the smell comes from, they changed the room immediately. This happened in 2012 and I hope they fix that problem already. but anyway, I feel the whole building circulation has some problem and the cleaning lady didn't clean the room well. I wouldn't go back to this suite in the future.
我在2012年時入住這間飯店,當時看網路上評價都說這間飯店不是太乾淨,但是照片很漂亮,我還是訂了。一進到飯店發現廚房流理臺很髒,所有的鍋俱都有一層油垢,玻璃杯很髒。第二天早上我是被一股很濃的廁所味道驚醒的,打去要求換房間卻沒有結果。第二天晚上我終於在其中一個本來應該是放洗衣機的櫥櫃裡發現味道來源,因為裡面有一個很大的洞,連接管線用的,即使他們用很多膠帶封住,那味道還是很濃。我打去告訴他們我發現味道來源,他們也立刻換房間了。只是這整棟大樓的通風有問題,而且清潔人員打掃的真的很不乾淨,不會推薦給朋友也不想回來住了。

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda0802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Spent 1 night at the Rockwell. Our apartment faced the busy main road overlooking a petrol station and was very noisy. There was a wonderful view of Table Mountain but for a bit of peace and quiet I would recommend a room facing Table Bay instead. There were a few issues with maintainance - the patio door came off its runners and a light bulb in the second bedroom exploded. The apartment was fitted with a washing machine, tumble-dryer, fridge, microwave but mismatched crockery, cutlery and glassware. The frying pan supplied was old and scratched. Breakfast was disappointing, dried out and we had to ask to have items replenished. Also the butter was rancid. However the staff was great, helpful and obliging.
The barman mixes a great cocktail!
The hotel is well situated for the city, the Waterfront and surrounded by plenty of restaurants, clubs and shops. The noise was the major issue.

Room Tip: Not facing the busy road and garage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKvisitor1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

If you want Apartheid era service, you'll not be surprised. This is one place I genuinely felt this place has a long way to go in terms of giving equal service to everyone. I especially felt the manager Collin was abrasive and can't reccommend this to anyone.

The place itself is situated in a nice location and very accessible to main tourist attactions.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank W B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape town
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

I was fortunate to win a week end at the Rockwell. We live in the southern suburbs of Cape town so are no strangers to the city but it was great to have a city bowl escape for the week end.

Our first night was spent without kids. It was great to just sit on the balcony and watch the goings on below. Our apartment was directly above the petrol garage and was quite fun to see what goes on there during the night. We were not bothered by any noise so the windows and doors must be fairly soundproof. We did find that our particular apartment could have had more maintenance work/upkeep, as the one lamp shade next to the bed was broken and there were many essential kitchen supplies not provided, basic but essential.

We were told that the kids could sleep on the ottomans provided. We have 2 kids and there were 2 ottomans, but the ottomans were 30 x 30 cms big. I would love to see how a kids can sleep on that. Luckily the couch was very comfy so we put the cushions on the floor and they slept very comfortably.

The gym and pool is lovely. Stunning view as you swim the long length of the indoor heated pool. (we were there end April so was the start of our winter)

The whole apartment block is very modern and has quite a European flair. The restaurant below called Cafe Dijon has a very Parisian feel and has won awards and many good reviews. The bar area in the foyer is also lovely with a big grand piano in the middle.

As mentionted, the view of table mountain was pretty awesome and the patio big enough to even have a friend or 2 over for sundowners.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rikke H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#61 of 109 in Cape Town Central
976 reviews
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Tow...
#32 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,930 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#34 of 109 in Cape Town Central
970 reviews
The PortsWood
#47 of 109 in Cape Town Central
726 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockwell All Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockwell All Suite Hotel

Property: Rockwell All Suite Hotel
Address: 32 Prestwich Street | Cnr Alfred Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 127 Specialty Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rockwell All Suite Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally & conveniently located in trendy De Waterkant Village in Greenpoint, just 20 min from Cape Town International Airport & moments away from the hussle & bussle of Cape Town CBD, The V&A Waterfront & some of the trendiest shopping & dining venues.Offering an enticing blend of contemporary urban style & inner-city excitement, surrounded by the natural beauty for which Cape Town is famous. Comprising 39 two-bedroom apartments, 17 one-bedroom apartments & 3 lavish penthouses – all boasting separate bedrooms & bathrooms, fully-equipped kitchens & a generous lounge area, allowing for self-catering entertainment within a chic urban setting. Outdoor entertaining is equally attractive, with private balconies affording magnificent views of Table Mountain, Signal Hill, Fan Park & the Cape Town harbour.The new state-of-the-art conference facilities are ideal for large events to intimate board meetings. Equipped with modern data projectors & Wi-Fi.Additional features include: Bar Lounge, Restaurant,Gym & wellness area, heated indoor pool, health & beauty treatment suite, 24hr security & undercover parking.The Rockwell All Suite Hotel & Apartments truly is your home away from home… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Rockwell All Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rockwell All Hotel Cape Town Central
Rockwell All Suite Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing