We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it did rock ....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rockwell All Suite Hotel
Johannesburg - South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“it did rock ....”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

if not for the small damp patches on the wall and bath surround of the bathroom in 121, i'd have said my stay was pretty faultless. Clean, comfortable, quiet and within close proximity to the CTICC (where i was attending a four day exhibition) the Rockwell was everything i needed. with self catering facilities, AND room service from the downstairs restaurant my stay was pleasant from start to end. it's great value for money in the often overpriced Cape Town city bowl, and convenient to the city's central attractions. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigMac-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    200
    85
    26
    33
See reviews for
160
146
19
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Herault, France
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

We rented Rockwell 502 from Holiday Accommodation who own only a small number of apartments in the complex.

The apartment was well furnished and included a washing machine, tumble drier and dishwasher - great when you are on a four week visit. There was a bedroom, bathroom and lounge dining area. The lounge had a very uncomfortable (for sitting on, we didn't use it as a bed) bed settee. There was a terrace looking towards the sea, but the noise from the elevated road made it unusable because of the noise. We had a reserved parking space.

The area was convenient with medium sized supermarkets to hand and we had no problems with safety.

We were surprised that staff came into the apartment to clean, given that this wasn't mentioned by the owner and that the flat was privately owned. We didn't have any problems, however.

There was no safe and no wifi in the apartment. There is a some wifi in the reception area, but that's five floors down.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LifeinHerault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

First impressions were good, but we experienced THEFT from employees from our apartment. The Executive Director said he would follow up, we never heard any more from him. It ended up that we asked they stop and clean our room. We even changed bedding and towels provided in the lobby by ourself. Bar and breakfast areas were clean but completely without atmosphere. There are so many great hotels in Cape Town, and I have stayed in many of them. Will never return here!

Room Tip: Room/apartment was OK, but a lot of noise from outside and a lot of strange people around on the out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank photokjos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puebla
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

I've stayed there for more than 18 weeks in total. Between 2012 and recently April 2013.

Very good option, however they need to improve:

• the area is not safe at all after afternoon. I got pepper sprayed just going to the pick&pay crossing the street.

• the internet is just awful 36kb/seg wifi. And very expensive. Some rooms have no signal at all.

• the pool is not clean most of the time.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LGBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We spent 4 nights in Cape Town at The Rockwell and together with the great location, which allowed access to all the main areas of the city, was excellent accommodation.
The staff were extremely friendly, the accommodation ample and clean. The apartment had 2 rooms and 2 bathrooms - which was more than we needed (only 2 of us), and the kitchen had all the necessary pots and pans to make meals instead of eating out 3 times a day. The balcony added more space.
The SPAR supermarket close by is fantastic and well stocked with gourmet food and groceries (and a large selection of hardware items).
Secure parking is available with lifts directly to the room floors without having to go through the reception ever time you go out.
We chose not to have the apartment serviced while we were there - which was fine for the 4 days we stayed.
The only problem is that we couldn't work out the airconditioning (was hot at night) - but didn't really worry about it. I am sure if we had asked they would have sorted it out.

The entrance /reception level has a bar and large seating area that allows facility to wait in comfort should the need arise.

Overall - really impressed. We'll definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We were on the 1st floor facing south - it was a bit noisy but this is to be expected with the locat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngelaBax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We just finished staying at the Rockwell for the month of February, and again enjoyed it very much. Since our stay last year, it has improved. They have strengthened and reduced the price of the wifi, opened a nice restaurant and clothing store in the lobby, and are overall incredibly friendly and helpful. The workout room / pool is adequate. The security is excellent (including indoor parking), and the staff go out of their way to be friendly.

We again rented our 2 bedroom through the BIP group as a self-catering unit, which was a painless experience.

For us, the location is the selling point. You are in the middle of De Waterkant - a vibrant inner city neighborhood with lots of restaurants, shops, and bars (both gay and straight). We were comfortable walking in the 'hood at night - a big plus. Given that you're very urban, it is noisy right outside the hotel - but that wasn't a big deal for us.

The biggest drawback is the slight drain smell that wafts through the units at different times. It did go away, but sometimes it was necessary to air out the unit if the doors / windows had been shut all day. The smell is the only reason why it does not get all fives.

We will stay there again, and I do recommend it for those who want a true apartment in a great location.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the foreshore are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wrldtvlr27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Our three night stay here was an absolute treat and I recommend this place for people who are looking for self-catering AND/OR full service, depending on their mood at any given time.

Speaking for the two bedroom suite on the 6th floor we stayed in:
- it was plump with comfort and style; modern furniture, clean lines, posh white and black decor.
- spacious and well designed for treating yourself to a little bit of luxury, not over the top though.
- full sized T.V. with movie channels.
- in suite washer and dryer.
- full kitchenette that was somewhat lacking in kitchen utensils though (a sharp cutting knife and chopping board come to mind).
- large balcony with a table and chair set.
- a super comfortable king sized bed in the main bedroom and an equally enjoyed double-sized bed in the second bedroom.
- en suite bathroom on the master bedroom and a second bathroom.
- WIFI is available at a per day cost, though it is free in the lobby.
- keypad safe in the master bedroom.
- super clean and new and kept pristine by the very friendly and accommodating housekeepers.
- key card locks.

The hotel itself:
- has 24 hours security personnel.
- requires a key card for the elevator to work (bonus security).
- has a swimming pool (though we missed the chance to visit it).
- has a small bistro in the lobby.
- offers very reasonably priced room service with a good menu.
- is located near the harbour and some construction sites, which was only a very minor noise issue that was nullified by the sound-proofing in the suite.
- has a good selection of very good to excellent restaurants within walking distance as well as some night clubs (i.e. some noise at night but not too bad, but very convenient if you want a little party time before bed ).
- has a grocery store and a convenience store just up the block or so, which made the self-catering part SO easy.
- has okay staff members; the day staff was polite but the night staff was a luke-warm in the charm department.
-- however, the staff did go 'above and beyond' to help us, as our stay here was not planned and they made us a great last minute arrangement that saved us for the horrid place we had booked ( but that's another story).

This was a highly enjoyable stay and a very lucky find; it was the best part of our Cape Town adventure and would be a great location for couples looking for a home-base while they explored the city. The cost was appropriate for the services and accommodation – meaning it was not cheap but it was worth every rand. I would easily come back here on my next stay in Cape Town. For our fellow gay folks, you are right in the heart of a hotspot – lots to do here!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blucadern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#61 of 109 in Cape Town Central
976 reviews
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Tow...
#32 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,930 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#34 of 109 in Cape Town Central
970 reviews
The PortsWood
#47 of 109 in Cape Town Central
726 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockwell All Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockwell All Suite Hotel

Property: Rockwell All Suite Hotel
Address: 32 Prestwich Street | Cnr Alfred Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 127 Specialty Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rockwell All Suite Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally & conveniently located in trendy De Waterkant Village in Greenpoint, just 20 min from Cape Town International Airport & moments away from the hussle & bussle of Cape Town CBD, The V&A Waterfront & some of the trendiest shopping & dining venues.Offering an enticing blend of contemporary urban style & inner-city excitement, surrounded by the natural beauty for which Cape Town is famous. Comprising 39 two-bedroom apartments, 17 one-bedroom apartments & 3 lavish penthouses – all boasting separate bedrooms & bathrooms, fully-equipped kitchens & a generous lounge area, allowing for self-catering entertainment within a chic urban setting. Outdoor entertaining is equally attractive, with private balconies affording magnificent views of Table Mountain, Signal Hill, Fan Park & the Cape Town harbour.The new state-of-the-art conference facilities are ideal for large events to intimate board meetings. Equipped with modern data projectors & Wi-Fi.Additional features include: Bar Lounge, Restaurant,Gym & wellness area, heated indoor pool, health & beauty treatment suite, 24hr security & undercover parking.The Rockwell All Suite Hotel & Apartments truly is your home away from home… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Rockwell All Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rockwell All Hotel Cape Town Central
Rockwell All Suite Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing