We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Ultimate Holiday Home..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rockwell All Suite Hotel
Ranked #66 of 111 Hotels in Cape Town Central
A Holiday Lettings verified reviewer
Arusha, Tanzania
7341
Reviewed November 14, 2012

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Thank A Holiday Lettings verified reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (542)
There are newer reviews for Rockwell All Suite Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

435 - 441 of 542 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2012

Everytime you enter the apartment there was s terrible smell of sewage !! The agent said this block has this problem as so many apartments stand empty the pipes dry out bit nothing we tried could get rid of it running water, bleach, etc, it made you feel sick .

Also only book on harbour side of building otherwise mountain view side is on Somerset road very very busy so be prepared to be up at 8am every morning with traffic noise and local gay pub thudding music dont finish till 2am 4am at weekends also there is 24 hour petrol station outside balcony with petrol stench wafting up if your on balcony.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ts1556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We had the worst nightmares during our stay at The Rockwell. We blame ourselves and our agent for ignoring the reviewer who warned that people are “rocked at the Rockwell.
As losing a valuable project camera by my college on fifth floor was not enough, our formal complaint was treated as if nothing at all happened. There was no formal approach from management after submitting our complaint. Being multilingual myself, I had to accompany my colleague as he launched his complaint about a camera stolen from his room on his fifth floor apartment. As we left reception were informed that management would speak to us about the incident the next day. The day arrived but no-one ever spoke to us about the incident. We waited, and waited for quite a number of days. Having to wait for nearly two weeks for a hotel management to attend to us about theft by, obviously, one or more of their staff members was the more disgusting than the theft itself. It was until the second week that we decided to follow up. We approached a nice gentleman, Wander who was mostly seen at night. The gentleman handled our colleague’s ‘complaint about a complaint” very professionally. He listened. He apologized profusely on behalf of the hotel several times. He promised that he would make sure at least one manager spoke to us the first thing the next morning.
Unfortunately, we had such a busy schedule the next day that we left the hotel very early and therefore could not avail ourselves for the hotel management. We were, however, relieved on our return to find Jean, a very humble gentleman waiting to listen to both of our complaints. The second unbelievable nightmare was when we requested for a few beers and wine bottle one morning. We had requested for such stuff before and got them without conditions. I made a phone call to reception from a friend’s apartment. Coincidentally, Wander was at the reception that morning. He recognized my voice and quickly checked with me if any of the managers had contacted us about the stolen camera. I was humbled by that question and I confirmed to him that Jean and another lady manager had spoken to us. I then requested for a wine bottle and a few beers. I was promised a callback as he was to speak to Rene, first. We were surprised to hear that according to Rene,the Restaurant Manager, we could not be served with beer at that time of the day. I then asked If Wanda could not help me by speaking to Rene if I tipped him with R500.00. I was shocked to hear him blatantly declare that if he were to successfully speak to René he wanted NO payment, whatsoever. " i dont help you for money but as one of our special guests", I vividly remember him saying. I quickly cut the conversation short as I noticed that I was speaking to an incorruptibly principled gentleman. I pretended as if I were joking. I asked for a transfer to Rene’s extension who made it clear that she could not "just open" the bar outside licensed hours. I understood her tone and language that she would not do me a “favor for nothing and asked if I could get the alcohol if offered a R1000 tip to which she agreed and promised to send 6 Windhoek bottles and a bottle of red wine. I commended her for knowing our favorite wine albeit sarcastically. Within two minutes of conclusion of the “deal’ we were served in our colleague’s room on 5th floor, with alcohol worth R225 for which I forked out R1225-00. Being a Sunday morning, we had our female visitors as usual and we needed beer; but to pay six times more a price to a hotel worker was unthinkable, more-so to a manager. I later came down to share my experience with Wander but I was told he had knocked off having worked a night shift. That was the first day in my life to come face to face with gangster type of greed and corruption wrapped in an extortionist smile. Before then, I always read about it in newspapers. I am back in Cape Town for a short business trip but my budget does not allow for a repeat of my August experience. I am staying at another hotel a few hundred meters away and am not yet annoyed. A score of 2 presents a fair balance of my experiences.
The looks of the hotel are great though!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PBoon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We booked a 3 night stay which turned into a 4 night one... It was supposed to be Spring, but ended up being full blown winter weather! David was kind enough to drive us 20 mins away to do coat shopping! The rooms are spacious and tastefully decorated, the balcony was massive, the kitchen layout great and the washer and dryer was a very helpful and pleasant surprize! There are a lot of amazing restaurants around, the Spar situated in the Cape Quarter behind the hotel is the best I've been in, and for every other after hour emergency the BP gas station with PNP Mini-Market is right there! If morning java is important to you, there is a Vida E Cafe just down the street. The V&A Waterfront is walking distance from the hotel, but a cab costs around $5, which the hotel gets for you. Any advice on restaurants, sight-seeing or any other topic is not too much to ask of the staff. They even make table reservations on your behalf. The Wifi was a bit tricky to get going on our iPads at first, but after that it was working fine. The fully equipped kitchen was a great thing to have, since we grow tired of restaurant food 24/7. All in all? A wonderful hotel, great staff, superb location and a winning recipe!!! Cannot wait for the next stay!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
Thank LunaLii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terri L, Online Marketing at Rockwell All Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Hi LunaLii,

Thanks so much for the lovely feedback. We always strive to give our guests the best experience and we are grateful for the positive feedback.

Regards,
The Rockwell team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

I was worried based in some of the negative reviews I read here but have to say my friends and I were very pleased with our suite. We were three and had a large two bedroom with great views of table mountain from our balcony. The apartment had everything we needed and other than a slightly strange smell at first (which receded) it was spotless and well furnished.

Very close to V&A waterfront, Long street and easy access to nearby restaurants. Would serve as a great base for a family or group traveling to Cape Town for several days. And you can't beat the price difference compared to other hotels.

Definitely recommend.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Travel987654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Stayed on business, booked penthouse arrived but room had been drowned so we were downgraded.We got a full refund but frankly was not what we wanted. Room cold, thin duvet, awful dinner, no hairdryer - when we asked for one we received a broken one that did not work and so it went on...So all in all do not recommend

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BWHJhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

rockwell was great for our family of four and allowed us the freedom of selfcontained kitchen cooking. Wifi was excellent. rooms were comfortable and clean. Concierge service was exceptional. they have a service to drop you at the V and A which is very handy and we enjoyed a walk home to our apartment after a day of sight seeing. great restaurants nearby too.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erinkarratha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.6 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,513 reviews
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#62 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,007 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#6 of 111 in Cape Town Central
2,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#54 of 111 in Cape Town Central
628 reviews
0.3 mi away
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Tow...
#31 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,996 reviews
0.3 mi away
Southern Sun The Cullinan
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#23 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockwell All Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockwell All Suite Hotel

Address: 32 Prestwich Street | Cnr Prestwich Street & Alfred Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#59 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $123 - $308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rockwell All Suite Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally & conveniently located in trendy De Waterkant Village in Greenpoint, just 20 min from Cape Town International Airport & moments away from the hussle & bussle of Cape Town CBD surrounded by the natural beauty for which Cape Town is famous. Comprising 29 two-bedroom apartments, 16 one-bedroom apartments & 8 penthouses – all boasting separate bedrooms & bathrooms, fully-equipped kitchens & a generous lounge area, allowing for self-catering entertainment within a chic urban setting. Outdoor entertaining is equally attractive, with private balconies affording magnificent views of Table Mountain, Signal Hill, Fan Park & the Cape Town harbour. The new conference facilities are ideal for large events to intimate board meetings. Equipped with modern data projectors & Wi-Fi. Additional features include: Bar Lounge, Restaurant,Gym, heated indoor pool, 24hr security & undercover parking. The Rockwell All Suite Hotel & Apartments truly is your home away from home… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Rockwell All Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rockwell All Hotel Cape Town Central
Rockwell All Suite Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing