We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Plain restaurant with authentic Cape Malay Cuisine”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Biesmiellah

Biesmiellah
Ranked #190 of 1,142 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Cuisines: African, Asian, Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Plain restaurant with authentic Cape Malay Cuisine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

I stopped by with 5 guests from L.A. for a bite of some typical Malay dishes I had been talking about. We were not disappointed with a great vegetable curry some denning vleis and of course starters including beef samosas. The salad was a bit thin so we ordered extra. Service was slow, but they were busy and we had lots to talk about. An 8 out of 10 for a great mid day meal of many small tasters..

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Teddyweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    71
    27
    14
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
140 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Good food but not necessarily a place to definitely go”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

Service is great. They are very attentive and nice. Food is good. It is not crowded at all, since it is away from touristy areas. Prices are average or slightly above average. Overall, not a place that you should definitely check out but if you are in the bo-kaap or de waterkaant area, then go here.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank eerdem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
139 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Traditional Cape Malay food in a beautiful setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

Biesmiellah is in the Bo Kaap, Cape Malay district of Cape Town. We had wanted to try authentic Cape Malay food for a while and finally did - it was really good. We tried the Tomato Bredie and the Pienang Curry, neither was what we had expected, but both were excellent and we will try more of their menu. The food wasn't as spicy as we were expecting and a bit sweet, but the combination was amazing. The roti was also very well prepared as were the standard sides served with the food.

The interior decoration is also beautifully done and the staff are very friendly and humble.

The pricing does feel a bit touristy though.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, Vermont
Level Contributor
155 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Excellent authentic Cape Malay curries & other dishes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

Following a recommendation from Bon Appetit, we had dinner here last evening. The chicken curry was the best we've ever had. The small dishes of Atchar and onion & tomato sambal were piquant accompaniments. The waitress was dignified and knowledgable while guiding our choices. The restaurant is non-alcoholic, but fruit juices were superb. The restaurant is simple in decor and in the middle of the BoKaap (Cape Malay) area at 2 North Wale Street. A unique & wonderful dining experience.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PeterBrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Really good meal!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

We were staying locally in Bo Kaap at the time and ate locally quite late after a very busy day.

The restaurant was nearly empty when we arrived 9.30 ish in evening (although a weekday) and had only a couple of tourists and a local family. The restaurant was quite basic although in fairness Biesmielah doesn't try to claim its something it isn't.

When the waitress came to serve us she was delightfully friendly and told us to relax, enjoy the food and to lick our fingers afterwards! I did aswell!

We ordered Denning Vleis and a Daal with a couple of starters / sides. When the food came it was delicious. The meat was falling apart in the mouth and the spice mix was perfect. Was my first experience of Cape Malay cooking and I wasn't disapointed.

Also returned to use the take out section after a night out and fully recommend the steak sandwich!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul_and_B_Xmas_stay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Biesmiellah also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Biesmiellah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing