We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious and well situated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel
Ranked #40 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Centurion, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
164 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Luxurious and well situated”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Has all the facilities expected of a top-range hotel and is situated in the centre of Cape Town. It is large and modern and has no atmosphere. However, the staff are genuinely
warm, friendly and helpful, which does make a difference. Expensive, so more suitable for expense account guests and foreign visitors from countries with strong currencies.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DouglasAllen, General Manager at African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Anna B

Thank you for your review and for staying at African Pride 15 on Orange hotel. We are delighted to receive your compliments about the STAFF friendliness and will certainly congratulate them.

Your comments are therefore much appreciated, and we hope to have the privilege of welcoming you to our hotel again soon.

Kind regards
Douglas Allen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    197
    45
    23
    17
See reviews for
77
270
34
176
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

My partner and I travelled to Cape Town over the festive season and although the hotel was expensive it was such a Awesome place to stay. right in the heart of the City bowl , within walking distance to the city centre and some awesome restaurants. The only issues we experienced was with the bad service on the pool deck , with the staff not being available , we had to call down to reception to send staff to the pool deck and the fact that the staff from the pool deck do not clean up after guest have eaten etc and this resulted in the pool deck being very untidy and unkept. We had a issue with the room safe that was immediately sorted out by maintenance , but when we advised them that the glass bathroom door was falling off its hinges , this was never attended to during out stay-hopefully sorted out before it falls on someone!

Room Tip: try for rooms that are not street facing , can get a bit noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WarrenJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DouglasAllen, General Manager at African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear WarrenJohannesburg,

We welcome your feedback regarding your recent stay at African Pride 15 on Orange Hotel.
Your concerns about the service are most certainly not the standard which we strive for. Please accept my sincere apologies and I can assure you that this has been addressed with the TEAM.

Your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us.

We hope to welcome you back to our hotel again soon.

Kind regards
Douglas Allen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Checked in while traveling alone with my 3 month old baby for a 2 night stay from 3 to 5 January 2014. On arrival my booked room (deluxe suite) wasn't quite ready yet despite having requested an early check in from the hotel if possible. I didn't mind the delay as normal check in time is 2pm and we arrived at 1.30pm. At 2pm exactly, Nafuna from reception came to apologise for the delay on my requested early check in and informed me that I have been given a complimentary upgrade to a penthouse suite by way of an apology. No apology needed, but I gladly accepted the upgrade!

Our suite was perfect - large lounge area which leads onto a beautiful bedroom with a huge bathroom and plenty of closet space. Best of all, a cot for my baby was already placed in the room with beautiful, immaculate percale cot linen. The porters were always extremely helpful during our stay, always ready to assist with the mountain of luggage when traveling with a baby. Our stay was perfect and even though our room faced onto the busy Orange Road (room 330), there was no noise whatsoever. Best of all was the exquisite uninterrupted view of Table Mountain and Leeuwkop from whichever part of our suite you were in (except from the bathroom obviously). One cannot ask for a better location from which to explore Cape Town, the hotel is brilliantly located a 2 minute walk from the vibrant Kloof Street restaurants and a 5 minute drive to the Waterfront and other tourist attractions. Loads of restaurant options and shops within walking distance.

Every interaction with hotel staff was a pleasure and everything was attended to promptly and professionally. It was also refreshing to stay in a hotel where every single member of staff that you encounter in public areas or hotel corridors would pro-actively greet you first with genuine enthusiasm and offer to help or assist with the baby or pram at all times.

On check out, I had the pleasure of dealing with Nafuna again who seemed sincerely and genuinely interested to find out how our stay was. The porter on duty (Aseef I think) who collected our luggage from the room, kindly offered to collect my rental car from the basement parking and bring it round to the front door. After settling the bill, Aseef was ready and waiting to escort us to the car, assisted with securing the baby seat and best of all, had perfectly and neatly packed all our luggage already! This stay was truly out of the ordinary and I would like to commend the team at 15 on Orange for an awesome and flawless guest experience, making for a memorable stay in Cape Town. Thank you very much, and I look forward to our next stay later this year!

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with suite 330 in terms of views of Table Mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lm1Johannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DouglasAllen, General Manager at African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear lm1Johannesburg,

Thank you for your lovely feedback regarding your stay at our hotel.

I am delighted to hear that the STAFF were so friendly and efficient. Your commendations of Nofuna and Faseeg in particular are highly valued, and I wish to assure you that we have congratulated them for doing such an outstanding job!

We look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit.

Kind regards
Douglas Allen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Having previously stayed at the African Pride in Melrose Arch our expectations were exceptionally high upon arrival at 15 on Orange , for its ideal and historic location there were a few things that let this hotel down. Although the lady who checked us in was exceptional and friendly, arriving at our room after 20 hours of travel to a room that had not been sufficiently cleaned was an absolute pain. The room had no towels and there was half eaten food in the fridge as well as dirty bandages left on the side of the bath, disgusting to say the least, at the rates one is paying the standards of cleanliness were atrocious.The following day after a day on the beach we arrived to a room that once again had not been cleaned and had to request room service to clean the room in the evening, unacceptable. Another point is your concierge, the lady working at the front desk has zero knowledge and was of absolute no help to us as tourists in the city. You have some really wonderful staff but unfortunately the vast majority were not on par with the service we had received at the Johannesburg branch.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Syreeta27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DouglasAllen, General Manager at African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Syreeta27,

It is extremely disappointing to learn of your recent experience. Your feedback is important to us and the TEAM have been looking into the concerns that you raised.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the unacceptable housekeeping service, both on arrival and the general service of your room. This is definitely not the standard that we pride ourselves on and are well known for.

Please contact me at gm@15onorangehotel.com to discuss your really below standard stay with us,as we would really appreciate being given another opportunity to accommodate you with our compliments to ensure you experience true African Pride 15 on Orange Hotel service and hospitality.

Kind regards
Douglas Allen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Modern hotel with impressive finishes. Nice location if you want to get around CPT quickly. Nice conferencing facilities. Professional staff. Beautiful views of Table Mountain. Great business conference venue. Not a typical holiday type hotel unless you want to be close to the city.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAquiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DouglasAllen, General Manager at African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear MAquiel

Thank you for all of your positive words about your recent stay. It was our pleasure to accommodate you, and your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to African Pride 15 on Orange Hotel again soon.

Kind regards
Douglas Allen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

I am a prokard gold member and was lucky enough to be upgraded on arrival to a fabulousness 2 bed suite with table mountain views. I was only in the city for the day so. The room was for day use only but it was spectacular.

The suite was huge with full kitchen, large dining area and lounge as well as a large terrace with table mountain views.

Service was excellent and I ate a burger which was very good.

The hotel is at the edges of the city centre close to long street so slightly away from the waterfront area but this was not essential for my visit.

Some of the regular rooms have interior only views so if this is not to your liking ensure you pay for a higher room catagory.

Room Tip: Avoid the interior rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank p750777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DouglasAllen, General Manager at African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear p750777

Thank you for providing us with your positive feedback and as a loyal prokard holder, it was our pleasure to assist with the upgrade to a two bedroomed suite.

We are delighted to receive your commendations about the impressive service offered and I will congratulate our TEAM for doing a good job!

Your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us.

We look forward to welcoming you to African Pride 15 on Orange Hotel again soon!

Kind regards
Douglas Allen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davao City, Philippines
Level Contributor
143 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2013

I was impressed by the rooms and the lobby. We stayed at room 303 which was bigger than the average rooms

Each floor had different themes so a little research will go a long. It was in the middle of everything when we visited Capetown. I will definitely come back to this hotel if we revisit Capetown 4.5/5

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheymoure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DouglasAllen, General Manager at African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear sheymoure ,

Thank you for your review and for staying at African Pride 15 on Orange hotel.

“Must stay boutique hotel” is definitely a great way to describe the look and feel of the hotel. I am glad that our location right in the city was beneficial to your stay in Cape Town.

We look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit.

Kind regards
Douglas Allen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,690 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#41 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,251 reviews
Cape Town Hollow
#38 of 109 in Cape Town Central
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Taj Cape Town
#16 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,698 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel

Property: African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel
Address: Corner of Grey's Pass & Orange Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#18 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#23 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#24 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#37 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
African Pride 15 on Orange Hotel, Cape Town's icon of style, is set in the upmarket suburb of Gardens at the foot of Table Mountain. African Pride 15 on Orange Hotel offers an experience of sensual sophistication and style, combining distinctive architecture and exquisite luxury with the renowned first-class service of African Pride Hotels. This ideal location on the fringe of Cape Town's vibrant city centre ensures that GUESTS are within walking distance of the National Museum and the Planetarium. Get some fresh air - feel free to take a leisurely stroll through the nearby Company Gardens and embrace the green jewel in the heart of the metropolis. Welcome the holiday shopping bug and visit the selection of exclusive in-house retailer outlets while the world-class shopping paradise of the Victoria and Alfred Waterfront is merely minutes away. If time out is in order, enjoy a cup of tea or a fine whiskey in the eclectic Judges Lounge, where we pay homage to Cape Town’s auspicious legal fraternity. Whether staying indoors or setting out to explore the cape – African Pride 15 on Orange offers GUESTS the perfect luxury destination for business, pleasure or a bit of both. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing