We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite hotel so far!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel
Ranked #42 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Our favorite hotel so far!”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

This is the best hotel we've stayed at in all of our travels, bar none. It was built for the World Cup and is in pristine condition. The rooms are spacious, beautifully decorated, modern, and come with stunning views of Cape Town and Table Mountain. The food and restaurants were terrific - we ate just about all our meals there for a week, including room service, breakfast, lunch and dinner, and it was all great. Everything about hotel has a very "chic" feel. The location is good, too - walking distance to many of the gardens and the planetarium, and an easy cab ride to the marina area where there are lots of other attractions. The spa was also a great experience, and they have a nice pool too (though we didn't indulge since it was winter when we stayed there). An all-around amazing experience. Traveled May 2011.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robandchrissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DouglasAllen, General Manager at African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear robandchrissy

Thank you for taking the time write down a review about your recent stay with us at African Pride, 15 on Orange Hotel. I am delighted to hear that your enjoyed the cuisine. Please be assured that I will congratulate our TEAM!

Thank you for choosing to stay at 15 on Orange Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

With best regards,
Douglas Allen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    202
    46
    23
    17
See reviews for
79
273
34
179
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Very chic, I didn’t really know what to expect when I arrived and normally enjoy more traditional hotels (while this one is uber modern) but was quickly charmed (or seduced would be more fitting as everything is sexy chic) by my room’s great view, friendly staff and contemporary décor. I was up late one night, not ready for bed and wanted some fresh air so they opened the patio for me to drink wine and skype with family back home. For breakfast (I'd give it 8/10 they have everything you could really want) I also wanted to sit outside and within 2 minutes of asking if I could eat outdoors they had set up a table outside. Little things like that make all the difference.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the mountain!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DouglasAllen, General Manager at African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Robin B,

We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at African Pride 15 on Orange Hotel.

GUEST feedback is imperative for us to ensure whether or not we are meeting and exceeding our GUESTS' expectations. We need to know when we have done right, but more importantly, when we have done wrong!

Your interest and concern are therefore extremely valuable to us, and we hope that you will be staying with us again soon. We should welcome another opportunity to show you African Pride Hospitality at its best!

With best regards,
Douglas Allen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

When we first walked into our room we were overcome with the amazing view!! We decided it was so good that we would just order a bottle of wine and sit and enjoy it, in fact we ended up staying there for the rest of the day and ordering room service. The staff were very friendly and helpful, if there was a problem, they would attend to it immediately.
As for the location....we could walk to Gardens Centre, down Long Street which is rather trendy and of course the walk down Goverment Avenue where you can visit the museum, the gardens and other points of interest. There are loads of stunning restuarants to choose from within a 1km radius. I have already recommended it to all my friends.
Arlene-JHB

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arlene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DouglasAllen, General Manager at African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Arlene M

Thank you for the positive review of our hotel.

We are very happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us at African Pride 15 on Orange Hotel and we are looking forward to welcome you back to 15 on Orange when next your travels take you to Cape Town.

Douglas Allen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Just had 9nts at this excellent hotel,as soon as we arrived we had a very genial welcome,the staff are so polite and friendly,we were upgraded to a room with the super view of table mountain.
The room was elegant,very comfy bed,good high quality bed linen and towels and well serviced twice daily.
Breakfast:an excellent array of hot and cold,well trained waiting staff all very smart and proffessional.
Concierge gave us good service with tour ideas and saved us money and time by finding us an excellent driver and guide in Emanuel,he was amazing and put himself out to make our trips a pleasure.
Reception staff were ajoy to speak to,which only shows they are happy at the African Pride,it was a delight to return each night and get into our lovely comfortable holiday residence,would recommend it all.

Room Tip: obviously mountain views are great and fifth floor was fine for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DouglasAllen, General Manager at African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Pam B

We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at African Pride 15 on Orange Hotel and thank you for taking the time to post your comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back to 15 on Orange when next your travels take you to Cape Town!

Douglas Allen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

Great rooms at good value for money price. Excellent service from all the staff we encountered, very helpful and friendly. Room was spotless and very comfortable. Location handy and enjoyed wandering around with the hotel offering a shuttle down to V&A waterfront too. Would definitely return!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daveb970_brisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DouglasAllen, General Manager at African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear daveb970_brisbane,

Thank you for the positive review of our hotel.

We are very happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us at African Pride15 on Orange Hotel and we are looking forward to welcome you back to 15 on Orange when next your travels take you to Cape Town.

Douglas Allen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterloo, ontario
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in late November for one night en route to Western Cape. The hotel is new and modern. Our room was very clean, with chic décor. Each wall was a window and we had a fabulous view of Table Mountain. The hotel breakfast was fantastic (warm buffet with many choices) and the restaurant was clean with a lot of natural light. The hotel is nicely situated, with and close to the tourist areas near the water (approx. 10 min cab ride). Our only regret is that we could not stay longer.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor with a view of the moutains. Corner suites have more windows, to e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DouglasAllen, General Manager at African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear dbean,

Thank you for the positive review of our hotel.

We are very happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us at African Pride 15 on Orange Hotel and we are looking forward to welcome you back to 15 on Orange when next your travels take you to Cape Town!

Douglas Allen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Lovely hotel. The staff are polite, friendly and helpful from the doorman/security to the girls at reception.
Staying here on business for a 2nd time, and would recommend it. Decor is a bit like a "Big Brother" house, but that is a small thing, and not to put you off.

Room Tip: One with a view of Table mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 9McGill9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DouglasAllen, General Manager at African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear 9McGill9,

Thank you for the positive review of our hotel.

We are very happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us at African Pride 15 on Orange Hotel and we are looking forward to welcome you back to 15 on Orange when next your travels take you to Cape Town.

Douglas Allen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#40 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,272 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#16 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,717 reviews
Cape Town Hollow
#38 of 109 in Cape Town Central
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,490 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel

Property: African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel
Address: Corner of Grey's Pass & Orange Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#19 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#23 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#24 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#39 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
African Pride 15 on Orange Hotel, Cape Town's icon of style, is set in the upmarket suburb of Gardens at the foot of Table Mountain. African Pride 15 on Orange Hotel offers an experience of sensual sophistication and style, combining distinctive architecture and exquisite luxury with the renowned first-class service of African Pride Hotels. This ideal location on the fringe of Cape Town's vibrant city centre ensures that GUESTS are within walking distance of the National Museum and the Planetarium. Get some fresh air - feel free to take a leisurely stroll through the nearby Company Gardens and embrace the green jewel in the heart of the metropolis. Welcome the holiday shopping bug and visit the selection of exclusive in-house retailer outlets while the world-class shopping paradise of the Victoria and Alfred Waterfront is merely minutes away. If time out is in order, enjoy a cup of tea or a fine whiskey in the eclectic Judges Lounge, where we pay homage to Cape Town’s auspicious legal fraternity. Whether staying indoors or setting out to explore the cape – African Pride 15 on Orange offers GUESTS the perfect luxury destination for business, pleasure or a bit of both. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Marriott, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing