We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for a long time just for a good time”
Review of Penthouse on Long

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Penthouse on Long
Reviewed January 25, 2011

Had a great stay,helpful staff,clean,good food and a great bar.Great venue,close to bars,restaurants and shops.
Nothing like laying on the roof top looking at the moon and stars in the middle of a city. Can't believe it's so tucked away.
Would recommend it to every1. Will be back.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimbolene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (110)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 110 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2011

If you want to get into the heart of Cape Town, the only place to be is The Penthouse on Long. The amenities are fantastic, clean comfortable dorms and private rooms, all air conditioned and cleaned daily. The kitchen is a dream for the self catering,and they offer wholesome cooked meals for a pittance. Of course what really makes the Penthouse is the fabulous staff. Cathy, the manager, is like a breath of fresh air, always available, and full of local knowledge, and the rest of the team is just as dedicated. I would recommend, that if you come to Cape Town, your trip wouldn't be complete without a couple of nites stay at the Penthouse. In one word "awesome"

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angel1000CapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2011

I want to say that the staff at Penthouse was AWESOME! They help with whatever need you might have, which is great especially if you're not from Cape Town. I still miss their breakfasts, which had a very "home" cooked feeling (though I'm not even from South Africa). The newer bathrooms/showers were great. The old ones...not really, to be honest (Sorry Cathy - LOVE you still!). But no problem with hot water! A few friends in the large group did not like sharing a room with 10 people so they asked if they could switch to a double, which the staff had no problem doing.

If you're looking for a Trump Plaza quality, with a hostel price - forget it - that won't happen ANYWHERE. BUT if you want a friendly, fun, and a caring staff, in a great location, with Internet access, breakfast, and laundry service for an AWESOME price - I highly recommend Penthouse for you!

This last bit is just me, but if you're by yourself (for the extra cautious), you may want to get a a single or double room - because Cape Town, overall, isn't the safest. But if you have a friend or 2 you'll be with, the bigger rooms should be no problem. You should bring a lock to lock your valuables. If you don't bring a lock (like me), then you can pay a deposit and borrow one, and get the deposit back later - awesome. Enjoy!

PS. I REALLY REALLY recommend the Ethiopian restaurant around the corner!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steward2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2010

I have been to many backpackers, many of which I'd rather not return to. Penthouse on Long is a pleasant exception! Much more than your average backpackers, it is impeccably clean, carries an atmosphere of fun, and has fabulous unique features - like a massaging sofa chair (no cost!), and a rooftop bar-launge with a view of the city and Table mountain! The staff are friendly and available, attend promptly to any concerns, and provide useful extras, like wi-fi, laundry, and breakfast, at a small additional cost. Also available on Fridays is a rooftop braai (South African-style barbeque, a cultural experience!). It is located centrally to shops, entertainment, restaurants, and more. For an affordable and valuable Cape Town venue, this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FayeV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2010

This hostel was awesome the staff become your friends they are that friendly! there is a roof top bar where everyone goes on a night and has the cheapest drinks on Long Street. It has a comfy lounge where you can chill out watching sky or a dvd.
The rooms are pretty good as well, we stayed in a private room for 5 nights which was good and then the all female dorm for the final night and that was also very good. the rates for the rooms are amazing!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lauren_hill89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2010

The Penthouse is in a very central location (maybe even too central as it is right on Long Street where you have a lot of bars and people).

I do not receommend the hotel for the folowing reason:

- shared bathrooms are not too clean
- our room had one single window and that could not be opened
- this was an ancient office flloor that was splitted into rooms: no rconcrete walls it seems but rather some kind of light structures was used for thwe walls : noise isolation is very bad. People were chatting in the room beside ours till 4am (!). It is litterally like they were in the room with us. Terrible sleep.
- overall the building looks a bit old and used.

On the positive end:

- the staff was nice and helpful
- there is a real design effort going on as every room as a different topic. The overall disposal of rooms and kitchen are interesting and the bar on the roof looks great (but again, need a good clean up)
- it is inexpensive

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2010

I stayed here with my partner in December having visited Cape Town a few times before. On the website Penthouse looked like a nice clean guest-house style hostel so we decided to save money by booking a private room here rather than staying in a hotel. My main complaint is cleanliness. Our room was quite dirty - when we got there we had to ask someone to come and clean the bathroom for us as it obviously hadn't been done. The bedspread also was clearly filthy and when we took it off it left our duvet covered in hair!
The room we stayed in (purple nights) was located next door to the laundry room with a window above the door that couldn't be covered. This meant the room was flooded with light at night, you could hear the washing machines going and the heat from the laundry room made our room quite hot. The room is also next to the kitchen although this didn't prove too much of a problem.

If you want a very sociable hostel, (which we didn't particularly) I also wouldn't recommend it as most nights the bar is deserted and to get a drink you have to go and ask one of the reception staff to serve you.

On the upside the location is very good and the staff were quite friendly (if not always hugely helpful).

The price is very reasonable so in fairness you get what you pay for but I've stayed in much nicer hostels for a similar price.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarahlondon51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
noellinecvl, owner at Penthouse on Long, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2010

Hi Sarah

I am sorry to hear these complaints and am especially sorry that this is the first time that I have heard of these complaints. It is so much easier to make people happy if they complain at the time of the problem. If I remember correctly you arrived early and that may be the reason that the staff has not yet got to clean your bathroom before you were checked in. Am am sure that the problem was corrected very quickly. Cape Town is very hot in December and the laundry has an exhaust that takes all the hot air out of the building so it would not have effected the tempreture in your room. You are right your room is next to the laundry but our machines are very quiet and we try not to use the washing machine after 11pm. We have not has any other complaints before but I apologise if it disturbed you. Our hostel is right in the hub of long street and one of the main reasons that travellers choose us is so that they can go out and enjoy the bars and clubs in Long Street.. Therefore our inside bar is a quiet one. However our roof top bar is open 4 days of the week and is very sociable. Myself and my staff take pride in trying to make all our visitors feel welcome, actually it is one of our strong points and at least twice a week we gather all the guests together and personal;ly take them out to things like Karioke or other social events in the city. We also always bend over backwards to help quests with queries, questions and problem. I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
City Bowl
Grand Daddy Hotel
Grand Daddy Hotel
#64 of 110 in Cape Town Central
366 reviews
Urban Chic Boutique Hotel
#91 of 110 in Cape Town Central
302 reviews
Long Street Boutique Hotel
#36 of 110 in Cape Town Central
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Unique Lodge
#321 of 535 in Cape Town
2 reviews
Forty8 Backpackers Hotel
#53 of 128 in Cape Town Central
98 reviews
Long Street Backpackers
#36 of 128 in Cape Town Central
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penthouse on Long? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penthouse on Long

Address: 112 Long Street | 6th Floor Twinnel Building, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 128 Specialty Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $13 - $57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and stay with us in our new, family run backpackers on viby Long Street. Right in the middle of all the fun - but a good nights sleep guaranteed.We offer a full range of accommodation from dorms to ensuite doubles and family rooms. All our rooms are individually decorated. We are very women friendly with some girls only dorms with full length mirrors and hair dryers. Fully equipped kitchen, tv lounge, fantastic indoor entertainment area and our own secret garden and bar on the roof. Friendliest welcome in Cape Town. An added bonus is our in-house tour bus offering day tours of Cape Town. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Penthouse On Long Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing