We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hostel, staff and location”
Review of Penthouse on Long

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Penthouse on Long
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Amazing hostel, staff and location”
Reviewed December 2, 2010

This hostel was awesome the staff become your friends they are that friendly! there is a roof top bar where everyone goes on a night and has the cheapest drinks on Long Street. It has a comfy lounge where you can chill out watching sky or a dvd.
The rooms are pretty good as well, we stayed in a private room for 5 nights which was good and then the all female dorm for the final night and that was also very good. the rates for the rooms are amazing!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lauren_hill89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    32
    16
    7
    0
See reviews for
2
16
47
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2010

The Penthouse is in a very central location (maybe even too central as it is right on Long Street where you have a lot of bars and people).

I do not receommend the hotel for the folowing reason:

- shared bathrooms are not too clean
- our room had one single window and that could not be opened
- this was an ancient office flloor that was splitted into rooms: no rconcrete walls it seems but rather some kind of light structures was used for thwe walls : noise isolation is very bad. People were chatting in the room beside ours till 4am (!). It is litterally like they were in the room with us. Terrible sleep.
- overall the building looks a bit old and used.

On the positive end:

- the staff was nice and helpful
- there is a real design effort going on as every room as a different topic. The overall disposal of rooms and kitchen are interesting and the bar on the roof looks great (but again, need a good clean up)
- it is inexpensive

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2010

I stayed here with my partner in December having visited Cape Town a few times before. On the website Penthouse looked like a nice clean guest-house style hostel so we decided to save money by booking a private room here rather than staying in a hotel. My main complaint is cleanliness. Our room was quite dirty - when we got there we had to ask someone to come and clean the bathroom for us as it obviously hadn't been done. The bedspread also was clearly filthy and when we took it off it left our duvet covered in hair!
The room we stayed in (purple nights) was located next door to the laundry room with a window above the door that couldn't be covered. This meant the room was flooded with light at night, you could hear the washing machines going and the heat from the laundry room made our room quite hot. The room is also next to the kitchen although this didn't prove too much of a problem.

If you want a very sociable hostel, (which we didn't particularly) I also wouldn't recommend it as most nights the bar is deserted and to get a drink you have to go and ask one of the reception staff to serve you.

On the upside the location is very good and the staff were quite friendly (if not always hugely helpful).

The price is very reasonable so in fairness you get what you pay for but I've stayed in much nicer hostels for a similar price.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarahlondon51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
noellinecvl, owner at Penthouse on Long, responded to this review, January 14, 2010
Hi Sarah

I am sorry to hear these complaints and am especially sorry that this is the first time that I have heard of these complaints. It is so much easier to make people happy if they complain at the time of the problem. If I remember correctly you arrived early and that may be the reason that the staff has not yet got to clean your bathroom before you were checked in. Am am sure that the problem was corrected very quickly. Cape Town is very hot in December and the laundry has an exhaust that takes all the hot air out of the building so it would not have effected the tempreture in your room. You are right your room is next to the laundry but our machines are very quiet and we try not to use the washing machine after 11pm. We have not has any other complaints before but I apologise if it disturbed you. Our hostel is right in the hub of long street and one of the main reasons that travellers choose us is so that they can go out and enjoy the bars and clubs in Long Street.. Therefore our inside bar is a quiet one. However our roof top bar is open 4 days of the week and is very sociable. Myself and my staff take pride in trying to make all our visitors feel welcome, actually it is one of our strong points and at least twice a week we gather all the guests together and personal;ly take them out to things like Karioke or other social events in the city. We also always bend over backwards to help quests with queries, questions and problem. I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oakland, california
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 25, 2009

I spent three days in Capetown before heading off on an organized tour and stayed at Penthouse on Long. This new hostel is in a former office building and is right in the heart of Long Street. While the hostel itself is clean and nicely decorated (each dorm/room has a theme) the other tenants in the building are a bit dodgy. There is another hostel on the floor below which caters to a different clientel. Outside the building there are a number of people loitering, many of these the type you don't want to run into at night. Penthouse on long also books a number of activities and organizes Pub Crawls. They have a nice lounge area with a TV - most evenings it was turned on a movie channel and a crowd would gather.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilovenetc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
noellinecvl, owner at Penthouse on Long, responded to this review, January 14, 2010
Hi

Thanks for your review. It was great having you stay with us. I am sorry about the dodgy people on the floor below us. Unfortunately there is not alot I can do about it. I am, however, in talks with the landlord to see if there is anything that we can do to minimise the problem. It would be great if we could get so many bookings that I could take over that floor as well for Penthouse on Long - we can all dream I suppose!!!
Come and visit us again soon!
Regards
Noelline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
Unique Lodge
#321 of 509 in Cape Town
2 reviews
Forty8 Backpackers Hotel
#56 of 125 in Cape Town Central
97 reviews
City Bowl
The Backpack
The Backpack
#4 of 125 in Cape Town Central
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Never at Home Cape Town
#8 of 125 in Cape Town Central
276 reviews
Long Street Backpackers
#35 of 125 in Cape Town Central
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penthouse on Long? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penthouse on Long

Property: Penthouse on Long
Address: 112 Long Street | 6th Floor Twinnel Building, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 125 Specialty Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and stay with us in our new, family run backpackers on viby Long Street. Right in the middle of all the fun - but a good nights sleep guaranteed.We offer a full range of accommodation from dorms to ensuite doubles and family rooms. All our rooms are individually decorated. We are very women friendly with some girls only dorms with full length mirrors and hair dryers. Fully equipped kitchen, tv lounge, fantastic indoor entertainment area and our own secret garden and bar on the roof. Friendliest welcome in Cape Town. An added bonus is our in-house tour bus offering day tours of Cape Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Penthouse on Long reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penthouse On Long Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing