We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice vibe but feels a little dirty...”
Review of Penthouse on Long

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Penthouse on Long
Reviewed January 27, 2013

I really loved my doormates, and yes it has a rooftop and yes the staff tries to clean but the carpet is dirty and i'm guessing the couches are too. Dimly lit, kind of odd old furnishings. I checked out Forty8 Backpackers down the street, Much nicer! As for location, people should leave the damn rooftop and hang with the locals below in all the clubs! Had a fricking blast last night! Great music, plenty of options, fun, fun, fun!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anissash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
noellinecvl, Owner at Penthouse on Long, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2013

Hi, thank you so much for staying with us. We are glad you had a great time in Cape Town. We get our carpets & upholstery cleaned regularly and I am so sorry that you don't like all our antique furnishings.

Regards,

Noelline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (110)
There are newer reviews for Penthouse on Long
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 110 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here all in all for more than 2 weeks and really enjoyed it!If you wanna go cheap, there's a 22people dorm, but I recommend investing in a less crowded one ;-) Everything is clean and they even have bathtubs! Nice staff, big lockers (although not big enough for the whole 55liter-backpack, but who needs that anyways?), best rooftopbar, easy to meet people, right next to some good clubs/bars! Only problem I had: wifi didn't work and sometimes the elevator din't as well....

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blablabla1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

The location is undoubtedly one of the best: right on Long St but still far enough from the party frenzy to get a good night‘s sleep in. Staff is very friendly & helpful and the rooms have all what you need. This place definitely has the "family run" vibe to it.

The biggest asset is of course their roof-top bar where anything can happen: from a chilled braai night with fellow travellers up to crazy party times with locals. As in every place, it‘s what you make of it and I always found it easy to have a good time there (and I‘ve stayed three times over the years)!

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank Heidi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

right in the center of Cape Town on Long street, bars, pubs and restaurants all around and a fun and happening bar on the roof overlooking Cape Town and table mountain. Why didn't i give it 5 out of 5? the incredibly and sketchy and slow elevator, the smelly stairwell and the fact that i found it hard to meet people here.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrysE4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Penthouse on Long is in a great location, right in the heart of long street. I stayed in a private room with ensuite. The room was nice but was located next to the laundry with machines running nearly all the time. The rooftop bar area was really nice.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank po-purri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I stayed at the penthouse during a conference in Cape Town, and had chosen it as I could walk from there to the convention centre. I stayed in a six-person dorm and was able to get a good night's sleep every night. There were people of all ages staying there during my visit. I love the atmosphere in the place, everybody chatting amicably and meeting at the roof-top bar for drinks and playing pool. Breakfast is available, and there are big fridges and cooking facilities so you can make your own food. DIY Coffee and tea is free, and a nice mezzanine room with tables chairs, sofas and a TV, There is also a smaller lounge forThere are plenty of lovely restaurants and coffee shops within walking distance.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dannerup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

I amnot going to write much or say much but simply: You have got to go there, it's fantastic, the roof top bar, the bathrooms, THE PEOPLE! You have to go, I loved it and definatley Going back! and it's so central your close to EveRYTHING!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JMM M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
Long Street Boutique Hotel
#36 of 111 in Cape Town Central
211 reviews
City Bowl
Grand Daddy Hotel
Grand Daddy Hotel
#63 of 111 in Cape Town Central
363 reviews
Unique Lodge
#320 of 533 in Cape Town
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Forty8 Backpackers Hotel
#53 of 128 in Cape Town Central
98 reviews
Long Street Backpackers
#37 of 128 in Cape Town Central
144 reviews
91 Loop
#14 of 128 in Cape Town Central
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penthouse on Long? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penthouse on Long

Address: 112 Long Street | 6th Floor Twinnel Building, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 128 Specialty Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $13 - $57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and stay with us in our new, family run backpackers on viby Long Street. Right in the middle of all the fun - but a good nights sleep guaranteed.We offer a full range of accommodation from dorms to ensuite doubles and family rooms. All our rooms are individually decorated. We are very women friendly with some girls only dorms with full length mirrors and hair dryers. Fully equipped kitchen, tv lounge, fantastic indoor entertainment area and our own secret garden and bar on the roof. Friendliest welcome in Cape Town. An added bonus is our in-house tour bus offering day tours of Cape Town. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Penthouse On Long Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing