We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent service”
Review of Taj Cape Town

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Taj Cape Town
Ranked #17 of 108 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Connecticut
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“excellent service”
Reviewed August 26, 2014

We stayed at the Taj for 4 nights this summer and were so impressed with the staff. They were all helpful and friendly and always went out of their way to ask how we were doing. The concierge helped us plan all of our activities and each recommendation she made was superb. Several times when we asked for a taxi they ran and got the hotel car instead and we drove in either a jaguar or range rover to our destination. We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OLCT04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIPCapeTown, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear Valued Guest
Thank you so much for taking the opportunity to share your experience. We will share this with the entire team. We hope it will not be too long before we welcome you back to Taj Cape Town.
Kind regards
Michael Pownall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,205
    339
    83
    28
    26
See reviews for
268
685
82
394
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (423)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2014 via mobile

Well first thing the people make u feel like a Million bucks ! The Rooms great wonderful and comfortable because if it rains u always have a great place to put lay your head! The Car Service jaguar u would have to use it aleast one time while u r there its my third time staying in the hotel. I even made a reservation somewere else and I spent the money to stay here again I do travel alot! South Africa is wonderful great shopping @ food@ Walking down to Wharf area and taking the boat to Nelson Mandela Island . Just trust me this hotel will make u feel like u will want to be a repeat customer over and again! Tonya B

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Tonya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIPCapeTown, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear Tonya
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. We hope that it will not be too long before we welcome you back to Taj Cape Town
Kind regards
Michael Pownall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2014 via mobile

Spend 3 nights at Taj. It was an excellent stay, reception, concierge and valet were all very efficient and friendly. Hotel room was clean and comfortable with all amenities. Had a very enjoyable meal at Bombay Brasserie, good use of ingredients and well flavored. The thorn in the side of the hotel is the Mint restaurant. It was disappointing for Taj standards. The service seemed disjointed, there was a lack of communication between the kitchen staff and service staff, which resulted in food taking very long and not all food ordered being brought. The breakfast cannot be faulted but it wasn't wow, the a la carte breakfast menu was very disappointing. The waitress who served us throughout out made up for the parts that we're lacking with her friendly demeanor. Despite that hiccup, still very a very enjoyable stay. The Jiwa spa is also of a very good standard. Special thanks to Jarred the manager for our very comfortable stay.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank intuitive99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIPCapeTown, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear Valued guest
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are truly sorry that our team in the Mint Restaurant, failed to deliver on the Taj standards. We can assure you that these issues will be addressed with the them. Thank you so much for your comments pertaining to Jiva Spa and Jarred, which we will ensure he gets a nomination towards our Stars Programme.
We trust that it will not be too long before we welcome you back to Taj Cape Town in the near future
Kind regards
Michael Pownall
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellville, South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2014

Meticulous effort was made by the staff to make us feel welcome, without being intrusive, when my wife and I decided to take up a special offer to experience this hotel in the center of Cape Town. The accommodation was high class luxury with a distinct connection with history. The food was great with an unbeatable buffet breakfast. So much to do and already planning our next visit

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain facing room. Magnificent views of Table Mountain are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarioSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIPCapeTown, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Mario
Thank you so much for sharing your experience. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards
Michael Pownall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2014

I stayed here for about 4-5 nights with my family of 5 in March 2014, during our first trip to South Africa. First impressions of the hotel was that it was very upmarket, luxurious, well-presented and the staff were friendly. We were assigned a personal butler for our executive suite and told we were "VIP's".

Knowing Cape Town has a high crime rate, we made sure to lock our valuables in the safe at all times. On the 3rd day, I foolishly forgot to lock away my leather wallet (which contained USD1200). Instead I placed it, DEEP at the bottom of my day bag which was left on the desk of my room. When I returned to the room, I discovered it was missing and contacted hotel security, who then helped me contact local police at 2am (who seemed more interested in quickly filling out the report for my insurance, rather than actually catching the criminals).

The hotel boasted that they would make a list of the staff who entered and exited my room that day, then interview them and make them undergo polygraph tests (which sounds good and well but doesn't produce convictions). In addition, I later discovered that the hotel maids were not even employed directly by the hotel but in fact subcontracted to 3rd party cleaning companies (you can forget about valid background checks). After profuse apologies from hotel security and not much visible progress I left the Taj Hotel USD1200 poorer and with no resolution, case updates (to this day) or compassionate compensation. I wouldn't be surprised if this was an inside job or if the security just don't care really. It sure seemed that way.

Apart from this experience I don't want to discredit the rest of the staff, the location, food, restaurants, in-room dining etc was all lovely and the rooms have very nice interior decorating and there was an AMAZING view of Table Top Mountain from our room. Pleasing room paired with a disappointing experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gohjib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2014

Stayed 5 nights in a two bedroom suite in July 2014. The hotel is first class but what was amazing is the friendliness of the staff from the moment you enter the hotel. We were made to feel at home. Nothing was too much trouble. We enjoyed the butler service and the club room. We were very spoilt and ate way too much food. It was difficult to leave. A memorable stay and one my 18 and 14 year old kids will treasure forever.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xmas00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIPCapeTown, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Valued Guest
Thank you so much for sharing your experience. We will certainly convey this to the team and especially the butlers. We hope it will not be too long before we welcome you back to Taj Cape Town in the near future.
Kind regards
Michael Pownall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2014

We stayed in one of the Large mountain facing suites with an incredible view. I must say that from the start we overwhelmed with the elegance of the room Decor. My hubby almost fell over backwards when he saw it! With our own King sized luxury bed, an exquisitely designed bathroom and toliet facility plus almost instant room service, there was nothing more we could have asked for. We enjoyed a massage in the morning in the fully equipped spa facility and made good use of the oxygenated health pool! The best part was that the messages and some of the meals and use of facilities were all complimentary as we joined their fantastic hotel membership programme! I will definitely return. The bombay brasserie made the best curry and indian cuisine ever!

Room Tip: Get the mountain facing rooms for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicolaShore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIPCapeTown, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Ms Shore
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. We are happy to learn that you are enjoying the benefits of the loyalty programme and look forward to welcoming you back to Taj Cape Town in the near future.
Kind regards
Michael Pownall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
1.1 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 108 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,972 reviews
1.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 108 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,678 reviews
1.1 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#15 of 108 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 108 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#19 of 108 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,122 reviews
1.3 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#26 of 108 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Cape Town

Property: Taj Cape Town
Address: 1 Wale Street | corner St Georges Mall, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#6 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#17 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#19 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#22 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taj Cape Town welcomes guests to the vibrant heart of the one of the world's most scenic and desirable cities, Cape Town. The hotel is a combination of rich history and elegant contemporary architectures. Originally home of the South African Reserve Bank and Temple Chambers and later the Board of Executors (BOE), it successfully combines the heritage of the old with the luxury of the new - a 100 years in history! This luxury hotel is perfectly located in the centre of historic Cape Town at the entrance of the famous pedestrian precinct, St George's Mall. It's prime location ensures a blend of fascinating history, exotic culture, soulful art, lively entertainment and delectable cuisine. - Within walking distance to most tourist attractions, monuments, museums, shopping, restaurants, markets and nightlife. Adding to this grand yet welcoming atmosphere are the two dining experiences, the Indian fine dine specialty restaurant, Bombay Brasserie and Mint, a relaxed all-day dining restaurant. Both are warm and welcoming and serve outstanding cuisine. Alongside this you'll find wonderful Champagne and tapas bar known as The Twankey Bar which is exceedingly popular with both locals and guests alike. Rooms are located in both the heritage buildings and the contemporary tower wing, but all continue to seamlessly merge history and modernity. Luxury Rooms have spectacular city or breathtaking mountain views overlooking the famous Table Mountain and the Taj Club Rooms and suites offer all the benefits of the executive Club Lounge including butler service, evening canapes, cocktails and private breakfast. One and Two Bedroom Suites are also available, perfect for the discerning traveller or for families. The award winning Jiva Grande Spa is one of its kind in Africa with unique and authentic wellness treatments and experiences. Also on offer is complimentary use of all wet areas, heated pool, and a high tech gymnasium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoftTaj, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taj Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
Taj Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing