We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bombay Brasserie”
Review of Taj Cape Town

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Taj Cape Town
Ranked #15 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Bombay Brasserie”
Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

A wonderful experience at the Bombay Brasserie. ....

Excellent service. ........Great food.......lovely ambience. .........

Good work Stephen.......you made our drive from Franschoek worth the experience.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank V M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTCT, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you so much for sharing your experience. We also thank you for highlighting the service received from Stephen. We have entered him into our Employee of the month programme.
Kind regards
Michael Pownall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,736 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,250
    347
    84
    28
    27
See reviews for
278
710
86
407
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (430)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Perfect city hotel with very good service, tasty breakfast with lots of choices, really nice,clean and spacious 2-bedroom appt (15th floor) helpful butlers , free hotel shuttle to Table Mountain and VA waterfront, nearby cafes ,local market and national gallery. We 'll be back.

Room Tip: 15 th floor - or any with Table Mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renata T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTCT, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Renata
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. We will certainly pass this on to the team. We hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you back to Cape Town in the near future.
Kind regards
Michael Pownall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Cape, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Everyone is special at the Taj. The staff go the extra mile: all you have to do is "ASK"
Great place to stay and near to most of what Cape Town has to offer. The food is great and caters for all. From the moment you drive up to their entrance you are in capable hands. just enjoy every moment

Room Tip: A room overlooking one of the 7 wonders of the world TABLE MOUNTAIN .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunryde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTCT, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear Valued Guest
Thank you so much for sharing your experience. We hope that we will have an opportunity to welcome you to Taj Cape Town, in the near future.
Kind regards
Michael Pownall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 9, 2014

visited 20th june after partner wanted to undertake great white shark diving. from arriving from a night flight from the uk we were expecting a wait for our room but no....we were made most welcome and directed straight away to settle in.

we found all staff to be most helpful and friendly during our stay and when asked to facilitate activates and tasks did so most professionally and without any fuss.

we could not rate the hotel and in particular the staff from door to management most highly. Yes we did not have a view of Table top mountain but then from what we paid you just had to walk outside.

Nice people nice hotel..thanks

Room Tip: you get what you pay for in general
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve3472014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTCT, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear Valued Guest
Thank you for sharing your experience with fellow travellers. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to South Africa and in particular Taj Cape Town, in the near future.
Kind regards
Michael Pownall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 9, 2014

I stayed at The Taj in Cape Town, South Africa and it was truly a wonderful experience. The spa treatment was heavenly, the food was delicious and all the staff were very attentive. I would definitely recommend The Taj to anyone traveling to Cape Town and I would definitely stay at a Taj the next time I travel. I hope to be back to Cape Town soon!

Room Tip: Every room is good and has a great view. Our room had a fantastic view of Lion's Head on Table M...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelissaRundle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTCT, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear Melissa
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. We will certainly convey your appreciation to the entire team including the Jiva Spa department. We look forward to welcoming you back to Taj Cape Town soon.
Kind regards
Michael Pownall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Not sure if Michael W stayed at the same hotel as I was, he must have been wearing the wrong glasses!!! Stayed here in June for 4 nights whilst attending a conference in Cape town, lovely hotel. Staff very friendly, We both had great rooms with view of Table Mountain. Loved the church opposite. Bed turned down each night, slippers put out etc. Even had chocolates and fruit on first night, excellent service. Loved the bathroom, low lighting, even had robes. My only gripe is that I tried to have a bath, using the lovely gel given, but could not just lol back. every time I tried to, I went under the water, but hey, its no problem, as I normally only shower. Breakfast was very good, nothing was any trouble, whatever you wanted, the chef would make it. Its probably one of the nicest hotels I have stayed in so far.
Great Location to get around and to one of the many lovely restaurants of which we tried a few. wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor to get the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snoopy37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTCT, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear Valued Guest
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. We will most certainly share your comments with our entire team. We trust that it will not be too long before we welcome you back to Taj Cape Town.
Kind regards
Michael Pownall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

This is my second stay at the Taj and the hotel is beautiful: friendly staff, everything squeaky clean and superb views of the Mountain. Free wifi for only one day (I commented on this before) Breakfast is good; something for everyone.

Room Tip: 1507 - beautiful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlisonMacg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTCT, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Alison
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We will convey this to the entire team. We look forward to welcoming you back to Taj Cape Town in the near future.
Kind regards
Michael Pownall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#32 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,498 reviews
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,028 reviews
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,717 reviews
The Table Bay Hotel
#16 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,212 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#9 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Cape Town

Property: Taj Cape Town
Address: 1 Wale Street | corner St Georges Mall, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#6 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#19 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#22 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taj Cape Town welcomes guests to the vibrant heart of the one of the world's most scenic and desirable cities, Cape Town. The hotel is a combination of rich history and elegant contemporary architectures. Originally home of the South African Reserve Bank and Temple Chambers and later the Board of Executors (BOE), it successfully combines the heritage of the old with the luxury of the new - a 100 years in history! This luxury hotel is perfectly located in the centre of historic Cape Town at the entrance of the famous pedestrian precinct, St George's Mall. It's prime location ensures a blend of fascinating history, exotic culture, soulful art, lively entertainment and delectable cuisine. - Within walking distance to most tourist attractions, monuments, museums, shopping, restaurants, markets and nightlife. Adding to this grand yet welcoming atmosphere are the two dining experiences, the Indian fine dine specialty restaurant, Bombay Brasserie and Mint, a relaxed all-day dining restaurant. Both are warm and welcoming and serve outstanding cuisine. Alongside this you'll find wonderful Champagne and tapas bar known as The Twankey Bar which is exceedingly popular with both locals and guests alike. Rooms are located in both the heritage buildings and the contemporary tower wing, but all continue to seamlessly merge history and modernity. Luxury Rooms have spectacular city or breathtaking mountain views overlooking the famous Table Mountain and the Taj Club Rooms and suites offer all the benefits of the executive Club Lounge including butler service, evening canapes, cocktails and private breakfast. One and Two Bedroom Suites are also available, perfect for the discerning traveller or for families. The award winning Jiva Grande Spa is one of its kind in Africa with unique and authentic wellness treatments and experiences. Also on offer is complimentary use of all wet areas, heated pool, and a high tech gymnasium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, DerbySoftTaj, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taj Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
Taj Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing