We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredibly Excellent”
Review of Taj Cape Town

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Taj Cape Town
Ranked #15 of 111 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 5, 2013

This hotel is in an excellent location for ease of walking to many museums, galleries, and gardens. The hotel is beautiful; staff is first class, and the food is so good you will not want to eat anywhere else. The local hop on/hop off bus will take you other places too far to walk. Or, ask the desk and they will assist. At the end of our week we literally did not want to leave.

Morris & Twyla Vickers

Room Tip: A good room is the one you can book.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morris V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIPCapeTown, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

Dear Mr and Mrs Vickers
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of the Taj Cape Town. We hope that it will not be too long before we welcome you back to Cape Town and in particular Taj Cape Town.
Kind regards
Michael Pownall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,763)
There are newer reviews for Taj Cape Town
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,113 - 1,119 of 1,763 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2013

This is very beautiful in a very beautiful part of Cape Town (inner city) with access to beautiful restaurants (haiku) and and coffee shops. The only small negative is the R500 / night surcharge for an extra bed

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sublime123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIPCapeTown, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear Aadil
Thank you for your feedback and pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. It is standard policy worldwide, to ask for an advance deposit of R500-00 per night for the extras / incidentals that you may have during your stay.
We certainly hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Cape Town in the near future.
Kind regards
Michael Pownall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Fantastic greetors at curb side. The service inside only got better. My room was located on the 12th floor & I felt like I was sitting on Table Mountain. The in room service is excellent. The breakfast/lunch dining area serves 5 star food. Can't beat the location, smack dab in the middle of town. World famous shopping bazaar steps away from hotel. Can walk to the waterfront. Taj has Intercontinental's pillows beat by a country mile!!!!

Room Tip: Must face Table Mountain at eye level
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slotmamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIPCapeTown, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

Dear Valued Guest
Thank you so much for the positive feedback which I will be sharing with my team.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Taj Cape Town on your next trip to South Africa.
Kind regards
Michael Pownall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Have just spend a second visit to the Taj Cape Town. This time staying on the Taj Club floor. From the moment you walk in the door you are given a very warm welcome. Efficient check in and escorted to the room with a butler. Last time the room was just a great although the club level rooms are a little bigger.

At breakfast the staff go out of their way to make you feel welcomed and Faith, who met us each morning, is a treasure!!!! There is nothing more impressive than staff getting acknowledging you by name. Well done Faith you made our stay a reason for returning.

Nothing is too much for the team at the Taj Cape Town and it is certainly great value for money.

Room Tip: Do yourself a favour and visit the Club level - enjoy high tea!!! If not the higher floors have spe...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grant T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIPCapeTown, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

Dear Grant
Thank you so much for providing us with the feedback. You can be assured I will share this with the entire team and will be nominating Faith for our employee of the month programme.
Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back to Taj Cape Town again.
Kind regards
Michael Pownall
General Mananager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

When we arrived we had the unpleasant experience of being told they wanted a $600 deposit before we could sign in .The hotel had been pre booked and paid for so there was no excuse for this to happen. What was this for, the mini bar , laundry or what? They saw sense ,after all 9 of us were staying for 6 days . The rest of the stay was pleasant but considering that this was the most expensive hotel of the entire trip we had a small window of free wifi and then we had to pay. Why do these large glamorous hotels have to charge. Some of the smaller hotels do have genuine free wi fi .Good on them
Great position to do all what Cape Town has to offer. Staff were friendly

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the mountain
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beegwee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIPCapeTown, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

Dear Valued guest
Thank you for your feedback which I will share with my entire team. The deposit on arrival is a standard procedure most five start properties do around the world. The amount is for incidentals not covered in the pre-payment of your stay.
Of concern is the wi-fi which is free for all guests in Taj Cape Town. There are various bandwidths and it appears that you may have requested for a faster connection, and this is what you had paid additional for. We do apologise that this was not clearly explained to you and the group on arrival.
We certainly hope that when you return to South Africa, and particularly Cape Town you will consider staying with Taj Cape Town again.
Kind regards
Michael Pownall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Awesome service, location - overlooking the Table Mountains!! Brilliant breakfast!! Courteous people!! Awesome in room dining!! As you enter the the television greets you with your name on it.. Personalisation!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teckamit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIPCapeTown, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

Dear Valued guest
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback and share your comments with fellow travellers.
We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Taj Cape Town, in the near future.
Kind regards
Michael Pownall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Our second visit to this hotel was as memorable as our first. We were given a warm welcome at the entrance and reception desk and everyone seemed to be genuinely pleased to see us return. The check-in was smooth and efficient and we were more than pleased with our superior (entry-level) room. The beds in this hotel are among the most comfortable we have ever experienced, with really high quality linen. Having enjoyed dinner in The Bombay Brasserie last time we opted for an early dinner in the hotel's other restaurant, Mint (see separate review). We also enjoyed a great breakfast in Mint next morning. There is no on-site parking here, but the valet service is excellent and extremely efficient. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine7200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIPCapeTown, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

Dear Christine
It was wonderful to welcome you back to Taj Cape Town. Thank you for taking the time to provide other travellers with your review on our hotel. We will certainly share your thoughts with our entire team.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Taj Cape Town
Kind regards
Michael Pownall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,514 reviews
Cape Grace
#6 of 111 in Cape Town Central
2,060 reviews
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#29 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,742 reviews
The Table Bay Hotel
#16 of 111 in Cape Town Central
2,253 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#9 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Cape Town

Address: 1 Wale Street | corner St Georges Mall, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#6 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#19 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#22 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $243 - $720 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taj Cape Town welcomes guests to the vibrant heart of the one of the world's most scenic and desirable cities, Cape Town. The hotel is a combination of rich history and elegant contemporary architectures. Originally home of the South African Reserve Bank and Temple Chambers and later the Board of Executors (BOE), it successfully combines the heritage of the old with the luxury of the new - a 100 years in history! This luxury hotel is perfectly located in the centre of historic Cape Town at the entrance of the famous pedestrian precinct, St George's Mall. It's prime location ensures a blend of fascinating history, exotic culture, soulful art, lively entertainment and delectable cuisine. - Within walking distance to most tourist attractions, monuments, museums, shopping, restaurants, markets and nightlife. Adding to this grand yet welcoming atmosphere are the two dining experiences, the Indian fine dine specialty restaurant, Bombay Brasserie and Mint, a relaxed all-day dining restaurant. Both are warm and welcoming and serve outstanding cuisine. Alongside this you'll find wonderful Champagne and tapas bar known as The Twankey Bar which is exceedingly popular with both locals and guests alike. Rooms are located in both the heritage buildings and the contemporary tower wing, but all continue to seamlessly merge history and modernity. Luxury Rooms have spectacular city or breathtaking mountain views overlooking the famous Table Mountain and the Taj Club Rooms and suites offer all the benefits of the executive Club Lounge including butler service, evening canapes, cocktails and private breakfast. One and Two Bedroom Suites are also available, perfect for the discerning traveller or for families. The award winning Jiva Grande Spa is one of its kind in Africa with unique and authentic wellness treatments and experiences. Also on offer is complimentary use of all wet areas, heated pool, and a high tech gymnasium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoftTaj, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taj Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
Taj Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing